We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beach bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mylos Beach

Mylos Beach
Ranked #142 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great beach bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This restaurant is located right on the beach, unbelievable location! Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The menu has a good variety and the food is very good. Here you can really sit long and just enjoy the sea and all the people.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iisalmi, Finland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best beach restaurant for lunch at Platanias”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Well, we have stayed in Platanias with our family of two adults & 3 kids under 7 for three times now, currently staying here at Platanias.

Already during the first trip, when trying different lunch places, we found out that the best one, at least with the kids, was Mylos Beach.

Owner, the left guy at the photo first shown when looking Mylos Beach here at Tripadvisor, is a real thing! Genuine, open-hearted & honest fellow! Mylos is a real family restaurant, they are growing many of the materials themselves, on the other part of the Crete. Our daily rutine for the morning was get to the beach, have the sunbeds and always we were provided freshly squeezed orange juice for the whole family for free! Then, lunch around 1 oclock: a kids playground, scenic seaview and personal, friendly service. Food is normal tavern type, a lot of choices. Fish is usually frozen, won't have it. Mythos is the best beer!

Kids are served with ice cream for free for the dessert!

Normal bill for our family (many starters & some beer) was around 50 euros.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPOL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had a very nice sea bream, which the owner even offered to de-bone for me! The final "on the house" was a nice uncooked chocolate cake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chilled, friendly and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stroll along the beach from Platanias, or head down the little road next to the Chinese restaurant in Platanias and you get to Mylos Beach restaurant. The owner and his staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly without being intrusive. We spent a total of 4 evenings at this place with our toddler, and not once did we feel stressed or like we were a nuisance. One of the few reaturants in Platanias to serve fresh fish, we ate our grilled Sardines and fried Kalamari alongside the greek salad and house white, kicked off our flip flops under the table and watched the sun go down to the sound of crashing waves. Our toddler played happily in the little play area on the beach, and hung from the waiter's apron strings adoringly, after being given more ice creams than she could eat. The fish is excellent and the sweet chocolate cake with a shot or two of Rakomelo afterwards went down a treat each time. Our waiter, and now friend, Agron, was attentive and lovely and the owner always had kind words to say. Only good things to say about this place. Go there!! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scaredy-Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great beach spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Easy access, great traditional greek food. Family friendly and staff tries their best to speak the guests local language.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iminzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mylos Beach also viewed

Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
Platanias, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Mylos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing