We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ifigenia Rooms and Studios
Chania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We can only Review Ifigenia4 as that was where we were .
1
Access Stairs Difficult, wooden steps were rotten and dangerous.
2.
Breakfast was awful, basically bread and preserves and we were expected to eat on tables in the street..
3.
Bathroom was a corner of the kitchen area and was very small and dated,
4
Bed was very uncomfortable and initially had an unpleasant odour
When we booked we looked at the web site for info, not a good idea because the web description of a standard room did not match the room we got described as a BASIC standard room.room size was better than expected but was very dated and run down.
one of our worst ever holidays

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    24
    23
    19
    42
See reviews for
17
105
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

good value. Pain in the butt to schlep our luggage up the stairs and we had trouble getting useful information on parking our rental car.
Room was great for the price we paid. Great European city.
Bathroom was interesting, the toilet was kindda part of the shower stall. Our room had access to a cute terrace.

Room Tip: good value. Pain in the butt to schlep our luggage up the stairs and we had trouble getting useful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The room wasn't very small but the bed was so big that there it left almost no room to move around, there was a light bulb and a lamp but it was such low wattage that it was almost like not having the lights on at all, seeing is an issue forget about reading.The walls and floors are extremely thin, I thought the person in the upper floor was going to come through the ceiling, it was a canopy bed with a cloth draped on top and i could see there were stuff on the cloth, at first i thought it was dead bugs but i then realized it may be plaster that fell from the ceiling. Also every time someone flushed the toilet upstairs it sounds as though a large bucket of water splash into my bathroom, I actually got up several times to make sure it wasn't flooded. The room felt dark, rickety, grimy, and poorly maintained. The electrical wiring along the wall to the ancient switches also made me very nervous. I left after one night.

There are many rooms at Ifegenia, i think they have 6 buildings, so that may account for the disparity in reviews. The ladies running the place wasn't very pleasant and I wouldn't have stay even if I was moved to a nicer room.

Two decent things, the location and the breakfast included in the price of room was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chania Town hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

it was fantastic..very beatifull palce peacefull with nice view. great servic and hospital people..
nice beaches

Room Tip: i had maisonette nr 5 at Ifigenia studios, was two levels with nice jacuzzi and big balcony looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abur s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our room was a double bedroom with an en-suite bathroom. The room is already quite small for this type, but is ruined by the ridiculous size of a make shift double bed. Two large single beds that are held together by a homemade four post steel frame. The bed overwhelms the room, turning it into foot wide corridors in between the furniture and walls. This layout makes simple tasks such as opening a suitcase or even walking past each other intolerable. In the end I pushed the huge bed up to a wall and put the bedside table inside the cupboard to gain some space. You can't pull out the desk chair fully because of the bed frame, and the chair and desk do not match ergonomically. You can't put you legs underneath the desk, you are forced to split your legs on either side like an acrobat. This renders the desk almost unusable. As for the en-suite bathroom, the tiling prevents the door for opening inwards completely; it can only be at a jar. You have to walk in sideways. The handle on the inside of the door is damaged and useless. If you close the door from the inside you will be locked in. You can't lift up the seat on the toilet because the tank gets in its way. As for the service, we were not greeted at the reception when we arrived in the afternoon nor when we left in the morning. The two nights we stayed there, the room was not cleaned and the sheets were not changed. Overall I have the impression that the hotel is cutting corners and does not care about its guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Ifigenia Rooms and Studios, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
First of all you had one standard room of 40 euro and not a suite one.
and the double room is around 25tm. If you did not like the spacefull of it you should had informed me the same time we did the check in.
as for the clean of it yes the girl changed you the towels and clean the bath-room. of course the sheets could not be changed every day.

Finally, if you or any one is/ were no happy you had the option to leave the same time.
or asked for different room .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We pitched up for the last 2 nights of our trip having stayed in Chania earlier in the holiday and identifying that we would like to stay in the old town.
Some of the interiors are a bit theatrical cross; Miss Haversham's living room with the faded glory 1960s Paris and you get the picture - but it is fun !
We made the mistake of selecting a suite with a great view of the harbour not realising there was a bar below with no intention of closing before 3 am, the next morning we moved to a similar suite in a quiter location.
Breakfast was served and included freshly squeezed orange juice.
We were asked for payment in cash and were surprised a receipt was only provided when asked for ....
Would definitely go again

Room Tip: those overlooking the harbour may be noisy ok for the night owls !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsel0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Porto del Colombo Hotel
Porto del Colombo Hotel
#37 of 108 in Chania Town
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 108 in Chania Town
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#46 of 108 in Chania Town
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ifigenia Luxury Suites
Ifigenia Luxury Suites
#109 of 139 in Chania Town
7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nikolas Rooms
Nikolas Rooms
#20 of 107 in Chania Town
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vilelmine
Vilelmine
#15 of 107 in Chania Town
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ifigenia Rooms and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ifigenia Rooms and Studios

Property: Ifigenia Rooms and Studios
Address: 23 Antoniou Gampa, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ifigenia Rooms and Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ifigenia's Center has Rooms, Studios and Suites for rent in several buildings in the heart of the Old Venetian Harbour of Chania. Everybody is welcome, whether young or old. Rooms are of great variety: standard or more demanding till Suites. Our main concern is the well being and the comfort of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ifigenia Rooms and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifigenia Rooms And Studios Hotel Chania Town
Ifigenia Rooms And Studios Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing