We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greate view, cold pool, very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Miramare Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greate view, cold pool, very quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed at the Miramare at the last weekend of August.
The kids loved it, the view is fantastic, the food is very nice (we took the all-included deal) and the
service is kind and professional.
The hotel is located on top of a hill at the sea so the pools are a little windy and can be very cold.
The location is also good – 1 HR drive from the airport and a 10 min walk to the nearest little town of Agyos Nickolas where you can find some shops, a lake and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. It was certainly a pleasure taking care of you and we are delighted that you had a memorable stay . I very much look forward welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    281
    122
    42
    21
See reviews for
191
397
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

BEST: the view is breathtaking,we upgrade our room to suite with pool-amazing,very frienly manager who try to please us with every wish,hardworking and extremly friendly waitresses Klariti and Maria also waiter Dimitris and Manolis.

Avarage:
Food every day the same,same fruit,same breakfast,nothing special,

Bad:
No hotel beach, deposit for beach towels and 2€ for each towel cleaning,have to pay for safe in room,hair from cleaning lady on bed,all inclusive drink was bad taste, coffe discusting, have to pay for better one, different section to seat in restaurant for different all inclusive...not enough sunbeds and umbrellas by the pool, smell in the bathroom in standard room, standard room tiny small,tv small and like a box of shoes,no programes, snowing...no internet reception in standard room, in suite wifi on and of all the time,lots of steps, not suitable for babies...no normal babyseats,but babycot was in the room,barman sometimes with atitude and i can go on and on...


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Miramare Resort & Spa. Although I was truly glad to read that you enjoyed the magnificent view and our services at the Front Desk and the restaurant, I apologize for the areas we fell short of your expectations. All your comments have been taken on board for future improvement and please rest assured that we are always working on all comments made as the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests is of outmost importance to us.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bełchatów, Polska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I chose this hotel because of the reasonable prices and good opinion. And this was very good idea. Miramare Resort & Spa is very conventionally located - only 5 minutes to sandy beach (the deckchairs and umbrellas - extra charge) and 10 minutes to city full of shops and good restaurants (of course on foot). However are There are three swimming pools - I added the photo of the biggest one. My room was quite old, for sure it needs renovation. The food is good, you can taste Greek cuisine. All in all, I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms which are high situated are much more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving your kind words following your stay. I am pleased to inform you that the renovation for a few of the older rooms is already in the near future program. Once again thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Miramare Resort & Spa and for recommending our hotel to other travelers.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hod Hasharon, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed in the hotel 7 nights and we are really disappointed!
The good part of the hotel is its location and the amazing view.
The hotel has very high potential which is not utilized at all.

We are family of 4 booked the deluxe room which was very small. With the kids beds and our double bed the room was blocked.

It was supposed to be all inclusive but it was like full board as the offering out of the main dinning room was very minimal.

There was only 1 type of cookies and sometimes another 1 type of pastry served in one of the swimming pools for very limited hours (10:00-12:00, 16:00-18:00). There was low quality ice cream. It was not generous at all.
Don't ask for shakes, ice coffee in the bar.
Or to be accurate it was all there but everything was for extra charge.
As of 22:45 the bar in the lobby was also for extra charge.

Usually in all inclusive hotels you can eat your lunch in the swimming pool and there is an option to eat at least 1 time in other restaurant within the hotel, but here again it was opportunity to ask for extras.

The towels for the swimming pool were in the room so if you want to change them you have to keep some in the room and the cleaning lady told me that not every day you can change it.

Regarding the room, cleaning, etc.- it was quite clean like the rest of the hotel but sometimes they are coming to give the cleaning service at 15:00 while we just tried to have some rest.
The TV - all Chanel's were with snow and low quality.

In regards with animation team, pool activities, music? None of the above except the show in the restaurant which was for extra charge.

It sounds many of complains, although we manage to enjoy mainly due to the friends company, the kids and the pool.

We don't recommend it unless you want to count it as full board and pay all day for all the others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noa9153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time taken to post your feedback from your stay at the Miramare Resort & Spa and I am pleased that you liked the location and the view.
Your comments on the All Inclusive have been noticed for future review. May I kindly note that that if our guests do not wish the Chamber maid to visit their room each room has been provided with a “ Do not Disturb please ” sign that can be placed outside the door.
Thank you for your review and despite the fact that we did not meet your expectations we truly wish you would stay with us once more on a future visit in order for us to restore your faith in our services.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The food and restaurant was very good with a lovely view over the bay. However there were two different seating sections depending on the colour of your wristband. Our experience of all inclusive did not include everything such as snacks at one of the pool bars and the main bar stopped being free at 10.45!. There was also an enforced rule that men had to wear long trousers to dinner which we had not been informed of previously.
Our room was lovely with very comfortable beds. We had paid extra for our own pool which was great although the view across the bay from it was spoilt by three electricity cables across it. Plus when looking out from the edge of the pool there was a very scrappy bit of roof to overlook which could have been finished off properly. We also spent some time at one of the other pools which was pleasant. We did get a room to change in as we had a late flight and discovered that the furniture there was very dated, the bathroom in need of updating and the TV very small we would not have been happy there.
Most of the guests were Russian or other eastern european while we were there.
The staff were always very helpful and friendly.
There was no entertainment except a DJ on alternate evenings in the bar.
There was free wifi but not available in all areas of the hotel.
The hotel is near Agios Nikolaos and within a ten to fifteen minute walking distance though as it was very hot we did resort to a taxi at times which cost 5 euros each way.
The local beach to the right when facing the sea was a 5 minute walk and was sandy and gently sloping, so good for children. There were sunbeds and umbrellas to hire.

Room Tip: Have a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warrenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the areas we need to focus on improving. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location and the food. May I kindly note that we do provide evening entertainment three times per week at the Aegeon pool restaurant. We consider our guests feedback of importance whether good or bad and I would like to apologize if any inconvenience caused during your stay. I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karditsa, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel his greatly situated: It's location is very close to the city of Agios Nikolaos but not inside the city, so you avoid all the city hassle but you get get there on foot in 10 minutes max. Since it's built on a hill bye the sea, most of the rooms have GREAT view to the gulf, especially in the afternoon. I tell you the view form our room was breath-taking. The hotel facilities are according to it's price range and the staff is very polite and helpful (all the times we requested something they really helped us). You can use one of the pools, or got to the beach which is directly down form the hotel or go at the Almyros beach which is 10 minutes walk form the hotel on foot, or one of the other 2-3 beaches inside the Agios Nikolaos city which are a little further away. We preferred to hire a car and also go see the other beaches of Lasithi /(don't miss the Voulisma beach - 15min drive at the east). Very great choice, specially for family vacations and indeed the hotel was full of families with young children, but we never had any noise in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kostas_Karetsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you were satisfied with your stay.
It was pleasing to note that you felt we provided a great location and that our staff took good care of you.
We look forward welcoming you back to Miramare Resort & Spa

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in one of the villas on site. Extremely clean and with all amenities.
The staff were superb, particularly the reception staff.
Well positioned hotel.
Not crowded as a hotel.
Well worth booking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. I have passed on your kind comments to all of our team who were also very happy to receive your compliments.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Miramare Resort & Spa .


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
4.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
42.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.0 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Property: Miramare Resort & Spa
Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing