We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuttlefish”
Review of Portes

Portes
Ranked #21 of 429 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This is a small family owned restaurant which has operated in the Old Harbour of Hania since 2004.We have recently moved to our new premises on the water front on Nea Hora Beach with ample seating along the beautiful harbour there.As you approach the restaurant you can't help but notice our charming decor featuring old doors as the name "PORTES" means doors.The Irish owner/chef offers her customers a blend of trend and tradition with her unique recipes catering for all tastes including local,greek,mediterranean,seafood,vegetarian and vegan options.All ingredients are fresh,seasonal,local and bought daily.Recipes are designed depending on the season and availability therefore be sure to checkout the blackboard displaying new dishes and daily specials.Here at"Portes" we open our doors each day to welcome our customers.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cuttlefish”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

If you like Octopus and squid you will love the cuttlefish. It was so tender with a mild lemon dressing, fantastic! We sat outside and my wife was chilly so they brought her a shawl, how special is that. We love Chania because of places and people like the ones at Portes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Darla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    820
    379
    87
    37
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A jewel among many other places”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

In a small area, with hundreds of restaurants vying for your attention, this one set itself apart. Not only was the service and food very nice, but we appreciated the relatively calm location. We actually ate there twice, we enjoyed it so much.
Thanks, Aris at Casa Delfino hotel, for the recommendation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neffies
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Worth a visit since the atmosphere in the small street adds to the experience. We had sea bream cooked in paper, superb, really moist and tasty. Service was about the same speed as at many Crete restaurants, but everything was cooked fresh. We prefer to wait for such quality. Only negative it does get a bit warm at lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor to average”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

It wasn't memorable and when something is forgettable it isn't that good! Maybe I chose badly...

A good atmosphere, decor was beautiful, service average, better meals and service elsewhere, I think. I do remember waiting a long while to be served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heather_junelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Opens a new door to cretan food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great atmosphere in this small narrow street. The decoration along the wall with wooden doors was beautiful. The food was amazingly delicious. I would like to go back to eat the same thing again... We had chicken with figs and potatoes (which was a special dish, they don't have it all the time), and lamb chops with french fries. The chicken was so good... it was one of the best dishes i had in Chania this year... And the desert was great too: small tarts filled with yogurt and candied grapes. Wonderful! We will definitely come back next time...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dendro53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portes also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 

Been to Portes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing