We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant..excellent service..best food..!! Good price”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 448 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. CLOSED IN WINTER--NOVEMBER TILL MARCH/APRIL . OPENS BEFORE THE CATHOLIC EASTER
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This restaurant are very clean... We eat Denis fish ... It. Was very. Very good,,,,,the service was wonderful...very kind and lovely!!! If you are traveling there..we are recommend to eat in this restaurant.... Nir and revital from Israel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank נירויטל א
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Our fish is fresh and prices are local prices. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 631 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful night in To Xani. We shared a starter plate for one thanks to the owner accommodating our request, followed by delicious lamb dishes (I recommend the lamb in yogurt, served in a clay pot). The tables are lined up outside the restaurant on both sides of the quiet little street, and two musicians played some traditional/folk music for the evening. Service is great, too. This would be my first choice in Chania

Thank RiLoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for the review. Yes, we can accommodate to any customer's wishes or needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just around the corner from one of the main streets in the old town in Chania, we weren't pressured to come and sit down - the blankets offered on the backs of chairs (ready for a chilly evening) was all the lure we needed. Friendly, excellent service, traditional scrumptious food - gorgeous location - what more do you need to be happy? I had lamb kleftiko with orange and avocado salad, hubby had slow cooked goat in wine and a greek salad - YUM

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hoopstar1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you. Unfortunately the evenings are still rather cold!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyed this place, particularly enjoyed their outdoor heaters on a chilly April evening. Service here was good and food was well cooked and enjoyable. Great location, right in the middle of the old town.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We, a family of four, ate here and we really enjoyed the restaurant. I had lamb and cheese dish and I think it was the best meal at the table. However we all enjoyed our meals, nothing disappointed. We actually came back on Easter Sunday and tried the traditional roasted lamb, and all of us loved it. The service was fast, friendly and helpful. They offered pointers on how to best enjoy the food, and suggested menu items that were delicious. We sat outside, on the small street, and really enjoyed it. I believe To Xani would be good for couples, and is a place for families with children. This place is easy to recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VirginiaHavoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you. We always try our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing