We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked 2 weeks in early May at the Mirabello via RCI to use up some points.
Previous RCI exchanges we have used had been dire so we were a little concerned at what we would find but we needn’t have worried.
We booked Sat to Sat but actually travelled out from LGW (easyJet) on Sunday afternoon and returned on Fri at midnight to save money on the flights.
Flying time was under 4 hours and we transited to the resort with Holidaytaxis.com. This is a pre-booked coach that runs to several resorts, dropping off passengers along the way. The whole procedure was very efficient and at under £40 for 2 both ways, very good value. The journey time was about 90mins, longer than for a taxi but cheaper.

Checking in to the Mirabello at 0100 we obviously didn’t see much of the resort until the morning. We found ourselves in a v nice duplex with a view from our balcony, between other units, of Agios Nicholaos harbour and a lemon tree within easy reach. The grounds were beautifully maintained and some of the units had their very own infinity pools right by their doors. Never actually saw anyone using them but it was early in their season.
We were across the road from the main hotel and restaurants but a footbridge links the 2 sites.
Most guests seemed to be on all-inclusive or half-board deals so could sample the restaurants better than us. We had only occasional breakfasts or self-catered in our apartment. The breakfasts were the usual buffets of cooked and continental options but for €6 a head offered exceptional value so you could stoke up and last all day.
There was indoor seating and open terraces for dining and poolside bars so all eating options are available. There are 2 beaches, one sandy by the hotel's own marina (only 1 cruiser moored there in early May) and another shingle beach beyond the volleyball court. Many loungers and umbrellas are supplied free to residents compared with €7 on public beaches.
The usual hotel activities or animations as they call them are offered for families but these weren’t being used by many as it was early in the season and the demographic was older couples or those with very young children. Sometimes the music being played was a bit intrusive but on the shingle beach you couldn’t hear it too much. There were also canoes and jetskis for hire at the watersports centre within the complex.
The main Reception area was very spacious and all staff were friendly and professional. We had to use their pc and printer to print off something for our booking and they were very accommodating.
In our unit we had sleeping for 4 if needed but the facilities were a little sparse for self-catering. The fridge was big enough for 2 and some little milk cartons were left for us, a decent kettle and a toaster, crockery and cutlery but oddly no knives for spreading stuff on toast. There is an on-site supermarket for beachey things and another one opposite the main hotel entrance and on the same side of the road as the Village units. A little pricey but very handy, well-stocked and friendly.
There is a hairdryer in the bathroom which was a good size and well equipped.
One omission is the lack of drawer space – the bedside units are simple tables and there are none in the fitted wardrobes. The only drawer is in the tv table unit and very shallow.
The tv is a modern flat screen Samsung but there are virtually no English broadcasts other than Sky News and BBC World news. There is a good-sized safe in the wardrobe and the FREE wifi works just about everywhere and was well appreciated by us.
The rooms were kept clean and tidy by the maids with linen changes about every other day.
The hotel has extensive grounds which are beautifully kept and offer lovely views of the area the higher you climb from the marina. There is even a lovely little church on the site, floodlit tennis courts, a kids club and outdoor theatre. Several wedding parties were held there.

The town of Ag Nic is easily walkable (less than 30 mins) depending on distractions on the way and how far into the town you venture. Otherwise there are buses into town, or to Elounda in the other direction. Worth a visit by the way. We walked there (several hours on a main road but excellent views) and got the bus back. The local buses are actually luxury air-conditioned coaches – way better than anything we get in England and the fares are ridiculously cheap. There are always several Mercedes taxis waiting outside Reception as well.
There are 2 hire car firms within walking distance. We used K? and got a Panda for 2 days for €50 but I’m sure Economy were offering similar deals. An English bloke works at Economy so no language issues there.
If you hire a car and want to do the boat trip from Ag Nic to Spinalonga Island (recommended) get a discount on the ticket price at the car hire places – it’ll pay for the beers on board the boat.

If you are not full board at the Mirabello there are many excellent eating places nearby and in Ag Nic town where you can sample Greek style food. Stavros run by Maria (“No problem”) is really cheap and good quality and her raki is superb. Also very friendly is Diogenes(?) both are just a few minutes walk down the hill.
There are many restaurants to choose from in the town offering a more sophisticated and expensive experience, but you are bound to find one you like. If you easily tire of being hassled by front of house guys avoid those by the Lake in the town although it is a very pleasant place to sit and watch the world go by.
Sometimes a cruise ship calls by so the daytime population increases by a few hundred but they have sailed away by 5pm. Our favourite restaurant was on the other side of town, right by the waters edge near the main Marina, called Ellas (the LL is an upside down V in Greek) it is run by a delightful chap called Apostolides who has a quirky sense of humour and occasionally rides off on a moped to deliver pizzas. His fabulous peppered steaks are like no other and the souvlaki is excellent too.
In May the town was relatively quiet and laid back but I imagine things get a bit hectic in high season so visitors may get a different impression to what we found.

I needed an emergency haircut whilst there and Georgia gave me the best haircut I have had in a long while. She works in the Spa but we didn’t use the Spa for anything else.

Sadly we bade our farewells and boarded the Holidaytaxi coach back to Heraklion for the midnight flight home. This airport is in serious need of an upgrade. We dumped our hold suitcase on the weighing conveyor as we’ve done a million times before at airports, had our boarding cards and passports checked and strolled off to waste some time before the flight. Suddenly I was aware that the check in girl was calling my name and chasing me across the terminal. Apparently I was supposed to then carry my suitcase to the Xray area a few yards away. When she had told us about the Xray Area C or whatever it was I assumed she meant the usual security check that passengers go through. A bit embarrassing.
Anyway it gave us something to laugh about in this dreadful airport (bottle of Bombay Sapphire in Duty Free €25 – I don’t think so!)
So in short a very good holiday in a lovely hotel/resort on a beautiful island.
Will we go back – you betcha!

Room Tip: Select the Village rather than the high rise hotel block for peace and quiet. If you have mobility...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alfamanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,714)
There are newer reviews for Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel was lovely, it was ideal as it was on the beach.
Easy check in.
Good selection of drinks and food.
Hotel never seemed overcrowded.
Plenty of sun loungers.
Beach towels provided.
Hotel and gardens very clean.

Room Tip: Floor 6 has good view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank juestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from 2 week all inclusive holiday @ the mirabello hotel. 6th-21st July , Can't really say enough about the hotel , staff and even the thomson rep......
The only failing overall was the very poor wifi , which was so unreliable throughout our two week stay.
Well done guys , hope to ee you next year :-)

Les & barb Wilson. ( bedfordshire )

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recently returned from a 2 week all inclusive stay. Room was clean and tidy with a daily maid service. Linen/towels changed 3 times a week. Beach towels are also provided. Mini fridge topped up daily with bottled water, fruit juice and soft drinks. Lovely views from the hotel, surrounded by mountains with the port of Agios Nikolaos just a 15/20 min walk away. Very pleasant staff who were always happy to help. A bit disappointed with the evening entertainment. Mainly in-house but lacking in quality and a bit dis-organised. Large contingency of Eastern Europeans who preferred not to say 'please' or 'thank you' and were adverse to queuing

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Taras T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just back from a 1 week stay at the Mirabello. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a maisonette in the village...with full sea view...which was amazing. I might have reveiwed differently had we been in the hotel as booked though...we made use of the courtesy room the day we left as the decor and bathroom did look very tired and in need of refurbishment. Anyway based on our accomodation the maisonette was lovely and serviced every day. The main hotel areas were also immaculate as were the surrounding outside grounds, pool, bars etc. Our half board basis gave us the option of having either lunch or an evening meal which was good, and the food was excellent. The transfer from the airport on arrival was supposed to be 1 1/2, but actually took 21/2 as it depended on how many drop offs there were on the way. Don't be put off though as the hotel location near to , but not in, Ag Nik it's self was ideal.The hotel entertainment was better some nights than others but wholely adequate. An evening in Ag Nik is essential...and if you want a lively evening with great cocktails head for Alexzandros....just head for the music by the lake! Lastly generally the staff were very helpful albeit the bar staff a bit abrupt. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely sea view for the main hotel, away from road noise at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a 5 day stay at the hotel and was really pleased. We got an upgrade to the bungalow with the private pool which was a huge bonus.The food was excellent even though the quality of drinks/cocktails can be improved.The staff was very friendly and our son(5 year old) was happy at the kids club. the rooms are well serviced and so is the whole village/hotel area.It has good access to the agios town if you are planning to venture out and there are lots of taxis available outside the hotel. The only negative point was the music program in the main hotel was a bit on the loud side, one particular night and t went on till well after midnight which wasn't great for the children's sleep.
all in all it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay and especially the buffet provided and would definitely recommend this resort for anyone especially families with small children

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ann_tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Recently got back from a week half board in the Mirabello, was a lovely hotel but definitely not 5* more high 3 low 4.
The room wasn't as great as we expected for the hotel rating, however was clean and functional with room service visiting daily. Our 'garden view' room wasn't particularly fantastic as it was more a view of the hotels back-up generator and it's surrounding wall. The generator kicked in a fair bit whilst we were there, and it was fair to say it's noisy and put us off sitting on our balcony.
The food in the hotel was ok, nothing special, the buffet did offer a wide choice but was very sameish as can be expected from any hotel buffet. Drinks were expensive in comparison to surrounding places 2.5€ for a small glass of coke. The best priced drink really was the wine, however it was cheap wine and the white resembled what I imagine paint stripper to taste like. The bar just at the end of the drive was much cheaper and friendlier.
Mostly the staff were friendly, a few of the older staff seemed disinterested and quite rude but mainly staff were ok.
The pools and beach area of the hotels were always pretty clean, there wasn't really too much of a problem with reserving sun loungers but we did visit at a quiet time.
The location of the hotel makes it a very 'all inclusive' place. The walk into town is doable, but tiring on arrival. It's also not a particularly pleasant walk as most buildings in between are closed down,
abandoned or incomplete. The taxi into town was 6€ but with little to do in the hotels surrounding area it soon mounts up.
We travelled with Thompson, the hotels rep was very friendly and helpful and had good availability. The flights and transfers had no issues and all ran smoothly.
The hotel was advertised as ideal for couples, it definitely isn't. It was our first holiday together so we wanted it to be quite quiet and pleasant. It was far from it, the hotel was full of German and Eastern European families, with the children running free doing as they pleased whilst the parents sat drinking.
The pools, beaches and bars always had a child presence, meaning there wasn't really anywhere to sit away from them and the mini disco could be heard from the hotel rooms.
Like any hotel the walls were thin but we could hear everything next door and above, with next door been a family with a baby, the crying could be heard throughout the night and was enough to wake us up, neither of us are particularly light sleepers. The noise from above also woke us every morning, meaning we couldn't lie in if we wanted to.
The hotel also has in dependant photographers based there, who on our first night involuntarily took our picture as we were walking down to dinner then dragged us off around the hotel ground for a 'photoshoot'. Then bugged us for the rest of the holiday to buy his photos. Understandable if we'd booked in with him to have them done but we hadn't. Even after saying no he still pestered to the point we were hiding from him and finding alternative routes around so not to see him. In a way we felt this ruined the holiday as we couldn't really relax knowing he could pop up at any moment.
The games room was fairly limited and at least one machine was broken each time we went in.
All of this said the hotel has just been taken over so mostly could just be teething problems. It can be seen on all the awards displayed on the wall the hotel has gone down hill a little this year (previously gold awards are now silver awards etc)

All in all the hotel was what you'd expect from a 3* resort 4 at a push. It's definitely more suited to all inclusive customers. We paid a discounted price for the holiday (was an offer with Thompson at the time) and with this price I felt we got what we paid for. I definitely wouldn't have paid full price for it.
We still enjoyed the holiday, and being our first together it taught us a lot about what we wanted and didn't want. We concluded this sort of hotel wasn't and probably won't be returning.
But for anyone that wants to live on a resort next to a pool for a week or two this is definitely the place for you.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank ejs6594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
936 reviews
20.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
862 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £66 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing