We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, unfortunately the rest could be better!”
Review of Sgouros Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sgouros Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Agios Nikolaos B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of our holiday.

Positives
- excellent location, 5/10 mins and you are in the centre of Ag Nik. If you don't want to walk that far for food there are plenty of restaurants in the immediate area.
- good spacious bedroom with lots of storage and a safe.
- If you get a room with a balcony you have a nice view of Kritoplatia beach and the coastline.

Negatives
- The standards of cleanliness left a lot to be desired. When we unpacked we tried to put some clothes on the shelf at the bottom of the nightstand, big mistake as they ended up covered in dust. The lights in the room had cobwebs around them and the floor was filthy. We had noticed the dirt and dust in the corners of the room but after spilling some water on the floor we mopped it up with a white towel, when we had finished the towel was no longer white but black and filthy.

- The bathroom really needed updating so that the fixtures and fitting were of the same standard as the bedroom. The shower head in our bathroom no longer attached to the wall, an attempt to fix it with masking tape had been made but it wasn't successful. The bathroom itself was TINY and the space hadn't been used very well.

- There is no AC on the ground floor of the hotel where the reception, breakfast room and lounge is so it gets very very hot in summer. This wouldn't usually be a major problem but the milk that is being served for breakfast isn't kept cold, the result being that you have hot milk on your cereal. After this we didn't bother getting up for breakfast again!

- There wasn't always somebody on reception, certain receptionists preferred to spend their time sat outside in the cafe instead of at the desk. For us this wasn't a problem as we didn't need to speak to anybody but other guests had left their keys at reception so they didn't lose them. These keys were just left on the top of the desk for anybody to pick up, as they had the room number also written on this wasn't very good security wise.

All in all its a real shame that the negatives outweigh the positives, this could be a really nice hotel in a pleasant and quiet part of Ag Nik.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmgallag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

This Hotel is a good choice if you want to relax for a weekend, its almost at the center of Ag. Nikolaos , its very quit ( February- I dont know how it is at the Summertime), the rooms are refreshed, and clean, the breakfast was not something special but it was good and rich.
It was the second time we had been there.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OXIMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

We settled on booking our stay at the Sgorous Hotel because they offered a very low rate, and based on other reviews we thought SH was the best choice among hotels available in Agios Nikolaos during the off season.

For starters, SH is conveniently located on a dead end road with restaurants to the left and to the right with Kitroplatia Beach just steps away. The appearance of the hotel reflects that of a family-run boutique. (Which, by the way, the staff/family was friendly and accommodated our needs well.) The lobby, TV corner, and cafe area were nicely decorated with simple, modern, boutique-style furniture and colorful accents on the walls.

The hotel room (a double room which really was 2 twins pushed together) was nicely decorated, but the space was small. However, we managed to work with the space given. Plus, we were out site-seeing all day and only used the room to sleep and shower. The bathroom was small and very limited on space as well. The sink practically sat in your lap while using the toilet. The shower was cramped and only allowed enough space to just stand under the shower head. This made it difficult to maneuver around to reach for the bottle of shampoo on the shower floor.

What saved us from suffering from claustrophobia was the room's balcony. If you stay here, you MUST book a room with a sea view. It made the stay a little more pleasant. The balcony offers views of Kitroplatia Beach, a distant island, and the restaurants that line the beach area. We personally enjoyed the balcony since it allowed us to fall asleep to the sounds of the sea. Plus, it was hot in the room and we had to crack the door to allow some cool air into the room.

A simple, greek-style breakfast was offered. It included coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, cheese, sliced ham, tomatoes, cucumbers, and assorted breads.

Overall, the experience of our stay was satisfactory. The hotel served our needs and the staff was friendly. We would stay here again during the off season. However, during prime tourist season, we would probably seek out a hotel that offered more amenities such as a resort in nearby Elounda.

LIKES:
- very reasonable room rate
- view from balcony
- location on a dead end road
- served breakfast
- internet connection in room

DISLIKES:
- room and bathroom were too small
- room was really hot (we had no control of the heater)
- hair dryer didn't work properly

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_wandering_birds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2008

Really nice hotel very clean good position near enough to town but quiet road , could be noisier in summer with restaurants just across the road but no problem in September.Staff really good an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HantsHobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

My wife and I went to the Sgouros for a month. It is situated right at Kitroplatia Beach, 3 or 4 minutes walk from the port of Ag Nik. The room was of a reasonable size and had air conditioning / balcony overlooking the beach. A telephone is also provided.It is a quiet place even taking into consideration the beach is right outside.The maids came every day to us and linen was changed 3 times a week, and sometimes each day! Provision was made for breakfasting if required though we did not partake. It did look nice enough though. Outside the hotel, there is a walkway roughly 30 feet wide before you get onto the beach. On this footway are situated several restaurants which look onto the beach in front of the hote.The food on sale here is rather nice, especially from the fish restaurant. Would I go there again ? Well, yes I would - but on one condition!

On the fourth floor, there is a room occupied by a holiday representative. This lady is extremely aggressive and annoying. She considers the hotels sun balcony (for the use of guests) outside her room as her private area and does everything and anything to make you leave it,such as hanging her washing over the area.Complaints about this lady's behaviour went unanswered as she is a long stayer at the hotel. The lady's behaviour was so bad that she was in grave danger of being injured by a guest.

If this lady were removed from the hotel then I would go back. However, as long as she is there I would not touch the place with a barge pole - and I am not the only one.

  • Stayed: August 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClinicallyDepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Татьяна М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank saral013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.2 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#21 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
139 reviews
0 mi away
Mare-Olympus Apartments
Mare-Olympus Apartments
#2 of 34 in Agios Nikolaos
195 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ostria Apartments
Ostria Apartments
#2 of 4 in Ammoudara
45 reviews
2 mi away
Cretan Village Hotel
Cretan Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Amoudara
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgouros Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgouros Hotel

Address: N. Pagalou 3, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: £35 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sgouros Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sgouros Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sgouros Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Sgouros Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing