We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gargadoros Taverna

Gargadoros Taverna
Ranked #37 of 134 Restaurants in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A great place for fresh fish, a bit hard to walk there - but the sea view is the best. Nice fresh fish, if a bit expensive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    39
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great setting and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved the setting of this restaurant in a quieter area of Ag.Nik. just opposite a small beach. The seafood here is great. We had a plate of mixed shellfish which was unique during our two week travels. It was simply prepared and just wonderful. We also shared the Octopus Stifado which was delicious. Service was incredibly friendly and helpful. We certainly would return!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you love sardines...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

If you love the freshest sardines and the sweetest Greek salad; if you enjoy watching the moon glint on the water as you sip the local (extremely acceptable) white wine; if it takes a lot of the above to really upset you then go to Gargadoros. In every way it's what you imagine good to be by the sea....

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JayneF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almyrida, Greece
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best meal around Agios Nikolaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

After several evenings with meal in Agios Nikolaos (expensive but not something "extra" and little boring food) we took our last night near our hotel Miramare. A simple taverna with a lot of greek guests, of course they have good food! We have a lovely dinner there, a special version of Giovetsi with shrimps and mussels. WOOOW, can absolute recommended that dishes! And a lovely staff who check up us all the time. We will come back next time in Agios Nikolaos!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicaHolmqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location for beach but food disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is near beach so we went there for lunch,

Order Shrimp salad which arrived with 4 overlooked small shrimps and a lot of lettuce.

Waiter was a bit too chatty and back and forth to table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gargadoros Taverna also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Gargadoros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing