We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Great Surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a Great Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Well - I don't normally book package holidays however in May we decided that this year we would take a short break in August (oh my word - but it was our wedding anniversary!) It had to be a short(isn) flight as we wanted to take our son his wife and our granddaughter (8 months old). So somewhere we had not been before - Crete - yes that will do. Checking the internet - we found this hotel - all inclusive with 'First Choice' (never used then before). I have to say it was with some trepidation that I boarded the flight from Exeter - the run up to the trip had disturbed me a little - I normally have everything covered - API - seats on the aircraft - no - not this time - wasn't possible and I had to wait for check in to be allocated our positions.
Anyway - the hotel - first off the not so good - not a lot to say here - but -
There are two beaches - one 'shingle' the other sand - if you want to be on these then go early otherwise you won't 'bag' a bed! I went on the 'shingle' beach for about half an hour one day - my view is that it is awful - cramped - uncomfortable sun beds - and everyone seems to be a smoker - which is fine if you are a smoker - not so good if your not and have a small person with you - we decided it was not good at all and moved on! Other than that - well - not a lot at all in the bad or not so good area - so the rest of it!
Hotel is large and modern, well equipped rooms of a reasonable size and as you would expect 'air con' is in place. Large comfortable beds (some may find them hard but it was perfect for me). A fridge with daily soft drinks top up. Great view from the balcony of the sea.
Food and drink - all inclusive for us here and it was worth it - we were looked after very well by the friendly staff - and the food quality was pretty good! There was food available (it seemed) all day - so you will never be hungry at this place.
The pool - again great - lots of room and a swim up bar should you require refreshment!
Poolside sun beds are comfortable - be warned, get up early and get your spot - you can imagine the hotel was very full in August - so - be warned!
Everyone was great to us from the manager (Maria) to Nikolias the restaurant manager - to the bar staff -
So - in short - this place is great - I can only say well done to the staff and thanks for a great week!

Room Tip: See above for the sun beds - early start!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bapsy3732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    476
    164
    60
    20
See reviews for
503
766
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for a week 1/2 board in August as a family. There is a good variety and quantity of food, you may also swap to lunch if you decide to eat out, even my very fussy 17 yr old ate well. The rooms are clean and plenty of clean towels. The staff are very helpful and friendly although more bar staff and more professional entertainment might be an improvement. The hotel is definitely not 5* and I probably wouldn't return BUT we had a lovely week and the children had a ball with daily and evening activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 48AJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My partner and I, a mid 20’s professional couple stayed at the Mirabello week commencing 21st June for 7 nights. Overall we had a lovely stay. The staff are lovely can’t do enough for you. We stayed here for our year anniversary and we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and a fresh fruit platter. A lovely touch.

We were allocated in the village. If you are travelling as a couple you MUST ask to stay here. The main part of the hotel is very loud and full of children, which is fine it is a family hotel. The village side has its own pool which most of the time was tranquil and peaceful (as this was mainly couples) it’s not a written rule but a few people did bring their children away from the kids pool, which spoils it for the mature guests seeking a relaxing moment. Rather annoying and did cause altercations with several guests. Parents – please try and have some respect for other guests and keep children in the child friendly area.

The beach is disappointing. bit rocky in places.

Room was nice and spacious, cleaned daily, fresh towels and linen. Marble bathroom unusual for Greece but greatly appreciated. Not a 5* more an English 3/4. We requested a room with a view and looked out over wasteland.

Hotel has wifi but don't expect it work in your room.

Food – I suffer with a severe nut allergy which has been and continues to be an issue with buffet style food. The maître de was fantastic and went through every dish with me 3 time a day. However we did have a slip up one night whereby a cake I was advised was nut free had nuts in it. Be careful if you or your children especially suffer with allergies. The hotel were very apologetic and gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly as a sorry. Cakes are not made on site so they can’t be 100% on ingredients.

The Al,carte option is rather disappointing. 2 dishes to choose from on the alternate nights. Don’t bother.

Food is varied and offers a lot of greek dishes. We did however eat out a few times in nearby Agios Nickolaos. A must see and some great little restaurants around the lake. Approx. 50-60 euros for a 2 course meal for 2 with wine, breads & starters. A 6 euro taxi , worth getting instead of waiting for the bus at practically the same cost.

The hotel were doing their promotional photographs whilst we were there and we did get roped into helping them out. So you may see us soon! The hotel set up a ‘’honey moon’’ table for the shoot one night on the clifftop which we had the benefit of using after the shoot had finished, yet again the hotel gave us more free bubbles and cocktails (both not on the all inclusive list)

Overall we had a nice holiday.

Would we return – No. To many children for our liking. When booking a spa hotel you expect an element of tranquillity & peace. Not a 5*, better hotels available at the price paid.

Recommendation for the hotel – keep the village pool as an adult only area, many guests were annoyed by screaming splashing children.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SDMReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Having had a very enjoyable five star holiday in the Dominican republic last year we eagerly awaited our five star visit to Crete this year, blimey! someone needs to re-evaluate this hotel, its nowhere near five star, but the cost is. we were given a room at the back of the hotel (209) with a garden view more a view of back service road and metal chimney's, why when we are more than happy to pay for a lovely room with a sea view at the front to help make our holiday memorable for the right reasons
The staff were very pleasant and I must say the hotel and room were very clean, but the food lacked variety and imagination, we marked the hotel average because that's what it was, but we paid for five star which it was not

Room Tip: try to get a room high up with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 526phillipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

For what this cost for a week for a 5* hotel we were extremely disappointed. The bungalow room although big was tired and dated. Although harsh i think i have stayed in equally as nice 3* -rooms. Some areas of the hotel were lovely the bar reception and dining hall. The main pool area was okay but the pool water was freezing, and this was the case with both pools. Although a lot of people moaned nothing was ever done during our week stay to rectify this problem. The food was good with a good variety on offer and something different each night, however you could wait upwards of half an hour to order and receive a drink as staff were sparse and running around clueless. This also applies to the bar area, staff were often flapping and we often had to go to the bar to order, which for a 5* hotel should not be the case orders should be taken from the table. Overall a disappointing stay and it has put us off Greece in general .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff in all departments of the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The resort itself was lovely - 2 private beaches (one sandy, one pebbly) were clean and we were always able to find sunbeds (or were able to move beds). The food was good. Lots of choice every night and some themed nights too. Went on two trips -Spinalonga & Knossos. We were lucky to have Maria as our guide who was very knowledgeable and her pride in Crete came across. Knosso trip was a bit rushed and we didn't get time to have a good look round.

My only complaint was our room (209). I had chosen not to pay for a sea view as the standard rooms were stated as garden view. What we actually had was two silver chimneys directly in front of our balcony which were attached to some mechanism below which turned on and off all through the day. Not really a garden view. Although it did not affect us too much as we spent only a small amount of daylight hours in our room. I feel that charging the same for this room as those above us (up to 4 floors higher with a much better view of Ag Nick) is not really on and I was really rather disappointed as this was a Thomson Platinum Holiday and I therefore expected better.

Make sure you book a sea view or a room on the 5th or 6th floors and you will have a great holiday. Crete is a beautiful island. I travelled with my 24 year old adult daughter.

Room Tip: High floor or pay for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdspey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

i have been there a lot of times but this year iberostar left from the hotel and dessole the new company has a lot of problems...
Food quality ??
Variety of food??
Animation team is absent....(deniz the last year animation team manager was perfect)
I hope to fix these problems...






  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikos2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
Blue Marine Resort & Spa
#8 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Property: Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing