We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Lovely hotel arrived late sand which left which was nice . Not much to complain about but there was one thing that did spoil my 50 th birthday holiday and that was the photographer which was In house. You would think when you told him on the first nite you did not want your picture taken that would b it. But not this guy every nite he would try and he even would creep up and try take one. It go so bad that ever time we seen him we would try and move before he came. Spoiled my holiday. Sort this guy out .!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fee1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    496
    167
    63
    20
See reviews for
522
800
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

There were a couple of things that could be improved upon but other than that i really enjoyed my time here. When we arrived at the hotel it was around 1am (It was about 2 hours transfer from the airport), the staff at the reception were still happy to help us and explained everything with a smile. The room was lovely and we had a great view of the sea from our balcony, but we thought the walls might have been a little thin as you could sometimes hear your neighbours walking around or whatever. The entertainment and music there was great but that also could sometimes keep you awake as it echoed through the halls. The food we had there was lovely, there was a good choice on the buffet and they had a mix of traditional foods, pasta, pizza etc so there was always something to try and enjoy. We loved that the hotel had it's own beach and spent quite some time enjoying the sun on being in the lovely clear sea. They had activities going on around the hotel like football and exercise classes that you could join in with. It was only about a 20 minute walk to Agios Nikolaos - the staff at reception gave us a map and showed us how to get there. The only other fault was that the Wifi was dreadfully slow at times and although we didnt really need to use it, if i wanted to send a picture to my friends it would take quite a long time! All in all though my husband and I had a brilliant time!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca13WP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location, incredible water color. Friendly staff, ok food, too much noise emission by the animation team (called music), social integration easy if you speak Russian. Nice strolls in area, good bus connection. Nice Agios Nikolaios nearby.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nidelbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Mirabello facility and grounds are very nice but the service should be improved by upgrading a few details and by pursuing further staff training and development. Here is our list of pros and cons.

Pluses:
+ Beach. The beach, even if small, is fantastic and ideal for kids. Considering that the north of Crete gets very windy and the sea has lots of waves, it is really a bliss to have the quiet shallow waters of the bay in Mirabello. We drove also to other beaches but between factors like no sand, rocky waters or too many waves/wind, we concluded that our beach was by far the best for our child. This alone is a factor to choose Mirabello, if you have kids.
+ Rooms. Our maisonette was great, the upper room was fantastic, bright and airy, and the terrace was large, offering a beautiful view of the bay. The room downstairs was more gloomy, maybe because there was less light, but in general the maisonette was a very good choice
+ There was a bar right at the beach, making it very convenient for refreshments and cocktails. Usually very quick, as there were never many people at the beach
+ Agios Nikolaos is relatively close (a 3 min cab ride or a bit of a walk) and there are some good restaurants on the way (probably even better than the ones in the center).
+ The reservations department is very efficient and accommodating for special requests

The minuses:
- The service in general needs improvement. Even though some of the staff was very friendly and professional (the reception girls and specific waiters at the restaurant), some others were quite unskilled or even truly incompetent. A few examples:
a) As I had to work a few mornings, it happened that my girlfriend and child were alone at the beach. The hotel has two beaches…Often there were no beds available in the sandy beach (even thought there was plenty of space) but there were many free beds in the pebbles beach, a bit further away. Every time my girlfriend asked the staff for a bed in the sandy beach, the answer was just “no beds available” … so my girlfriend would carry it from the pebbles beach herself, while the staff would just keep quietly seating without helping
b) some staff at the restaurant was very slow and inefficient. One waiter that was particularly unskilled and unpleasant, one time was serving milk on the table but doing it from the top of our child. Not from the right, as it should be, but literally from the top. And as the child moved and looked up (to see what was going on above his head), the waiter consequently spilled milk on him. And went away without even apologizing. Only when I got up and gave him an angry look, he apologized.
c) one day, coming back to the room, the cleaning lady was standing at the door while talking/shouting on the phone and not letting us in, as she was so engaged in her phone discussion … we kept looking at her astonishingly for what seemed a couple of minutes, till we finally could enter
We have more bad service examples but will save your time... Ask us if you are interested. Also it seemed that the general mood of the staff was quite down, unlike some of the resorts where you do feel the enjoyment of the staff
- Cleaning. The floor was washed with a bad detergent (or with already too dirty water) leaving a very unpleasant smell. Invariably, when entering the room, instead of feeling the smell of cleaning, we had to immediately open the windows and get fresh air. However, it did look clean.
- Internet. Very poor and slow connection in the rooms. It would take several minutes to upload a photo, if it succeeded...
- The cocktails at the bar at night, during the animation time, did not convince at all. Also the wine in the room-service was mediocre. They should have a few better options available, even if for a higher price, leaving it up to the guest to decide

Neutral items:
-> The food was OK but could be improved with more dishes cooked on the spot (on the grill or in the pan). Aside from the pre-made buffet, and in regards to the grill, usually there was one fish type (not very tasty) and one ‘meat’ that tended to be kebab or sausage or other low quality meat. A couple of times (in a week) there was grilled turkey and chicken, fresh and tasty.
-> Beware that the hotel is a good 50 min/1hour away from the airport and from the port of Heraklion. About 75/80EUR each way.

Finally, a special note … I had to work online for a few days due to a couple of emergencies, several hours a day, and the hotel manager was very kind to make the conference hall available for me and a dedicated internet line, with no charge. This was very appreciated.

All in all the facility, the grounds, the beach, and some of the staff were great, that is why we rate it a 4... This was just partially spoiled by poor service and relatively average food. The Hotel management should keep an eye on it and take action sooner, rather than later.

Room Tip: The maisonette is great for 4 and ideal if you still want to have some privacy within your accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Masha_and_luckybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We booked 2 weeks in early May at the Mirabello via RCI to use up some points.
Previous RCI exchanges we have used had been dire so we were a little concerned at what we would find but we needn’t have worried.
We booked Sat to Sat but actually travelled out from LGW (easyJet) on Sunday afternoon and returned on Fri at midnight to save money on the flights.
Flying time was under 4 hours and we transited to the resort with Holidaytaxis.com. This is a pre-booked coach that runs to several resorts, dropping off passengers along the way. The whole procedure was very efficient and at under £40 for 2 both ways, very good value. The journey time was about 90mins, longer than for a taxi but cheaper.

Checking in to the Mirabello at 0100 we obviously didn’t see much of the resort until the morning. We found ourselves in a v nice duplex with a view from our balcony, between other units, of Agios Nicholaos harbour and a lemon tree within easy reach. The grounds were beautifully maintained and some of the units had their very own infinity pools right by their doors. Never actually saw anyone using them but it was early in their season.
We were across the road from the main hotel and restaurants but a footbridge links the 2 sites.
Most guests seemed to be on all-inclusive or half-board deals so could sample the restaurants better than us. We had only occasional breakfasts or self-catered in our apartment. The breakfasts were the usual buffets of cooked and continental options but for €6 a head offered exceptional value so you could stoke up and last all day.
There was indoor seating and open terraces for dining and poolside bars so all eating options are available. There are 2 beaches, one sandy by the hotel's own marina (only 1 cruiser moored there in early May) and another shingle beach beyond the volleyball court. Many loungers and umbrellas are supplied free to residents compared with €7 on public beaches.
The usual hotel activities or animations as they call them are offered for families but these weren’t being used by many as it was early in the season and the demographic was older couples or those with very young children. Sometimes the music being played was a bit intrusive but on the shingle beach you couldn’t hear it too much. There were also canoes and jetskis for hire at the watersports centre within the complex.
The main Reception area was very spacious and all staff were friendly and professional. We had to use their pc and printer to print off something for our booking and they were very accommodating.
In our unit we had sleeping for 4 if needed but the facilities were a little sparse for self-catering. The fridge was big enough for 2 and some little milk cartons were left for us, a decent kettle and a toaster, crockery and cutlery but oddly no knives for spreading stuff on toast. There is an on-site supermarket for beachey things and another one opposite the main hotel entrance and on the same side of the road as the Village units. A little pricey but very handy, well-stocked and friendly.
There is a hairdryer in the bathroom which was a good size and well equipped.
One omission is the lack of drawer space – the bedside units are simple tables and there are none in the fitted wardrobes. The only drawer is in the tv table unit and very shallow.
The tv is a modern flat screen Samsung but there are virtually no English broadcasts other than Sky News and BBC World news. There is a good-sized safe in the wardrobe and the FREE wifi works just about everywhere and was well appreciated by us.
The rooms were kept clean and tidy by the maids with linen changes about every other day.
The hotel has extensive grounds which are beautifully kept and offer lovely views of the area the higher you climb from the marina. There is even a lovely little church on the site, floodlit tennis courts, a kids club and outdoor theatre. Several wedding parties were held there.

The town of Ag Nic is easily walkable (less than 30 mins) depending on distractions on the way and how far into the town you venture. Otherwise there are buses into town, or to Elounda in the other direction. Worth a visit by the way. We walked there (several hours on a main road but excellent views) and got the bus back. The local buses are actually luxury air-conditioned coaches – way better than anything we get in England and the fares are ridiculously cheap. There are always several Mercedes taxis waiting outside Reception as well.
There are 2 hire car firms within walking distance. We used K? and got a Panda for 2 days for €50 but I’m sure Economy were offering similar deals. An English bloke works at Economy so no language issues there.
If you hire a car and want to do the boat trip from Ag Nic to Spinalonga Island (recommended) get a discount on the ticket price at the car hire places – it’ll pay for the beers on board the boat.

If you are not full board at the Mirabello there are many excellent eating places nearby and in Ag Nic town where you can sample Greek style food. Stavros run by Maria (“No problem”) is really cheap and good quality and her raki is superb. Also very friendly is Diogenes(?) both are just a few minutes walk down the hill.
There are many restaurants to choose from in the town offering a more sophisticated and expensive experience, but you are bound to find one you like. If you easily tire of being hassled by front of house guys avoid those by the Lake in the town although it is a very pleasant place to sit and watch the world go by.
Sometimes a cruise ship calls by so the daytime population increases by a few hundred but they have sailed away by 5pm. Our favourite restaurant was on the other side of town, right by the waters edge near the main Marina, called Ellas (the LL is an upside down V in Greek) it is run by a delightful chap called Apostolides who has a quirky sense of humour and occasionally rides off on a moped to deliver pizzas. His fabulous peppered steaks are like no other and the souvlaki is excellent too.
In May the town was relatively quiet and laid back but I imagine things get a bit hectic in high season so visitors may get a different impression to what we found.

I needed an emergency haircut whilst there and Georgia gave me the best haircut I have had in a long while. She works in the Spa but we didn’t use the Spa for anything else.

Sadly we bade our farewells and boarded the Holidaytaxi coach back to Heraklion for the midnight flight home. This airport is in serious need of an upgrade. We dumped our hold suitcase on the weighing conveyor as we’ve done a million times before at airports, had our boarding cards and passports checked and strolled off to waste some time before the flight. Suddenly I was aware that the check in girl was calling my name and chasing me across the terminal. Apparently I was supposed to then carry my suitcase to the Xray area a few yards away. When she had told us about the Xray Area C or whatever it was I assumed she meant the usual security check that passengers go through. A bit embarrassing.
Anyway it gave us something to laugh about in this dreadful airport (bottle of Bombay Sapphire in Duty Free €25 – I don’t think so!)
So in short a very good holiday in a lovely hotel/resort on a beautiful island.
Will we go back – you betcha!

Room Tip: Select the Village rather than the high rise hotel block for peace and quiet. If you have mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alfamanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Hotel was lovely, it was ideal as it was on the beach.
Easy check in.
Good selection of drinks and food.
Hotel never seemed overcrowded.
Plenty of sun loungers.
Beach towels provided.
Hotel and gardens very clean.

Room Tip: Floor 6 has good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just returned from 2 week all inclusive holiday @ the mirabello hotel. 6th-21st July , Can't really say enough about the hotel , staff and even the thomson rep......
The only failing overall was the very poor wifi , which was so unreliable throughout our two week stay.
Well done guys , hope to ee you next year :-)

Les & barb Wilson. ( bedfordshire )

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
527 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
810 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#1 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Property: Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing