We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what is expected of a 5* Platinam hotel.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what is expected of a 5* Platinam hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our travel company rates this hotel 5* Platinum and at the time of booking it was an Iberostar hotel and probably was that standard.However,the hotel is now owned by Dessole which lacks the quality of Iberostar. This is not a 5* hotel and I respectfully suggest to the many visitors who have given this hotel excellent reviews that perhaps they have not compared with true 5* rated hotels.
We were informed in small print that the hotel was not now Iberostar but assumed the known quality of Iberostar would be maintained . The hotel room was very well maintained so no complaints there.The restaurant was not well organised with many dishes only available depending on luck or timing.The staff did their best but in many cases, were inexperienced .Without being political,the hotel is not run or mainly staffed by local Crete people and judging by the clientele, it is a favourite packaged holiday venue of a particular Eastern European Country. Nothing wrong with this of course but if you are a discerning couple expecting 5* ambiance,quality relaxation,good food and a certain amount of pampering , this hotel will disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    476
    164
    60
    20
See reviews for
503
766
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mirabello is a large hotel and village complex that is almost impersonal due to its size and cosmopolitan nature. We stayed in Elounda 2yrs ago at another 5T Thomson resort that was similar but overall apart from the size a better location and I would prefer the Mirabello. Both are good quality and good value 4 star hotels.
The Shops on site and over the road next to the village are well stocked and good value
Bus stop right outside 1.6 euro to Ag Nik (not been on a bus for years, it was fun simple and reliable albeit in an air conditioned coach) There are always taxis in the mornings and evenings at hotel reception and it appears a set fare to Ag.Nik. or back is 6 euro, there also appears to be happy train that turns around at the hotel.
We got upgraded on arrival and still had a sea view room but it was in the village and the view was Ag Nik and the bay in the distance, having seen the rooms in the hotel this was a better room but the view would be personal choice over which was abetter sea view.
Grounds Pools sunbeds and rooms were very clean and cleaned daily
Staff were all very pleasant and would do rounds trying to get all involved in the activities from volleyball to aqua aerobics, not pushy but good spirited. Unlike the Spa team that try to sell massages for highly inflated prices on a daily basis.
During busy periods finding a sunbed in a preferred location is difficult, there is a no towel rule so dysfunctional behaviour kicks in with people leaving towels on beds from 0800hrs and sometimes not returning until late afternoon if at all. YES the ENGLISH do this too, we witnessed 8 beds reserved by one family with a further 4 with towels on for 'just in case' as the sun moved around during the day. Shameful you know who you are!!! and I bet you'd be the first to moan if this affected you.
We stayed HB the food was always varied and plentiful, a good choice but during busy times it becomes a bit of a fray over whats left and queuing for freshly made/cooked items
There was a late check out room option until 6pm which varied from 30-60euro however we booked a free 30 minute slot in a courtesy room to shower change and sort out our luggage this was a really good level of service and something I've not done before and meant we got another full day by the pool, showered changed and meal before a late flight home
The hotel reception team were also really helpful booking dinner reservations at restaurants on local towns or sorting a slow wifi issue
We went here last minute and had late flights which means a further 2hr transfer having dropped almost everyone else off first - thats down to Thomson and not the hotel though
I would stay here again, good value, clean, tidy and helpful plus its a great location and its only 1.3miles to the centre of AgNik

Room Tip: Village resort area is new and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lloydy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

what a fabulous hotel, hardworking staff made our stay wonderful. would definitely recommend this hotel . Spingalona well worth at visit with a guide. Very relaxing holiday, town close enough to walk. Taxi only 6E so well worth while if you don;t fancy the walk.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

My Fiance and I stayed here for two weeks from 10th- 24th June (we’re both 21) and we booked through First Choice so we were all inclusive. The hotel was a two hour transfer from the airport, due to many other hotel drop offs, and it did get slightly tiresome and we got to the hotel at around 2am. However, check in took about 5 minutes where we were given the option to fill out the form in our own time and hand it in the next morning.

We got a sea view room which was lovely on the first floor in the hotel side of the resort. Room was very clean and quiet, with everything you could need whilst in there. Everything in the mini fridge is under all inclusive and it gets re-stocked daily. The rooms are cleaned daily, with sheets changed every other day and towels changed every day. My only comment would be that the hair dryers aren’t great.

The hotel has two sides- the hotel side with the beaches, a pool, all the restaurants and bars. The village side across the road has an adult and children’s pool that are a fairly decent size with a small bar and we found that this side was much quieter, so if you fancy some peace one day you can go over there. On the hotel side you have an adult and children pools and the two beaches along with the restaurants and bars- there’s quite a few and we spent the first day just wondering around trying to get to grips with where everything is. A good thing is that considering the size of the grounds and number of bars and etc, we didn’t really find any particular area overwhelmingly busy which was nice.

In terms of food, breakfast is the same everyday with slight variation but plenty of choice. We had lunch at the Elia snack bar which had a good selection of food with slight variation each day. Dinner in the main restaurant was also nice with different dishes each night and plenty of variation from day to day. The first themed night didn’t seem to have much going on but throughout our stay the themed nights got much better and it provided a nice change a few times a week. Drinks are waited service in the main restaurant but self service at breakfast and in the snack bar. We also tried the a la carte restaurant as we got one visit included under all inclusive, we found it wasn’t really our sort of food but a nice experience as it is in a much quieter environment. We also tried the grill hut food, but this isn’t under all inclusive (although when we booked, the first choice website said it would be included), the food is what you pay for it- it’s not amazing but still lovely to try- the pittas are better than the souvlaki here! The drinks on the all inclusive menu are a good selection too.

With regards to evening entertainment, this could be worked differently. There are a few professional acts which are enjoyable to watch. Some nights the animation team perform musicals, many people did not like it, but we found it a laugh and enjoyed it for what it was. It was still better than just sitting in the lobby bar all evening. On Saturday nights they also have a black and white DJ party which is nice and different also.

We also visited the spa on the village side of the pool as we had never really done this before and wanted to try it. It was 90 euros for a couples massage and 30 mins use of the steam room/ sauna/ hot tub. The staff are all very nice and welcoming.

A walk into Ag Nik was about 25 minutes- there are paths but you have to keep crossing over the road and they aren’t very big and there is no lighting so would be best to walk in during the day. There are lots of souvenir/gift shops and tavernas/ Kafenions so if you’re half board and don’t want to stay at the hotel, you have plenty of choice. The KriKri Taverna (pronounced KoiKoi) was recommended to us and although we didn’t try it, it looked lovely and is on the left hand side about 15 mins walk from the hotel toward Ag Nik.

A visit to the olive oil farm down the road, next to the hotel, is also recommended. It’s 1.5 euros to get in and have a tour of the raki and wine distillery and try their products and browse their shop.
We also went on the 4x4 trip, booked through our rep. It was expensive but well worth the day out. It’s a full day and you get food and drink at lunch time with plenty of stop offs at interesting places. You learn so much about the Cretan culture and the drivers are really chatty and informative and more than happy to take pictures for you at every point.

Check out was efficient and we were able to have dinner even after checking out, before the coach picked us up, as it runs on a 24 hour basis. We also requested late checkout which was 30 euros but you don’t find out if you have it until a couple of days before you’re due to leave.

Overall we feel it has been the best holiday we have been on yet. All staff are lovely and always willing to help, nothing is too much for them to do for you.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms seem better. It looks like the 'garden view' rooms only face out towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank charlotte f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in a bungalow on the village side of the complex. Our room was situated over the play room and our balcony enjoyed the sun all day, had no adjoining balconies and overlooked the pool, with a side view of the sea. The room was spacious with a fridge, plenty of storage space and unlike most european hotels we were provided with tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished daily. The only tip I would give to the ladies is to bring your own hairdryer as the one in the room was next to useless.

We chose to eat our meals on the outside terrace as we found the self service restaurant noisy and hot. There was a good variety of food at breakfast and dinner, however as with all buffet food, it was a bit hit and miss whether the food was hot or luke warm.

It was an easy 30 minute walk into Agios Nikolaos in the daytime, however night time was a bit more difficult as the pavements were uneven and the majority of the street lights did not work. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the buses run directly to Elounda every hour and Agios Nikolaos every 30 minutes, however the last bus is at 8pm.

We went half board which suited us just fine as we like to get out and about in the daytime and drink in local tavernas in the evening. However if you intend staying in the hotel and like to have a few drinkgs in the bar, I would recommend that you opt for all inclusive, as the drinks were quite a bit more expensive than in the local tavernas. There is a supermarket next to the hotel, which stocks just about anything that you may need.

There were a few tavernas within 5/10 minutes walk of the hotel and we ate at Kri Kri on our last evening, who provided us with marvellous eervice and free wine. You can swap your dinner for lunch if you go half board, which was useful on our last day as we were leaving for the airport at 4.45pm, saving us having to buy something at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for seven nights half board in mid June 2014. Friendly helpful staff throughout the complex. Rooms at the village were spacious and clean, air conditioning worked well which was good because temperature got up to 38 degrees during day. Restaurants were well stocked for the breakfast buffet and also evening buffet. A la carte restaurants also available if preferred (extra cost for HB but could change dinner for lunch on those occasions). Varied menus for evening buffet, got slightly busy at peak times but that was to be expected. Staff worked to keep all options well stocked even at peak times. Evening entertainment was okay when outside entertainers were on but the hotel team did it on three nights and it was a bit amateur dramatic. Pools were clean and surrounding areas and grounds were well maintained, overall the resort was very clean and well managed. Not really 5 star but certainly a very good quality 4 star plus. Little bit away from Agios Nikolaos, about 25 minutes walk, pavements on the way were not particularly good. Main disappointment was the amount of litter in the town and also in the sea along the towns promenade.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dmkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent 5 star hotel. Lovely grounds, setting and food was very good. Choice and quality every night. Staff are so cheerful and were always saying hello and asking how you are. Got a room upgrade on arrival which was amazing! Would highly recommend and would definitely come back. This is now a Russian owned hotel and do not be put off by some reviews regards this. Good mix of all nationalities. Supermarket next door and few bars within 10 min walk. Walk into centre will take about 25 mins. Taxi costs €6.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
#8 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Property: Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing