We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here the last week of June 2013, travelling as a couple. We stayed in the hotel rather than the village. It was an absolutely perfect holiday - couldn't fault it!

Location -
The hotel overlooks Mirabello beach which is just gorgeous. There are 2 small coves and plenty of loungers on the beach (you do have to pay 5 Euros for a pair of sunloungers and a parasol per day, however on 2 days of the holiday, the inspector wasn't there when we were there, therefore we were not charged). The view is beautiful. It is a perfect spot to relax and get stuck into a book. The hotel also offers a variety of water sports if you would rather be active at the beach, but these take place outside the bay so do not obstruct the beautiful view/cause too much noise for people wanting to relax. We went on the jet ski and it was fab! Very safe and they outline the routes you can take etc.
There is a bus which stops outside the hotel which will take you to Elounda on one side (about 20 mins drive) and Agios Nikolaos town on the other side. Be careful because the bus is sometimes a small recognisable bus, and sometimes it is a coach (we missed it when it was a coach because we presumed it was an airport transfer coach, not a public bus haha). We took a taxi into Elounda which cost 13 Euros because we missed the bus. Lovely place well worth a visit. The walk into Ag. Nik. town is about 30 minutes in the heat. The town is beautiful though. Lots of touristy bars/restaurants/shops as you would expect but very pretty.
We went on the semi submarine trip (15 Euros from Ag. Nik. town). You spend some of the journey underneath the boat looking at the fish and sea turtles, and you can also go onto the deck and onto the top part of the boat too. Highly recommended.

Hotel
Hotel was absolutely beautiful I could not fault it if I tried. We didn't pay extra for a bay view room yet had a gorgeous view from our room. The courtesy room we were given before travelling home had a bay view which was stunning of course, but the view from our room was still lovely so I wouldn't pay to upgrade the room.
Every single member of staff was lovely.
The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned daily.

Food and drink
The dining areas were stunning. The outdoor area overlooks the beach and sea and you can sit here for all your meals if you wish. There is also an indoor area option for breakfast and tea time. Food is plentiful and even if you are a fussy eater you will always find something. The food is all delicious (especially the puddings). I took advantage of the feta cheese salads and the beautiful sweet fruit.
They have an A La Carte dining area which you can book to dine in once during your week long stay. This is an outdoor eating area separate to the other outdoor eating area but still beautiful. You can choose Mexican or Cretan food. We chose Mexican and the food was beautiful. There were about 6 courses!! It is free once during your stay for all inclusive guests, £12.50pp for half board guests and £25.00pp otherwise.
Do not worry about the food, even if you are a fussy eater you will find something.
At breakfast, they make smoothies in front of you in a blender which I thought was a lovely touch.

Drinks and cocktails are wonderful and all of the bar staff are helpful and friendly - they remember your orders within about an hour of being at the hotel!

Spinalonga
We booked onto the Thomson/First Choice excursion to Spinalonga which was around £40pp booked in advance online (nearer to £50pp if you booked it with the rep at the hotel). If I had known there were so many excursions to Spinalonga from Elounda, I may not have booked the Thomson one however it did have its benefits because they collected you from the door of the hotel and drove to Elounda where we boarded a lovely big boat. We had a fully guided tour around the island by a wonderful tour guide named Maria, and then returned to the boat to visit another very small island off Crete which has the clearest water in Crete (cannot remember the name of the island). You could swim in the sea - the most beautiful clear water I have ever seen. Then we got back on the boat for some lunch (meat and salad) before returning to Elounda for an hour and then back to the hotel on the coach. Wonderful day. There are cheaper excursions to the island of Spinalonga (which is a MUST) although I don't know if they include a guided tour and they don't include a trip to this other beautiful island.

Perfect holiday which I could not fault.

TIPS:
* Take a trip to Spinalonga - it is very interesting and quite sad. Lots of history there. It also has breathtaking views.
* Lots of steps up and down to restaurants/eating areas/beach/pool etc.
* Take a trip to the olive farm just 2 mins up the road from the hotel (in the direction of Elounda) even if you don't like olives. The family who ran it were lovely and they made the most amazing marmalades and honeys. All homemade.
* Take a walk around the hotel grounds. It is very green, lots of beautiful plants and more gorgeous views. A little church at the top is very quaint and looks like it holds a lot of history.

Room Tip: We did not pay £80 extra for a bay view room on Thomson/First Choice, but we had a room with a reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charleyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from 10 days at the hotel and we all enjoyed it immensely.
The hotel was spotless the rooms well equipped. We were only b & b but the food we had was excellent. Breakfast was superb so much choice. Ate lunch a few times which again was great quality.

Spent most of our time at the village pool as the hotel pool and beach got very busy. The village pool was very quiet most days. Never a problem getting four sunbirds together and the hotel supply beach/pool towels which is a bonus.
The village apartment looked wonderful some with swim up pools.
We walked every night into the main town took about 25 mins but was very pleasant.
Agios was very reasonable for eating which surprised me due to the current financial climate we were four adults each night and never paid more than 80 euros for meals with drinks.
Fab holiday wonderful hotel and staff. I booked direct with the hotel and got easy jet flights saved over £1000 that was

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debs-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at the Iberostar Mirabello from 2nd-16th July 2013 and it was an amazing 2 weeks. We got married on 12th July and had 20 family and friends who came out to join us who also stayed at the Mirabello. When we arrived we were greeted with drinks, my husband and I along with our two year old son were immediately upgraded due to us getting married, to a room with a pool overlooking the most beautiful view! The staff are so friendly and nothing was to much trouble, anything we needed they were on it straight away. The hotel is immaculate, and the food is fantastic, always so much to choose from. The children were kept happy with ice cream and milkshakes available all day long! A great range of drinks available under the all inclusive, including some lovely cocktails. The sandy beach is lovely with lots of different water sports available which kept the men happy! The hotel has a gorgeous, relaxing spa with so many different treatments available, and the girls in there are so nice, I had a massage and a manicure and was very impressed! If you plan to get married here I would definetly tell you to, we got married outside the little chapel, everything went perfect and was made perfect by our wedding coordinator Anne-Marie and manager Maria. Nothing was to much trouble, they both made us feel extremely special. Every one of our guests enjoyed the wedding and their holiday. I can't rate any higher how fabulous the staff are, every single one! We'd definitely recommened this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here in May for our belated honeymoon. Our room was perfect, the food was perfect, everything was perfect. We were very well looked after and the animation team even had my husband on stage which, believe me NEVER happens!

We contacted the hotel prior to our stay to ask for a mattress topper and for the fridge to be emptied and our requests were adhered to. We were Half Board and the food was superb! I am a fussy eater and I found the choice was fantastic. We were also able to swap our evening dinner for lunch when we fancied eating out. Agios Nikoloas is about a pleasant 25 minute walk away and it's just as nice during the day as well as night. We walked there most nights but a taxi only costs about 6euros (which we tended to go back in!).

We stayed in the hotel with a panaoramic sea view. The room was a really good size with a huge balcony - luckily it looked like it was one of the biggest! Everywhere was clean and tidy. Clean towels/ toiletries/ beds made every day.

We would definitely return – and now we’ve seen the food and drink choice we will be staying All Inclusive. There is nothing you couldn't want for!

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank branditbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed at the Mirabello in the beginning of May with another female friend. We are both around 30 and wanted a decent hotel and some sunshine for a week to relax. This is what we got.
The hotel was very good, the room was spacious and the bathroom well appointed. Clean towels/ toiletries/ beds made every day/ fridge/ balcony etc.
We went half board so we could have some flexibility with lunch/ dinner in the hotel. The food for a buffet was surprisingly good, a very large selection of breads/ salads/ meats/ rices and the chefs cooking bits to order too. We were there for 7 days and did not get tired of the food. The waiters/ waitresses were usually very helpful and bought over your drinks promptly.
We also had lunch/ drinks on the large sun terrace a few times which was lovely and again good service.
Pools were ok, not massive but in early may hotel was by no means full so enough sun loungers to go round. The beach was good (however does not look the most appealing as some litter in the sea) we spent most of the week there. A bit annoying that you have to pay for loungers but it does keep it quieter. Very good having the towel exchange so you don't have to sit on a soggy towel once you have dried off. Would recommend the kayaks from the watersport guys, we had a good hour paddling round the coast one morning which made a nice change from lounging about.
In all a good hotel with nice staff and facilities. It is not 5* by english hotel standards but for the price you are paying it is good value. If i were to go back to Crete I would happily consider this hotel again just probably not in peak season as i can imagine the pool/ beach/ restaurants get very busy and i'm not a great fan of children!
We hired a car and as the hotel is not in the main resort it was really handy for visiting spinalonga and some other beaches. If you are brave enough to try the driving in Crete I would recommend that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateb7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Couldn't resist going back to the Mirabello after a fantastic time there last year in August. There were some differences, but the majority of things were the same, which I was really pleased with.

One of the most distinct differences to last year was a massive increase in the proportion of Russians in the hotel. This is not to say, however, that English people were few and far between, in fact there was probably a majority of English, but there didn't seem anywhere near as many Russians as this last year. Some Brits have a fear of Russians with the All-Inc Buffets, however I saw very little evidence of food 'hoarding'. The presence of so many Russians does not in any way taint the experience, they seem to remain within their own circles. One word of caution though - they always seem to win the Archery and Rifle Shooting, by a long way!

Another difference, but a perfectly understandable one, was the (almost) new Animation Team. Only Anastasia remained from last year, and last year's team seemed so well gelled together. This year seemed a slightly more separate affair, with the enthusiastic Denis leading the way. Denis loves to be the centre of attention, with his flamboyant aqua-gym dancing (that no-one in the pool seems capable of replicating) and his obsession with dressing in drag with his 'silicon' making an appearance a few times. Ivo, the sports activities co-ordinator, was a great guy with a more restrained character, but certainly capable of having a laugh. Getting involved with the sports may seem silly at first, but it really is a great way to meet people, especially for teenagers and parents.

The entertainment in the night was one of last year's highlights. This year seemed a bit of a let down, but perhaps it is too harsh to compare to such a great time. Last year the entertainment went on till way after half 11, even up to 12 and beyond. This year, however, saw most nights end at not long after 11. This saw the departure of many off to bed, leaving the bar next to the stage near-deserted, compared to last year where it would be busy right until closing time. The last night was a 'white-party' night, held over at the beach bar with DJ Alex making a great night that went on longer than all the others. Alex is a real character and is great to have a chat to if he is there during your stay. Notable bar staff include Giorgos - who makes a fine 'Blonde Headed S*ut', and Tasos, another great guy.

The drinks are a touch watered-down, and the beer is only 3%, but tastes perfectly good. All Inclusive is the best option for this hotel, although it was surprising to see so many guests on half board.

The restaurant was as good as last year, with the grilled food always being delicious, and the buffet food regularly replenished and full of taste and variety. The staff are helpful, although it can be a touch hard to get a second drink if you are feeling thirsty.

The whole hotel and rooms are absolutely spotless, the maids obviously take pride in their work, making the experience even more relaxing.

The Hotel is situated around 20-25 minutes walk from Ag. Nik., although in my opinion it was not worth the trek with a few bars around but not much else.

Do bear in mind that it is relatively windy, and on some days loose clothes and towels can start to fly around, but it is by no means unbearable. It can help keep you cool, although it can be deceptive - the sun is obviously still very powerful, so plenty of cream! The wind does mean it is near impossible to have your balcony door open at night, so AC is a must, but on both years has left me with a very bunged up nose - but I concentrated on enjoying the holiday rather than moaning about it.

Absolutely loved my 2nd stay, and am seriously considering returning next year, although rumours were going round saying that there was an apparent Russian takeover of the hotel taking place (not confirmed obviously) but could still see this hotel being very popular with Brits. Think I'd go back later next year in the hope of better night-time atmosphere with the prospect of more brits in the school holidays.

tl;dr? Had a great time, loved every minute, would recommend to anyone (besides disabled people - many steps)

Room Tip: Bay/Sea virtually the same, still great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belfyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After returning from the Mirabello last Thursday, I thought it was only right that I wrote another review.
This was the 2nd time we have visited this hotel and Its definitely the staff that make your holiday. The first time we went the hotel was absolutely faultless, the food , the staff, the location is excellent. However this time we have returned with slightly different views of the hotel. I hope you find the below pointers helpful.

The food: The food once again was excellent and to high standards, breakfast there is plenty of choices along with fresh smoothies and fresh fuit. Dinner (all inc guests only) normally a few hot dishes with plenty of fresh salad and fruit. Tea time - lots of choices however from our last visit there seemed to be more aimed towards russian guests. Theres is plenty of deserts to choose from.
During the day the only snacks for all inc guests is 3 different types of sandwiches these are at the pool side bar other than this there seems to be a charge for anything extra. Now for a 4-5* Hotel all Inclusive should mean all Inclusive. A few nights after tea we went to the bar downstairs , all inclusive guests once again beware that after 12pm you have to pay full price for any drinks you order even though the bar is open till 1pm?

Entertainment: The entertainment at the hotel is limited the guys are more than helpful, You dont seem to see them on an afternoon so I think that there could be more going on during the day especially for adults. The shows on a night are only on for an hour 9.30pm till 10.30pm there is a children's disco beforehand. I think for a hotel of this size it needs more going on.

Location: Excellent location for this hotel the views are stunning

Staff: Excellent - Like I previously said this was our 2nd visit in 3 years to this hotel and its defiantly the staff that work here want to make you return. from the lovely lady Maria in the restaurant, George the night manager on reception - to the lovely spirandoula in house keeping they treat you like there family.

Yes there is small charges for the sunbeds on the beach this is because the beach is council owned and not the hotels.

Theres is more than enough sunbeds around the pool and eating areas for people not to be fighting for sunbeds we never had a problem.

This stay at the Mirabello was no where near as special as our first stay was back in 2011. A lot of things have changed at the hotel we are on the understanding that a Russian company might be buying this hotel so this probably explains a lot. Thompsons have also changed this to a FAMILY holiday so there was lots of children there this time so I think this took away the beauty of this luxury hotel.

We thought about going back to this hotel next year for our honeymoon however after returning I am quite upset that we didn't have the same experience. We have met some lovely people at this hotel and we will continue to speak to them however would we return, probably not.

Room Tip: Stay in the Village of you can afford to.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teesside01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your second visit to our IBEROSTAR Mirabello Beach and Village hotel as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay as this will help us know how to better our services and offer splendid holiday experiences to all our guests.

We read your review very carefully and would like to point out that our hotel has always been children friendly, offering animation for children and services such as Mini Club and playgrounds, we can only imagine that your previous visit has been in another period of the year and outside the school holidays, this is why maybe you found more children this time staying in our hotel.
Further, related to our all-inclusive bars and restaurants, we would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning with IBEROSTAR, you take the time to have a look on our website where the All-inclusive facilities and hours are reported or to contact our call center where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance giving you all the information needed for you to enjoy a perfect holiday in our hotels.
On the other hand, we are grateful for your comments related to our culinary offer, the gastronomy being a very important facet of our company we are glad to read that you appreciated our Chef’s efforts and we thank you for highlighting this aspect of your stay in your review.
Last but not least, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff, especially regarding Maria by the restaurant and George by reception as well as our housekeeping staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely be pleased to know that for you they are the real strength of the hotel.
Finally we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to may serve you again in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
666 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
885 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £66 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing