We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mare-Olympus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stay for a week in May and another week in september , we had a beautiful apartament sea wiew always clean, we had the all inclusive treatament and he food was lovely, a special mention to Crasoula, the manager of the Hotel Sofia always smiling that clean the room and to Manolis that is the chef of the restaurant. Everuthing was beautiful and relaxing, very good 2 minute from the beach

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first five days of our honeymoon and were treated incredibly well by the friendly and efficient staff.
Our room (Kithira) was clean, bright and spacious and there was a fruit plate and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge when we arrived - a nice touch. Our balcony had a sea view and was pleasantly shady by afternoon so a perfect place to sit and enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the evening. The location is fantastic too, just metres from Agios Nikloas's tiny central beach and only a few minutes walk to the "bottomless" lake or the centre of town.
We didn't go for the full all-inclusive deal as we prefer to eat out, but the breakfasts were plentiful and with lots of variety.
Mare Apartments might not be five star luxury, but it is comfortable and very good value.
The service really sets it apart from other hotels or apartment complexes in the same price range. Stavroula on reception and Sofia who did our room were both so helpful and friendly, really making us feel special during our stay. Also after our departure I was dismayed to find I had forgotten a favourite pair of earrings but they were posted back to me at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Emailing in advance and stating what sort of room you want might be a good idea (balcony, sea view e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in august 2011 for a week. Arrived late at night but had food waiting in the fridge for us. The apartment was great. Large and comfortable with a lovely view of the bay on one side and a pretty side street on the other.

The pool is the size of a postage stamp and the area round it was very cramped. We spent most days at the beach across the road and it was so easy to nip back for lunch or drinks. It's not the usual all inclusive hotel as its n a much smaller scale but food was nice. We ate out one night for the whole restaurant experience.

There's no entertainment at the hotel. After dinner we would walk round to the busy bustling area of town about ten mins away then come back for a drink in the bar. This hotel had lots of charm and would recommend.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom apartment which was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We just loved this place, nothing too much trouble, felt more like house guests than paying guests. The relaxed feel of the place ,the banter with the staff. the fantastic food EVERY meal a real treat, the deserts were criminal! not just wicked.
On arrival we were greeted with awelcome afer midmight and a meal in the fridge then in the morning a boiler (kettle) was placed in our room and sun bed delivered to room so we could lounge on the wrap around balcony, nothing was too much trouble. No this is not a 5 star hotel but the the staff are 5**** so far exceeds its offical rating.
The guests came from all over Europe and any we met always greeted us in some way. I have epilepsy, I had a seizure at breakfast one day and the consideration shown to me and especially my partner by guests (who were not put out) was heart warming.Thankyou all at Mare apartments for a wonderful holiday, enjoy your winter break.

Room Tip: corner room with wraparound balcony give the higher better the veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaymac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Lovely hotel set in outstanding setting, not too far off the beaten track.Very clean in fact you had sheets and towels changed every day.Virtually left alone at the bar to help ourselves after 11pm, think we drove the lady who ran the bar crazy so she left us to it.Food is what you expect in a Greek 3 star, I use my holiday to eat plenty of salads , but loads of puddings so no problem there.Just a 15 short walk to the town center either the coastal stroll or up the steps by the side of the hotel and into the main shopping area.If I had any complaint it would be the attitude of staff when we used the pool in the afternoon,we had children with us but were told no jumping in or making a noise as the staff were having their siesta, poor souls.

Room Tip: Most rooms are facing the sea, and wherever you are in the hotel you will have sun ,although I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RAINMANAKAALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for two weeks in July 2011 with 2 small children. The hotel was in an ideal location for the resort centre however it was not worthy of All inclusive. On the day we arrived my husband went to get us a coffee whilst I unpacked, he was informed that he was too late as coffee was served until 5pm (he went down at 5 past!!) We asked for juice for our 3 year old grandson during the day, we were told that juice was only served at breakfast and he could only have fizzy drinks as all children like fizzy drinks!!! The food was ok but basic. Our towels were only changed 3 times during our stay and we had to ask for additional towels. One of the beds in our room had slats missing leading to uncomfortable nights. We also found that tables in the restaurant which is very small were reserved for the whole sitting for one party leaving the restaurant cramped for the rest of the guests.
Excellent for a base but only go room only!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 186334Holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Hotel was very clean, towels changed most days & bedding several times during our 9 night stay. Food was typically Greek and delicious, and had a meal left in our room's fridge for our arrival at 1.30 am., which was very thoughtful and a pleasant surprise. Two of the female staff - Sophia and Stavrina, were very hard working, and friendly, and gave good advise about local attractions in the surrounding area. Although a quiet Hotel, it was overlooking a small pebble beach, with Cafe's & Restaurants. The hotel was conveniently placed for the Marina, port and Lake area of the resort which had plenty of lovely Bars, Cafe's , Restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrajt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
990 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Porto Maltese Boutique Estate
Porto Maltese Boutique Estate
#27 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#30 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare-Olympus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare-Olympus Apartments

Address: Tselepi 21-26 | Evans, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Mare Hotel Apartments)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £34 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare-Olympus Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mare Olympus Apartments in Aghios Nikolaos CreteMare Olympus Apartments is an exquisite combination for those questing for tasting the core of the vivid nightlife of the cosmopolitan city of Agios Nikolas as well as the quietness of a blue flag fully organized beach! Being situated in one of the oldest and quieter neighborhoods and next to Kitroplatia beach, our guests may choose to walk around the tiled little streets of the shopping district and it numerous stores or swim in the pebble beach whose waters are so clearly transparent that urchins are visible on the rocks. Just at the other side of the cove, at the end of a tiled ally full of romantic restaurants and cafes, lovers of walking may find a newly created foot path by the sea leading them finally to the organized yacht marina. The property is blessed with extraordinary views of wild Cretan mountains, the Chaene Gorge and the endless blue of the sea that like a carpet extends itself till the eye can see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mare-Olympus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Mare-Olympus Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing