We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miramare Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Karditsa, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel his greatly situated: It's location is very close to the city of Agios Nikolaos but not inside the city, so you avoid all the city hassle but you get get there on foot in 10 minutes max. Since it's built on a hill bye the sea, most of the rooms have GREAT view to the gulf, especially in the afternoon. I tell you the view form our room was breath-taking. The hotel facilities are according to it's price range and the staff is very polite and helpful (all the times we requested something they really helped us). You can use one of the pools, or got to the beach which is directly down form the hotel or go at the Almyros beach which is 10 minutes walk form the hotel on foot, or one of the other 2-3 beaches inside the Agios Nikolaos city which are a little further away. We preferred to hire a car and also go see the other beaches of Lasithi /(don't miss the Voulisma beach - 15min drive at the east). Very great choice, specially for family vacations and indeed the hotel was full of families with young children, but we never had any noise in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kostas_Karetsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay.
It was pleasing to note that you felt we provided a great location and that our staff took good care of you.
We look forward welcoming you back to Miramare Resort & Spa

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    281
    122
    42
    21
See reviews for
191
397
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in one of the villas on site. Extremely clean and with all amenities.
The staff were superb, particularly the reception staff.
Well positioned hotel.
Not crowded as a hotel.
Well worth booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team who were also very happy to receive your compliments.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Miramare Resort & Spa .


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buxton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Really good food and wine for an all inclusive deal,lots of variation and very fresh.We stayed in the newer part of the hotel so beware its quite steepy and hilly if your less abled than most. The rooms were kept quite clean.
Maitre d' Manolis Zervos hospitality and welcome was amazing,
there was just 1 fly in the ointment there was a grumpy waiter in the buffet restaurant that made you feel really uncomfortable and everything was such an effort for him. But we did not let this spoil our holiday.
Dress code, well where do we begin..... It states that men can not wear shorts or slippers in the restaurant, however there were women of all ages walking in the restaurant in denim short and pool vests, if ya like and this was ok.... Yet my partner who wore tailored long shorts and short sleeve collared shirt was refused entrance until 9 pm for evening meal and thats when the restaurant was starting to close down. They clearly need to make a decision either dress for inner or dont dress for dinner, both sexes....

Room Tip: Get a Pool Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. Whilst I was pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were up to your expectations, I was disappointed to read regarding the shortfalls you have described . However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I have taken your notes on board which will only help us improve in the areas you mentioned.

We would very much like to welcome you back to Miramare Resort & Spa during your future trips and ensure that you have a more comfortable stay.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in July 2014, and were delighted in the standard of the room, and the help we received from all the staff, especially the hotel's maitre de, who really looked after us well, ensuringwe had everything we needed! The room (119) was a pool room with a Sea View, and what a view! Magnificent! The only complaints were the lack of tea/coffee making facilities, and the fact it was twin beds joined together and not a double, or king, as expected! (probably because we were English-but stiill!?) Other than that, it was extremely hilly, as was expected, and the nearest decent beach was about one mile away (where you had to pay for the bed and parasol hire, regardless of how late you arrived, or the fact that you were paying the hotel, despite being AI!) The food was very good, albeit repetitive slightly, and the weather was great for the whole 10 days. Thank you Miramare for a wonderful holiday! And a word of thanks for the return of my camera, left on the bus back to the airport! Stupid Boy!

Room Tip: The ones around the low 200's have less to climb. A view of the Bay is worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay at the Miramare Resort & Spa. It is truly important for us to learn from each of our guest’s experiences and the review highlights, regarding the areas you truly enjoyed, as well as those we need to focus on improving. As per your request I will not respond with promises but I do assure you we are doing our best in order to improve as our aim is to provide with the best possible services. Your rewarding comments regarding the service at the Main Restaurant is much appreciated and have been passed on the staff.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location and the rooms with pools are very good. However five days into our stay here I am incredibly frustrated. If you read the many reviews here you could turn this into an outstanding hotel. The customer service replies keep saying that they are listening but nothing as changed. Thus for this to become an outstanding hotel they need to do the following:
1. Improve the wifi throughout the hotel, it is dreadful at present.
2. Give each room a bottle of water daily - inexpensive when you are paying so much for your holiday.
3. Get a decent orange juice for breakfast, current offering is poor or you have to pay extra for fresh juice. Desserts let down the food offering, provide a more interesting range.
4. Buy some new towels and provide fresh pool towels daily.
5. Allow departing guests to continue their all inclusive meals and drinks until departure. You benefited from us not arriving until 10pm so why charge us on last day after noon?
6. Pay a satellite company so you can provide more TV channels, current provision is very poor.
7. Upgrade some of the local drinks, some taste nothing like what they are supposed to.
8. Do not water down the wine in the restaurant.
9. Cherish your maître d - he gets customer service which sadly your reception staff do not.
10 If a family books two rooms, give them two rooms adjacent. We wasted half a day having to complain to sort.
Please do not respond here to say you will listen and then ignore it, later reviewers will pick up on this.
Despite it all the fantastic views, the great weather and some lovely weather make this a potentially great holiday resort- none of what I mention here would cost much to fix and then you would thrive!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank FTG1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost I thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that some aspects did not meet your expectations. I have also taken all your notes on board for further review and I can assure you that we are doing our best in order to focus on improving and always trying for the best services. I hope we will restore your faith in our attempts in improving and we truly wish you give us the opportunity to prove this during a future visit.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Miramare - it us a little paradise in Crete!!! The best sea view I've ever seen in my life (even Cote'd'azur is not so good!) anazing staff and service! Tasty food and good drinks! many russian people! However, atmosphere is quit and comfortable...we come back here again, was in miramare 3 years ago! And this year even better!!! We will come again,for sure! Good rooms,all staff is new! Near the hotel a uniq city-AgiosNikolaos! Fancy place) Enjoy this hotel!!! It is incredible! Olga and Maria from Ukraine;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. It was certainly a pleasure taking care of you and we are very delighted that you are already looking forward to your next visit.
It is great to know that you loved the view, your room and you found our staff excellent.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Miramare Resort & Spa and I am so pleased to hear that you will be coming back to visit us on a future trip.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our first break in 3 years and with both of us having busy lifestyles we wanted a quiet and relaxing break. This hotel and its venue will give you that.
There are some down sides to the hotel. If you are elderly or a non-energetic individual the walk up the road to the hotel as it is built on the hillside overlooking the sea can be challenging. The Wi-Fi as described in much of the previous posts is only available in certain places around the hotel and certainly not in our room. The rooms are very basic with a small antiquated TV’s although by Greek standards was ok at best. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed although the towels looked like had been used for a number of years and their original colour of white had long disappeared.
As a very particular eater the food I thought was good. The head waiter and his staff were very polite and I never had an occasion over our 10 day stay to comment anything negative about their service. The pool situation was misleading as the classy pool shown in the brochure can only be used by residents staying in the luxury Villas. There is a sign next to the pool highlighting this to everyone, although when the question was asked at the front desk the receptionist was not aware that this was the case.
Be aware that there are differing levels of all inclusive, which we found out once we arrived. It did feel at times that there was a class distinction when you either were given a coffee in a paper cup or a cup and saucer or a table cloth on your dining table dependent on your status.
The all-inclusive drinks package also finishes at 10-45 so if you decide to walk into town after dinner you are likely to miss out on this benefit. You can also not get a coffee on an evening as part of this package it had to be paid for.
As someone who enjoys a visit to the gym, it was evident that the Gym at the hotel was not quite what I was expecting and I had to satisfy my need to work out by getting up early each morning and going for a run around the bay.
Overall the hotel met our requirements for a quiet and relaxing break and if that is your aim I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an upgrade to a luvury Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stevej281262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you were satisfied with our staff and the service at Main restaurant. It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind words to the team at the restaurant. I was concerned to read that you had problems with the Wi-Fi and that you felt your room was average. But I am pleased to tell you that these have been taken into serious consideration for future reference as well as the gym has already been provided with new equipment .With regards to the use of the big pool we kindly note that the sign at the big pool is provided for the reason that we try to avoid throng at the pools and direct our guests equally to all of them.
The All Inclusive is provided in two different formats but the service is identical to all guests. For safety reason we serve the drinks at the pool from plastic or paper glasses and for guests who wish to enjoy their drink at the table it is served from a normal cup.
I apologize for any inconvenience caused and we would be honored to serve you again.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
4.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
42.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.0 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Property: Miramare Resort & Spa
Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing