We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, super friendly staff, great food !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mare-Olympus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Agious Nikolaos is a great place, nice blend of shops, restaurants and bars (without the "thump, thump" music) not to mention two very picturesque beach coves, one of which is literally two minutes walk across the road from the Mare Hotel Apartments.
We enjoyed our stay greatly, the hotel staff were all absolutely fantastic with our special thanks and "Stin iyia sas" going to George, Anastacia, Manolis and Christina who all made us feel very welcome.
The food was also top draw, Greek in style with a choice of fish, chicken and meat, either pork or beef sometimes both, at lunchtime and evening meals with plenty of fresh fruit and salad choices.
Our apartment was plenty big enough for two adults and two children and we also had the benefit of a balcony with the most beautiful view of the beach and sea. Good efficient aircon and regular changes of towels and bed linen, from the friendly cleaning lady, all added to our stay.
On the whole if you are looking for something a little bit different from the norm, for example NOT a huge impersonal all inclusive hotel where you don't talk to the same member of staff twice, this quiet little Cretan jem with the personal touch might be just what you want.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorski1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was certainly a pleasure taking care of you and we are delighted that you found our staff fantastic and that you enjoyed the meals at our restaurant.
I truly hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on a future visit.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Unfortunately our holiday was very mixed at this hotel. Being half Greek i had a fairly good idea as to what to expect from a Cretian hotel but Olympic Holidays completely let us down and i would not recommend anyone to book with them ever. The hotel was mixed but overall i felt fleeced out of nearly £2500. The Olympic rep was non existent and forgot to give us any literature with contact numbers on arrival and did not turn up at the hotel once. Olympic were also too cheap to book an extra coach on pick up from the airport to take us in the right direction, instead one coach toured the southern part of the island at 5am taking hours instead of 40 minutes. We had no one to confirm our inbound flights with or to confirm our return transport to the airport. Eventually we asked the hotel manager who told us we were due to check out 2 days before our return flight, my confirmation booking said the opposite and the manager refused to speak to the tour operator so i had use my UK mobile to call which has cost a fortune and Olympic told me that the hotel had it wrong and they would re-send the booking. The manager spoke to us after the email and tried to deny she had tried to get us to check out early, after she had told us she was expecting another booking to arrive that day, but then said were supposed to check out one day before our flight. Something was definitely not right because our booking was all inclusive and the manager had transferred all our meals to the day we had been forced to check out of the hotel which did not make any sense. I called Olympic again and i was told it was not their responsibility and that the hotel manager could book us into another hotel which the hotel manager refused to do. Olympic then told me i would have to take it up in the UK. I was, and am furious, especially after explaining that my ten year old child was with us and that i had the paperwork - from Olympic - to prove that our booking was until the 7 August not the 6 August. The hotel was fully booked and I had to find another hotel and pay for another room for one day - i suspect this all happened because of a double booking. Appalling, appalling service and attitude. The staff on our last day of eating (but not staying at the hotel) then asked for tip before we checked out. Incredible. They actually looked surprised when i said no. Apart from that the food is good but not great and the hotel turned off the air conditioning two nights during the night which meant the room became unbearably hot at 4am. The apartments are also oversold, they are more than a hotel room but i would not call them apartments either, they don't fit 4 people well. The hotel also charged 5 Euros an hour for wifi which Cretian hotels don't normally do and the connection was rubbish, funnily enough the free wifi connections worked perfectly. Our room was cleaned every day but the towels were not changed every day.

Room Tip: The sea view is gorgeous but does not make up for the hassle we encountered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time taken to post your feedback from your stay at the Mare Apartments. I am pleased hear that you liked the food at our restaurant, but I am suprised to read that you were disappointed with our staff , as the resort is well known for the best possible service.
May I kindly note that the reservation for your accommodation, received from the Tour Operator, was for the period of 30/07—06/08/2013 and due to late arrival time to the hotel offers the first day’s meals on departure date .As the date of your departure was on August 6th your meals was transferred to the above mentioned date.
With regards to the air condition problem we kindly point out that the air condition is individual and self controlled.

However, I truly apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Mare Hotel Apartments. The location, service and food were all excellent. First impressions were positive when upon arrival at about 11 pm, we were warmly greeted and shown in to our room (Skopelos). As we had missed dinner, cold plates of food had been made up for us and left in the fridge in our room, which was not only a sample of the great food we had to come, it also demonstrated the attentive customer service that we would receive during the rest of our stay.
The food really was excellent if you want traditional Greek cuisine (which we did); every night there was a wide range of choice to suit all tastes, all home cooked and buffet style meaning that we could try a bit of everything. My partner has been going to Crete for the past 15 years and has said that this is the best food he has tasted! (Thank you Mr Manolis!) Breakfast too was excellent with fresh fruit, yogurt, honey and all the cooked choices on offer too.
The location of the hotel is ideal. A stones throw from Kitroplatia beach, and a very short walk to other beaches, bars, restaurants and shops. Our room was brilliant too - spacious; a lovely sea view from the balcony (we could hear the sea its so close); free air conditioning; comfortable beds and we were even kindly given a kettle upon request!
The only criticism would be that the pool area is small, however this really didn't matter. Our ten year old was quite happy playing in there for hours at a time, and you are so near the beach anyway that the pool really is just a nice added extra to the hotel, ideal for cooling off at the end of the day!
Finally, big thanks to George and Anastasia in the restaurant who made us feel very welcome; and thank you to all the staff team who were always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Skopelos on the first floor which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JH1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your outstanding review. It was wonderful to read all your lovely words about our resort and I am delighted to learn that we fulfilled all your expectations. Your compliments have also been passed on to the relevant persons.
May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us to stay at the Mare Apartments and I sincerely hope to have you with us again in the future.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice but simple hotel, location very good, 50m from the Kiroplatia beach, about 5 min walk to the centrum of Agios. Staff was super nice and helpful, breakfast really good, only minus is the pool area, very small. Roof terraces were nice, but too hot place to stay, temp. was around 28C.
We also had an upgrade from a studio to an apartment, this was a nice surprise ! Sea view and the weather was super all week, really nice holiday 26.4-3.5.2013.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review and your invaluable feedback, with comments regarding our staff and the location, whicg are highly appreciated. At the same time, I was concerned to read that the pool area did not fully meet your expectations . However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I have taken your notes on board which will only help us improve in the areas you mention.

We would very much like to welcome you back to the Mare Apartments during your future trips.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is lovely and very clean hotel with excelent location. Staff are very kindly and helpful. We had just breakfast and that was very good, bacon, eggs, sausage, different kind of breads, cheese, olives, tomatoes, cake, fruits, flakes etc. Our room (Skiathos) was on "coming in" side, peaceful and room wasn´t too hot. View wasn´t that good but it wasn´t also bad. Couple not nice things was that bed was kind of small (120-140) and matress was very hard (or old) and there was only one light next to bed (if you like to read). With little fixs this hotel could be excellent :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paivi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A special thankyou the lovely manageress and her staff for making our stay ( sept 11-22 2012)
so relaxing we had a really long transfer 3hrs arrived ot about 12.45 am so be greeted with a lovely lady with a lovely smile after checking in we were offered an upgrade from a studio to an apparment on the 5th floor zakinthos.
we were totally overjoyed with the room balcony overlookingthe sea spiral staircase on suite bathroom and outside this apparment their was a large balcony with views on three sides ,in the dark it is lovely in the daylight its beautiful.
we stayed all inclusive the food was really good something for everyone and plenty of it so thankyou chef.
the staff mainly young girls were really friendly and nothing was to much for them also the maid who came everyday kept our room spotless thankyou to all of them.
so to sum up our holiday we loved it and we go again and reccomend it defernatley
Maz and Fred

Room Tip: ask for zackinthos if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stay for a week in May and another week in september , we had a beautiful apartament sea wiew always clean, we had the all inclusive treatament and he food was lovely, a special mention to Crasoula, the manager of the Hotel Sofia always smiling that clean the room and to Manolis that is the chef of the restaurant. Everuthing was beautiful and relaxing, very good 2 minute from the beach

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
989 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Porto Maltese Boutique Estate
Porto Maltese Boutique Estate
#28 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#31 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare-Olympus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare-Olympus Apartments

Address: Tselepi 21-26 | Evans, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Mare Hotel Apartments)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £35 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare-Olympus Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mare Olympus Apartments in Aghios Nikolaos CreteMare Olympus Apartments is an exquisite combination for those questing for tasting the core of the vivid nightlife of the cosmopolitan city of Agios Nikolas as well as the quietness of a blue flag fully organized beach! Being situated in one of the oldest and quieter neighborhoods and next to Kitroplatia beach, our guests may choose to walk around the tiled little streets of the shopping district and it numerous stores or swim in the pebble beach whose waters are so clearly transparent that urchins are visible on the rocks. Just at the other side of the cove, at the end of a tiled ally full of romantic restaurants and cafes, lovers of walking may find a newly created foot path by the sea leading them finally to the organized yacht marina. The property is blessed with extraordinary views of wild Cretan mountains, the Chaene Gorge and the endless blue of the sea that like a carpet extends itself till the eye can see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mare-Olympus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Mare-Olympus Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing