We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible hotel, STAY WELL CLEAR-Don't listen to the good reviews, as from reading them they are simply un-true.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mikro Village
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel, STAY WELL CLEAR-Don't listen to the good reviews, as from reading them they are simply un-true.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, we arrived early in the morning and were greeted by a grumpy door man, we were on a high floor and there was no lift, so we had to carry our heavy bags all the way up. When we got to our rooms, we discovered they were simply awful with mouldy bathrooms, ruined empty cabinets, dirty hobs, a tv which didnt work, and although we had already paid 200 pound for sea view, we got a view of unfinished buildings and couldn't really see the sea. Also the rooms were small, and had no towels. The phone didnt work to call reception, also the toilets didnt flush, the sink was blocked. It was amazing how awful it was, upon inspecting the pool, we saw cockroaches in it, and it was profusely dirty, and the water didnt seem to be chlorinated. After spending one night and one day there, we decided it wasn't for us. Although the bar man was nice, along with the manager trying to relocate us, everything else was poor. The bar was dirty, and the pool table was missing many balls and there was only one cue. The breakfast was awful, and the hotels gym was a collection of broken and rusting weights. Definitely not 3 stars, even though we were assured by the lady at the reception it was 3 and a half stars.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Truthteller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    45
    33
    24
    40
See reviews for
33
87
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This hotel unfortunately lacks any investment and is obviously run on a shoestring. The rooms are very tired, we paid for superior room and were disappointed by the lack of facilities and state of disrepair, mould etc. The pool area is in similar poor condition, there was little evidence of regular cleaning and we didn't want to use it or spend any time there. The hotel location is not ideal for the town (30 mins walk, 15 to nearest beach, not a particularly good one incidentally). Breakfast is of a poor quality and not worth bothering with. It's only saving grace is the staff who are helpful and try to make the best of the situation. My recommendation would be to only stay in this hotel if you get rooms for a very good price (try and book direct) and only want to stay for a day or 2.

Room Tip: Book another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henricus-Simon, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mikro Village, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay.

I feel sorry that you are tricked into buying a superior room by your tour-agent as we don't have them or sell them online. We are a nice 3 star hotel with all basic facilities for a great holiday break or a stop for a few days when you are exploring the great Island of Crete.

As mentioned on our website and all website we directly sell our rooms at; stays we are located on a hill on the outskirts of Agios Nikolaos and its a 10/15 min walk downhill to the lovely nearest sandy beach of Ammoudi with free sun-loungers and umbrella's for beach guest. From the beach its a 10 min walk among the promenade to the city center of Agios Nikolaos with its great bars - restaurants and shopping center. If the tour-agent promised you something else I would make a reclamation with the agent who sold you the holiday stay.

We thank you for the advice to future guest to book with the hotel directly, not only will you receive a better rate for your room because you skip the middle agent you also will have a better connection and interaction with the hotelier and will not be tricked into falls promises and a disappointment afterwards.

I hope that your stay at our hotel did not stop you from enjoying all the fantastic and beautiful sights of Crete and we hope you will visited Crete again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Henricus Roozendaal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agios Nikolaos hotels

Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Terrible!! We have been here from the 5 to 16 August 2013 and it was gruesome. The water of the bathroom and shower is SALTED! They do not clean the room, have changed the sheets 2 times in 11 days only after we asked for it at front desk. Same for the towel and toilet paper. We have been three times without water. Air conditioning is not included in the price, but as the insufficient quality of the service we have not paid it. The breakfast é ridicule and quality completely expires. At last the hotel is not safe: someone has stolen our friend's camera and other personal objects from their room! The hotel is also far away from the city center so you will need a car or a bike every day. Stay far away from this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grglrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henricus-Simon, General Manager at Hotel Mikro Village, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mrs Lerda,

I thank you for your Rant and would also take the time to respond on it.

First about the Salted water, it was clearly stated in several languages true the whole hotel visible for all guest that on the 8th of August between 11:00 and 18:00 o'clock we would be emptying the water reservoirs and cleaning the hotel water system. After that we advised the costumers to let the water run for 5 minutes and it would be sweet again. We do this every two months for guest safety reasons and hotels responsibility.

I feel sorry you did not read the description on the Expedia website about the hotel, as its clearly stated and available in 34 languages that the hotel is located on a hill on the outskirts of Agios Nikolaos and its a 10/15 min walk to the lovely first sandy beach of Ammoudi and a extra 10 min walks along the promenade to the city center of Agios with all its great restaurants and bars.
Also stated on the Expedia website and printed on your confirmation letter is that A/C is not included in the rate and the hotel charges 5 euro a day.

We have daily housekeeping and sheets and towels are changed every second day of your stay, this is controlled by our front desk and we guaranteed that.

About the stolen camera from your friend we already have the police reporting that there was nobody with a master-key in the near of there room at 9 o'clock in the morning and there is also no trace of breaking in at the hotel room and they just needed a paper from the police so they could claim some money back from there insurance.

We thank you for your rant and tripadvisor for the option to response on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILTON KEYNES
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hotel Mikro Village is clean and tidy staff attentive rooms need a make over.
The swimming pool area is lovely with a very good size pool and nice sun bathing areas.
Close to Agios Centre.Breakfast was self service with a good selection coffee was v good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WINEMAN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Visited this hotel for one night, since we needed a place to sleepover.
It location is good, only a small taxi-tour from the center of Agios Nikolaos.
The hotel has what you need and a little more. I must say that I don't think that this is a 3* hotel when it comes to the standard.
It is really old and worn out, but still functional. We arrived in the evening before sunset, and at that time the place just looked like a "ghost hotel". No staff in the bar. No sunchairs out. Nobody in the pool. Everything looked like it had been used at some point, but not anymore. It looked closed. There was nothing in the kitchen, only 2 glasses, so not really possible to cook if you don't bring yourself.
To the price and the purpuse we needed it, it was totally okey - but I would never stay here for more than a few days.

The breakfast that is included is really really poor! I didn't feel like eating any of it, since it looked like it had been out for days.

As a sleepover hotel it was good, and worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

the hotel is on its way to be a great hotel, the staff are amazing so kind and friendly, amazing i would say that the hotel is great to stay in and that i recommend the hotel. Also the loaction is on point if you want a hotel thats only a taxi away from the town then mikro village is the best place also, everyone in the village knows about mikro village and they will tell you how great it is ive never come across amazing staff in a hotel like that before.

Room Tip: family rooms have an amazing see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Mikro Village in June 2013, for a week's holiday. We were disappointed to be given a twin room despite requesting a double, and didn't find the staff particularly friendly or helpful (with the exception of the lovely pool barman) but the hotel provided reasonably good-quality budget accommodation. It's well-located and with good facilities - the pool is especially wonderful, and we enjoyed relaxing and swimming there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.8 mi away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#10 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Alantha Apartments Hotel
#21 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#24 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#26 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#27 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mikro Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mikro Village

Property: Hotel Mikro Village
Address: Xirokambos (Lassithi), Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mikro Village 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mikro Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mikro Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing