We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miramare Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked through Secret Escapes and didn't know exactly what our accommodation would be, but we struck lucky with apartment 631, which has a bedroom (with A/C), living room (with independent A/C), bathroom and walk-around pool. (The adjoining apartment was much narrower than 631 and its pool was not walk-around, oddly.) 631 has a good sea view across the bay. The pool water was totally clean and, though unheated and feeling cold on first entry, was perfect for dips in late June, when the temperature in early afternoon can be well over 30. We were not bothered by insects, though small ants were always on the pool-side patio. The cleaners who come in daily were very efficient.

Walking around the complex we noticed a great variety of apartment/room locations and views. Some have no pools. Some pools are right next to pathways, affording absolutely no privacy. We realised how very lucky we had been to get 631, but if we stayed again I would make advance checks about our accommodation.

The star feature of the Resort (for us) was the Bellavista restaurant (above the foyer), where an amazing array of hot and cold buffet dishes was available for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There were plenty of options for carnivores or vegetarians, or you could enjoy a totally Mediterranean diet. At breakfast I loved the Greek yoghurt with figs and honey, and my wife liked the pancakes cooked to order. For those who prefer a more "British" breakfast, bacon and eggs were always available in plenty. At lunch and dinner there were huge slabs of feta cheese, green and black olives and salads and oils, and cooked fish and local vegetables of several varieties. The local wine (white or red), and the Greek beer, was perfectly drinkable. The maitre d' and his restaurant staff were very efficient, helpful and pleasant.

We enjoyed an outdoor pool-side "Greek night", with excellent Greek buffet food and entertainment by local musicians and dancers, but the food at the "Tango night" was served slowly and the evening was less of a success.

The local town and its lake and harbour was worth a visit, but we thought the food in the Resort restaurant was all we needed to eat.

Room Tip: Room types vary widely. Make enquiries before booking, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our resort.
It was wonderful to read that you truly enjoyed your room and the food at our restaurant . Your comments regarding the restaurant staff have been already shared with the team who were as happy to receive them as I was. However, I apologize that our Tango night did not fully meet your expectations and have taken on board your feedback for future Review.
I look forward to having you back at our resort.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    323
    131
    48
    21
See reviews for
216
460
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We got back yesterday from a lovely all inclusive holiday here, which we booked through secret escapes for a double room with a sea view and private pool. There were some small negatives that you should be aware of, internet was very slow and only accessible outside of our room, plus expensive if you require more than the free 1GB they give you. The bacon at breakfast was a bit different, and although it is personal taste, we felt it was poor quality. Our bed was two singles pushed together, and they moved very easily which was incredibly annoying and uncomfortable. The cardio section of the gym was terrible, the cross trainer was completely broken and the bike was so old the seat was broken.
HOWEVER our room was amazingly large, and our private pool was the perfect size for us, just what you need to cool off. The three big main pools looked pretty empty and peaceful for the majority of our stay and very clean with amazing views. Other than the breakfast bacon the rest of the food was better than we expected, there was always a good variety of fish and meat available and there was always different things on the buffet. The feta cheese is the best thing I ever tasted! And the baklava type pudding was beautiful.
The beaches were very nice, very clean with crystal clear water, we rented a pedalo from the sandy beach which was great and only €10. And Agios Nikoloas is only a short walk away, with lots to offer. Its a 9.5/10 for us, we would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annarapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Miramare Resort & Spa. I am very glad to hear that you considered your stay with us as " Close to Perfect . Every observation is extremlely valuable and helpful to us, as it motivates us to improve and always try for the best services. So thank you for highlighting the areas we need to focus on improving. I am very pleased to hear that you will be coming back to visit us on a future trip.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable with good amenities. We stopped on an all inclusive basis in early June. Swimming pools were excellent and we had our own private pool too - which was great.
The food is plentiful and of good quality and at first glance there is plenty of choice. However, what you see on day one is pretty much what you see for the next week with only a few changes to the menu. The snack menu was similarly limited with few choices, although there was plenty of ice cream for the kids.
The dress code for dinner (smart casual with no shorts or swimwear) was not enforced which spoiled and cheapened the experience for those who wanted to look a little smarter than those who looked like they'd just wandered in from the beach.
These are only minor quibbles but the following was more significant.
We tried to arrange to pay for an extension to the check out time (12:00) or get another room as our flight was not until late at night and it would have been nice to have a shower and a rest before travel. However, we were told they were very busy and it couldn't be arranged. This was very disappointing as I estimated the hotel to be around one third full! If they can't be bothered when they are slack what's it like when they're full?
Make no mistake this is a good hotel and I would recommend it - particularly if they addressed the shortcomings I highlighted.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AJSbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us. Whilst I was pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were enjoyable, I was disappointed to read that that our reception staff did not meet your expectations . I truly apologize and I appreciate you letting me know of your dissatisfaction, which I have already shared with my colleagues. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review Miramare Resort & Spa and I am happy to read that this does not prevent you from visiting us again and from recommending our resort to other reviewers.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Today I and my husband returned from our amazing holiday. We stay in the Miramare 7 days a we can say just "WOW". We were pleased, what we found... Very nice and clean hotel, perfect and helpful staff on reception / Jana and Sophia thank you, you are beautifull girls.../, perfect food /we hade all inclusive/ and very kind waitress Klairi .It was the best vacation we spent. We plane come back ...

Room Tip: We hade room 530 and room was excellent, clean, quite with amazing view from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tatyzoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was certainly a pleasure taking care of you and we are delighted that you are already looking forward to your next visit. It is great to know that you found our staff helpful and you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant.

I truly do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back on a future visit.

Kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

As far as we were concerned this hotel offered really good value for money.
We stayed at the hotel on a half board basis for five nights at the beginning of the summer season. The hotel was not full so it is difficult to judge what matters would have been like if it had been fully booked. The buffet meal arrangements were very good with a wide choice of food to suit most tastes. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a good range of hot and cold food choices as well as having a variety of eggs, plenty of fruit, bread, toast, and pastries. The coffee was particularly good. The service was always helpful, cheerful and friendly and dirty plates were cleared away quickly but you did not feel rushed to finish your meal.
The hotel is built into the side of a cliff and so has many different levels. It has a number of efficient lifts to provide good disabled access but some rooms can only be reached via a number of short staircases. There are some step changes in marble floor levels in the hotel which could and should have been more clearly marked.
Reception and bar staff were helpful, friendly and efficient with a good grasp of English. Our room and all public areas were always kept clean and tidy.
The hotel had a well stocked mini market but it was only open for two hours in the morning and two hours in the evening.
The hotel had two outdoor and one indoor swimming pools as well as a small gym but they were only being lightly used at this time of year.
Our room was reasonably spacious with adequate storage space and a nicely furnished balcony. It had an excellent sea view and was quiet. The air conditioning was quiet and efficient. However in the evening the hot water was rather lukewarm and slow running. For a 4 Star Hotel the TV was very old fashioned with BBC World Service in black and white as the only English Channel. The room also lacked any coffee or tea making facilities.
The hotel was a 10 minute stroll from the marina and a 15 minute walk from the town square.
Local to the hotel were a small taverna, a small bar and small beach about 200 metres from the hotel entry road.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great sea view but are directly below an outside seating area which could be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Helpmeimlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post a wonderful review of your stay at Miramare Hotel. I am extremely happy to read that you found our staff at the bar and reception helpful, you enjoyed the food and was pleased with the accommodation as well as the cleaning.
I have also taken on board your comments regarding the hotwater and the possibility of replacing the TV receivers in the room for future review.

Once again thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Miramare hotel.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My partner and I have just returned from an all inclusive, one week stay, at the Maramare Our room was 214 (at the top of the drive, first batch of apartments to the left, over-looking the sea).
We arrived at 3a.m and as such, didn't look around the room until we awoke. We were pleased with what we found...clean room, clean bathroom, stunning view from our balcony.

Restaurant: Breakfast-buffet style, English fried breakfast, selection of ham and cheese, salad, fruit and Greek yoghurts, toast, Coffee (very strong!)
Lunch - buffet style, fish, chicken, salads, cold ham and cheeses, fruit and desert (e.g. Baklava or gateau style cake)
Evening meal - buffet style, ranging from chicken, lamb, pasta, fish, ham and salads, desserts (as above).
The staff in the dining area were very attentive and friendly.

Bar - all inclusive included drinks from the bar, but our type of inclusive excluded branded drinks. I first tried a white rum and coke and it tasted like medicine! Changed to a vodka and fizzy lemon and this was lovely. Beer is normal draught and fine. Lucas (behind the bar) was very professional and quick. There were bar snacks on offer (help yourself) and a help-yourself ice-cream selection too.

Our rooms were cleaned every day and the bed made perfectly. Fresh towels were also left.
We used the pool at the very top of the complex (lots of steps!!) and it was lovely. The views were stunning. There is a restaurant there too (which I didn't see being used) but it had bar snacks, such as mini pastries, and a soft drinks self-serve machine.

The walk into town was about 10 minutes and would be fine for all ages (the drive to the hotel is quite steep though). The town itself was lovely. The one thing I didn't like, is that if you stop to look at a menu, you get pounced on by the staff at the establishment.

The harbour and lake were lovely to visit and you get spoilt for choice if you do decide to eat. Prices ranged from around 6 euros for something like stifado (fish was a little more expensive) but drinks were quite steep. A Bacardi and coke was around 6 euros; however, the measures are great! A mythos was about 4 euros.

There are plenty of trips to go on but we regretted not hiring a car (around 20 euros a day).
All in all, would we visit Agios again, yes! Would we stay at the Miramare, most definitely!

Room Tip: We got a teletext late deal and were offered an upgrade for an extra £10 but we declined...didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Chrissy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review following your visit to the Miramare Resort. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and enjoyed all aspects of it. I very much look forward welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We previously booked this holiday for early in the year, but due to an accident had to cancel 3days before. The hotel rebooked us at a date of our choosing for a very minimal charge. Our room was perfect and just what we hoped for. Being all-inclusive we ate at the hotel every day finding the lunch time selection better than the evening. At all meal times there was something to fancy and enjoy as my expanding waistline showed. All staff were friendly and helpful with particular thanks to Klio for her sunny and happy nature and to Yiannis who arranged a late check out time for our room.(My husband is disabled and so this was greatly appreciated) It is obvious that the types of accommodation varied quite considerably but the superior rooms cannot be bettered and we shall return to this hotel again - something we have never done before, usually preferring something different.

Room Tip: Sea front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foodfreaksfromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your stay at the Miramare Resort. I am extremely happy to read that you found our staff helpful, you enjoyed the food and was pleased with your accommodation.
It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes for a Merry Christmas

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
776 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ariadne Beach
Ariadne Beach
#18 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
220 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Property: Miramare Resort & Spa
Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing