We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Anstruther, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just back from Mirabello Hotel. A Bit disappointed with garden view room. Asked for an upgrade to a sea view room and willing to pay the difference but staff were not helpful at all. Although the hotel seemed quiet they would not move us as they said it was fully booked.
The room was not a 5 star rating more a 3 star. The pool & sea areas good. Staff at bars very friendly and attentive.
Buffet good selection but often when sitting down to eat the food was cold.
Needs some sort of nightly entertainment in the hotel itself as there was nothing to do but sit at the bar.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    476
    164
    60
    20
See reviews for
503
766
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Back again with trepidation. After booking the return to the Iberostar Hotel we were so used to we received a letter from the travel agent to say that the hotel had changed hands and was now a Dessole hotel. After a very scary landing at Heraklion we finally arrived at the hotel at 5.30 am to be welcomed by a friendly face, the night porter hadn't changed. When we got to our room, 323, there on the table were 2 plates of sandwiches, a plate of fruit, bottles of water, a bottle of the good old Raki and also a cake with welcome back iced on the top ,so far so good. Breakfast was next and it made my wifes day when she saw the coffee pots on the tables, definitely a good start. Then when we saw all the same familiar faces waiting on, we knew that we were in for a good time, nothing had changed, except that is, the sunbeds were all new. The hotel had not changed so all the trepidation was gone, the sun shone, we rested and recharged our very drained batteries over the next 14 days and had the usual brilliant time, so good we will be back next year. One thing we did do this year that was different was to transfer from and back to the airport by taxi, a bit pricey but oh so much better than sitting on a bus at 4.30 in the morning and visiting all those other resorts between the airport and the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Brianking3249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at hotel 17th june2014, one week all inc. Transfer from airport was 1.5hrs not as bad as some say, but it was evening 9.00pm so the sun had gone and not to hot. Check in was really easy, porter took bags to room whilst we had food, Restaurant open till midnight.

The room was great; we had a sea view, third floor. We found the room good as we were out by 9am and came back to change for supper at 17.30. The maids did a great job. Watch on all inclusive though as the fridge is not refilled every time. Some have said that the beds are to hard but we found them good.

The food from breakfast to midnight was well cooked and plenty of choice, if you are early enough at breakfast, say before 8am it is fairly quiet, but it gets busier after this, the food is all ways stocked up, but lots of people.

We mainly had a snack at 1.00pm in Ella Restaurant which was light bite, sat outside under the sun canopy close to the bar, but the main restaurant was open with lots of choice. Evening meal was always great lots of choice.

The 4 bars in the main hotel open from 10am all good, 2of the beach bars closed at 6.pm, the staff on all bars where friendly. Plenty of choice, there is a large choice of cocktails on all inclusive, not just 2 as someone else wrote.

There are plenty of sun beds around the pool, and on the beach, there is a couple of hotel staff that keep an eye out and put out more beds if needed, the only thing then is you might not get a parasol.

The Animation team, do a great job, most people on holiday don’t want to be bothered, but just give them a smile and have a chat with them and they are fine. Go to the black and white party on the Saturday night as it’s the only adult disco in the hotel, a great night.

We only went to the village side pool twice, but plenty of sun beds and the bar was not busy, we did notice lots of Brits at this pool, if you get boarded of Russian accents.

Local area, Elounda is a bus or taxi ride away, bus2euro, taxi 10ish. Go there to get a boat to Spinalonga, 10euro, and 2euro landing fee, stay for about a hour we found this long enough, try to get there early as the big boat come in from Agios Nikolaos at about 11.30. You can walk to Agios Nikolaos in about 20mins, good shops for gifts, and the bottomless lake.

Room Tip: If you go and are on the garden side of the main hotel try for floor 4 and above and you will get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic place, lovely staff and management go all out to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We got married at the hotel. And the wedding planners "Maria" and "Maria" were lovely and very helpful. And did everything possible to make sure our day ran smoothly. Big thank you also to "met " as I was unwell first few days after arrival and they went all out to cater for a special diet I had to have. So defiantly a lovely place to have your wedding. Good place all round. Well done Mirabello

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarahhigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights, its an absolutely great place. I would highly recommend it! We were upgraded to Village area and had a villa. Its a bit more far from the beach, but room is huge. Staff is very attentive and welcoming. Food is very tasty and fresh, variety is really rich. Beach is quite small and cozy with clear water and amazing views over the bay. Its situated in peaceful area and if you would like to have night fun you will need to walk to Agios Nikolaos about 30 minutes. Village area has its own pool with bar, not deep though. There is a minimarket right in front of a hotel, where you can buy food, water and souvenirs. Wifi conection is quite good, but sometimes signal is not strong. There is also a small kitchen in Villas with tea and coffee facilities, free non-alcoholic minibar that is filled daily. Many ukranians work there in a restaurant, so for those russians who dont speak English its easy to ask for something.

I would definitely stay here again on my next visit. Big thanks to all staff for a wonderful holiday. Everyone are very polite and smiling. Wonderful impression about Greece. I was in Greece just once, 7 years ago in Athens, and this was my first ever trip to a Greek island. Everything was really great! Special thanks to a General Manager for managing this property so good and having all this staff working there. I hope to be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lahmigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A 3+ star hotel. Room basic and beds hard, but clean. Good location but resort often overrun by children. Went on a half board basis; plentiful food and choice at breakfast and dinner some multiple dishes very oily. I must commend the chefs at the egg and hot food counters; impeccably friendly and efficient. Certain guests, which the resort seemed to attract, were bad mannered and greedy at the buffets; seemingly unable to wait their turn and respect personal space. The waiting staff managed well in the circumstances.

Generally the reception staff were pleasant enough but not forthcoming in being helpful and friendly.

The communal areas were outstanding for their views and cleanliness.

The animation team were a friendly bunch and did their best in the evenings but it was a bit cringeworthy to watch and very children focused. We did however enjoy the professional nights of burlesque and the bar pianist.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Over all it's a 4 star hotel & for £600 a week all inclusive it was good value.

To start the coach transfer is almost 2 hours & we didn't arrive at the hotel until just after 2 am. Check in was very quick & arrival at our room was good. We were in the village side in a bungalow.

The village side has it's own pool & bar but for all other amenities you have to go over to the hotel.

Buffet - breakfast, lunch & dinner there is a lot to choose from & I saw many people pilling their plates high. You won't starve here but the food does all start to taste the same. They have 1 a la carte which you actually only have a choice of two main meals which you have to order at time of booking. I was under the impression from the website there was the option of more a la carte but this wasn't the case so ended up eating a lot.

The hotel on a whole was cleaned well. However for 5 days of our 7 day stay there was a slice of pizza & bottle of water left on the steps leading to our room.

The animation team was shockingly poor! Fine for entertaining little kids but nothing really for adults & as we had a few bad days weather it would have been nice for them to arrange something!

There were also a few British weddings taking place - this is no reflection on the hotel but these guests were very loud, rude & over bearing!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelyholidaysSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
#8 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Property: Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing