We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family run apartments”
Review of Aptera Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aptera Apartments
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Aptera Apartments are absolutely stunning. The rooms are huge and immaculate, the pool area is lovely and the views from the balcony were beautiful, you look over the whole of Souda Bay. To top all of that off Anna who runs the hotel is lovely and extremely helpful. We had a wonderful stay and would recommend it as the best accommodation in Aptera!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

I almost don't want to write this as more people will want to visit! Just got back from 2 weeks in a studio apartment in the Aptera apartments. All I can say is that this is a wonderful and reasonably priced place. The quality and cleanliness of the accommodation and surrounding area including the great pool is second to none. Everyone is so friendly with Anna (the owner and cleaner) either bringing us titbits such as fresh eggs, raki and biscuits as a treat. I can't recommend highly enough this place and will certainly book them again. We have been to Aptera on a number of occasions as its a place you want to keep going back to time and time again. The apartments are a 15 min walk into the village. I would strongly recommend Cretan Corner taverna for excellent hospitality and food. Suzzana the owner is a font of knowledge on anything you want to know.

Room Tip: A studio is more than enough for a couple. Every apartment is very spacious but you will spend more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stopped in studio which was ideal for 2 adults,ample room for small child too.Exceptionally clean and well furnished.One and two bedroom apartments also availble. View from large balcony absolutely stunning. Pool and garden area also first class. Enjoyed walk to local tavernas. Total of 3.
Also 1 local bar where we would finish evening with a Greek coffee and Metaxa!!!! 1 local shop for basics. Car hire necessary to go into Soudha or Almerida where you can find everything......
Local fish, meat ,fruit and veg of excellent quality. Had some wonderful meals on our balcony. There is also a large brick BBQ availble. Charcoal can be bought locally.Would often try our limited spoken Greek with owners Anna and Christos.Chania nearby, which is absolutely delightful.Already booked for next year.If you are looking for peace,solitude and a little bit of real Crete, this is the place for you.So much to see on this beautiful island

Room Tip: All have great views. Studios, one balcony. Apartments have two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Aptera is a wonderfully friendly place to stay and ideal for exploring the West of Crete.

We visited Chania, Kalives and Stavros (Sunset Beach is *fantastic* and provided the best meal during our stay). Falasarna and Elafonisi are also two great beaches, and there is a spectacular mountain road running between them.

The Aptera Hotel itself is great and the proprietor (who speaks perfect English) was incredibly well informed and helpful.

Taverna Aptera (just down the hill) is a fantastic, friendly and authentically Cretan place to eat.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank charlesnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I stayed at Aptera Apartments with my wife last summer (2009). This was our 4th time here, our first being in 1997 when we went with Simply Crete. We book directly now and have no problem. We have flown from Gatwick and Manchester. Being able to pick up the car at Chania airport and arrive at Aptera witih half an hour ia a real godsend. Yanni, Christos and Anna are wonderful people, typical of Crete. The location is superb, overlooking Souda Bay and 15 minutes takes you down to Kalives in the morning to a wonderful little bakery for fresh bread. Most nights we simply walked down to the village for our evening meal. Be sure to hire a car, you will miss a lot otherwise. Driving in Crete isn't a problem. The ancient city of Aptera is a couple of minutes away and if you walk on to the old Turkish fort the views, especially in the evening, are magnificent.

We have stayed at Aptera with our children, lately grandchildren and last year on our own and we hope to go back again soon. Crete is getting more expensive but no more expensive than a holiday at home. The problem is that it was once very cheap and people expect it to stay that way. Chania is lovely and about 30 mins drive away but the mountain villages are something else. If you want a relaxing holiday, there's no nicer place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtinneny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I have stayed at Aptera many times and now consider the owners, Anna and Christos as friends. The rooms are spotless and the grounds are very well kept. Aptera has the most wonderful views and there are times when you fell you have the whole place to yourself. I have been there with just adults and also with my grandchildren and the accommodation suits both. I agree with the last comment that this is not suitable for young couples who want nightlife and you definitely need transport unless you are super fit and can walk up and down steep hills to get to the village. I have recommended this accommodation to lots of people and have never been let down.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havendale01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We stayed at the Aptera Apartments after they were recommended to us by my family and we certainly weren't disappointed! The apartments were clean spacious and tidy with the most spectacular views over Souda Bay! Check out the photos!

The owners did not speak very good English so I would advise you to take a Greek phrase book. Fortunately my partner is fluent in Greek so this wasn't an issue, but the owners were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay. You need a car to get to this place as there are no buses near the apartments.

They are ideal for anyone looking for a quieter family/couples holiday. The pool area is absolutely spectacular.

The price was very reasonable as well 455 euros for a 1 bed spacious apartment for a week. We did have to book with the hotel direct by paying a 25% deposit into the owners bank account but there were no issues with this whatsoever.

My only criticism is the bathroom flooded quite easily and we would have liked our towels changed a bit more frequently, I think ours were changed twice in a week.

But apart from that this place is absolutely beautiful and we would most definitely recommend you stay here if you are coming to Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
9.4 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
10.0 mi away
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
624 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Villa Georgia Apartments&Suites
6.8 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
10.2 mi away
Alexandros Studios
Alexandros Studios
#3 of 3 in Kalamaki
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aptera Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aptera Apartments

Address: Aptera | Megala Chorafia, Chania Town, Crete 73000, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aptera Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing