We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
76
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass floor modern design best hotel i have ever stayed private roof terrace quiet street amazing boutique hotel each morning visit chania old town recommend this hotel breakfast was delicious min walk within walking distance jacuzzi anastasia reception greece
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Tucked away in the cobbled lanes of the Old Town, this small hotel offers well -appointed accommodation close to the Port, but in a quiet, secluded setting.

Historic excavations have been preserved in the reception area, although those with a tendency to vertigo might find the glassed floors and stairs challenging.

Our junior suite was spacious and comfortable, although while described as a suite, there was no separate sitting area. The large bed was comfortable, and the walk-in wet room/shower equipped with both hand-held and drench showers.

There are the usual facilities, including an excellent room safe, mini-bar fridge, hair-dryer and complimentary toiletries. Useful USB sockets in the room, so no need for adaptors for charging devices. The TV had access to Netflix and Amazon if you are a subscriber, otherwise, mostly local channels.

Sadly, no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but coffee was delivered to our room each morning by room service at no extra charge.

The air-conditioning is centrally controlled and limited to only few degrees warmer or cooler from the pre-set ambient temperature; this proved a disadvantage during the very warm weather of around 30ºC during our stay.

The digital light and heating controls I found difficult to use, particularly as the panel was not illuminated.

We ate only breakfast at the hotel – this was better than many larger hotels, with table service of freshly squeezed juices, selection of coffees and teas, continental and cooked to order choices.

All the staff were welcoming, helpful and gave us many helpful tips for outings and places to visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank angusM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This hotel is gorgeous and funky. We were upgraded to the third floor with a roof top spa. Nick and his team were incredibly helpful, even taking the time to chat about neighbouring properties and real estate in the area. The restaurant for breakfast is amazing (lovely secluded courtyard) and make sure you have dinner there while you stay. Other than that, try to book the private indoor pool with Haman - get cocktails delivered and enjoy this historic building. I love the way they have preserved the ruins under the building by carefully raising a glass floor over them so everyone can see the history below.

Room tip: All of the rooms are great but the 3rd floor spa suites are a treat.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed 6 nights at Monastery Estate ( Room 103) in september 2018.

From the moment I booked my room in April to my departure, the whole team at Monastery Estate was charming, polite and friendly .

All the staff at the front desk and the restaurant Mones were nice with me.

As for the boutique hotel, it has so many strong points : location, architecture, design and cleanliness.

As for the restaurant Mones, I had all my breakfasts and 5 of 6 dinners. I wanted to experience all the items on the delicate Cretan menu .

A boutique hotel like this one allows exceptional experience. I strongly recommend. I would go back to Crete/ Chania just to live that expérience again .

To conclude, thank you Nick .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Jean_FrancoisD229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We ate at the MonEs restaurant several times because we lived opposite. The Panos restaurant manager and rest of staff provided us with an unforgettable experience.
The food was delicious and although we had specific requirements (1 vegan, 1 vegetarian and one person with celiac disease) all our wishes were met. There was no such thing as "we can not do it". A very good selection of wines, we recommend the white citrus wine Moschofilero Zacharias.

The object itself is decorated with minimalist, modern design and great attention to detail. However, the history of this building has not been forgotten. Under the glass floor in one of the rooms you can see fragments of old buildings.

The prices are higher than in the area but the standard of service justifies them altogether.

In summary, there were no disadvantages, everyone is nice and smiling, always willing to help. 5/5!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel was amazing! Right from the moment we walked in until the moment we left they treated us like family.

We had a hard time finding the hotel our first night because it is tucked in a small alley much like most places in Chania. Nick from the front desk was so kind and welcomed us with a cold beer to help us relax and start our stay off right! You get familiar with the streets really fast, just a little hard at first.

Note for the parking, a lot of one way streets and tight spots, we ended up parking closer to the water which was about a 5 min walk but way easier to get in and out every day when we needed the car for day trips. WATCH for signs about the market, we didn’t notice one night that there was a market the next day on the street and our car was buried in fruits and vegetables until the market was over around 3 p.m. luckily we weren’t in a rush to leave.

The first night we had the classic room which was lovely and then the second and third night we upgraded to the room with a terrace and jacuzzi, well worth it! Get the room with the terrace, it was great for late night drinks or early coffee.

The breakfast was off the charts! Everything from the menu is amazing and if you want to add anything onto the meal of your choice they accommodate you no problem. This was the best breakfast we had in our two week stay in Greece. Loved it!

The location of this hotel is great, right in the centre of old town and close walking distance to the harbour front where all the restaurants and shopping is.

Everyone at this hotel was so lovely, they will accommodate you in any way they can to make your stay enjoyable. They have great advice for which beaches to visit, where to eat, drink etc. They will make your dinner reservations too, just ask.

All in all, we loved this hotel and would recommend to anyone!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KristenDMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews