We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy travellers!”
Review of Pergola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pergola Hotel
Ranked #37 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happy travellers!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A small family operated business with Yiannis the owner for whom nothing is too much trouble. We were picked up from the bus station and delivered back at the end of our stay. Miguella , the receptionist speaks fluent English and is a scholar of Ancient Greek. Like Yannis she provides an excellent service. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean, the views are stunning and it is located in a central, though quiet location high on the hill, between the two beaches and all the eateries. A simple breakfast is available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    44
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
12
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel although small is very friendly and within walking distance of all aghios nikolaos attractions. Lovely and quiet. Worth. Visit and excellent value. Mr tannins the owner invited us for raki at a family get together and we were invited to a wedding. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners. On the negative side the bathroom is absolutely tiny and the shower is poor but this is the only thing to say negatively. This hotel is in fantastic situation. We paid for a room with a sea view on top floor and the views are amazing. Room 27.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subsequent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keminmaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Mr Pergola,Yiannis is very active to help customers,and very friendly.The other staff is not same level as last year. Somebody was smoked in the room after cleaning.Not so nice to us with child.
Peaceful and near everything at Agios Nikolaos.Very good sight to sea,and sunbeds on the roof very practical.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Mr. Yiannis, the owner, offers 'full service' hospitality to his guests. I am in a family room, writing the review, watching the sea. I had an excellent sleep in a full sized bed (seems rare in Greece to find a double bed) and there is hot water on demand in the room (the tank is above the shower so you can decide when you want to have a shower, not depend on solar heating of the water)..

There are no phones in the room. There is wifi. There is a safe in the room (#14).

Quiet location away from the bars yet a few minute walk to the action and center of town.

Curtains are not black out so carry your sleeping shades if you are sensitive to light.

The Tourist Office is open and is a good place for finding local information. All museums in the village are closed until April or May, despite their websites saying they are open.

Weather has been chilly so having heat in the room most appreciated but it's the service and Mr. Yiannis who makes this place special. Thank you!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are lovely and there are kitchenettes (hot plate/oven and fridge) in some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is by the sea and is hosted by the most friendly people in the world. Great breakfast and a great view. Super clean and comfortable. You won't be sorry booking at The Pergola. Easy walking distance to the town center. Mr. Yiannis Sgoyroy will make you feel at home in Crete. Going back for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. It's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Me and my son arrived here the 25th september late on and the room i was given had no balcony but it was late and i went to bed but the next morning i asked to be moved as i couldnt sit anywhere while my son was sleeping"! the owner moved us straight away to a bigger room! We had a massive fridge, good cooker etc and lovey wee space outside with a sea view! My 2 yr old son fell in love with Georgia and he and i liked yanni and the rest! They are nice people and we had a lovely time in here! All in we stayed 15days and i must say the beds where pretty comfortable! and rooms are cleaned EVERYDAY!

Location is good if you dont have walking problems due to stairs but the hotel is right beside the harbour so when theres cruise ships in you have a birdseye view!

Room Tip: Ask for 1 with a balcony i didnt pay extra for sea view but i had 1 all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tesscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keminmaa, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We are couple. We were the 9th time in Crete. Usually we stay in the west part of Crete,but now we visited in east part too.We lived in hotel Pergola,Agios Nikolaos. Hotel is very nice old house.
And the staff is so friendly as a man can be. Young lady in reception is like a candy,and very professional and helpful.Yiannis ,the man of the hotel,is helpful and very professional,and gentle,serving even breakfast some mornings.The room ,we stayed, was tiny,but the view is marvellous,excpesially in the mornings.Bathroom was normal,tiny but practical.
We came to the hotel one day before the booking day,and everything came organiced well,thanks to the young lady in reception(candy).Next time we don't even look other properties.

Room Tip: Upper rooms very nice view.Sunbeds free on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#35 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Creta Hotel
Creta Hotel
#24 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#32 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eleni Studios
Eleni Studios
#30 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#45 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola Hotel

Property: Pergola Hotel
Address: 20 Sarolidi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pergola Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pergola Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing