We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice environment and food”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. Closed during the winter months.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice environment and food”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This restaurant has great food and location. It's in a beautiful alley in the old Enetian harbor. They have traditional food and music.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you, Traditional food at To Xani, fresh and simple.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    323
    101
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic greek food with at a family owned restaurant”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Placed in a quite street in old town Chania, this restaurant gave us a family with 2 children aged 8, 9 a great meal with some dishes we never tried before and loved.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you. The restaurant is very suitable for children, as it is situated in a quiet <dead end> lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek cuisine”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I ate here twice with my brother, and we both agree that this restaurant was one of the best that we have eaten in.

The food was fantastic, extremely friendly hostess and waiter.

Live music that compliments the evening.

We will definitely return

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Demetrios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you again and again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, served the best Greek food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The best greek food ive ever had. With a very good service, one of the only restaurants in greek where the employees actually had the ability to speak English.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you. We try our best at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I am happy we ate our first dinner in Crete in this restaurant. Since it is located in an inner alley (so no view of the harbor) so they have people that "market" their restaurant in other alleys. Despite that, it is an unexpectedly great restaurant! It has set the bar higher for what is great food for us. It is almost full-packed but they still found a way to accommodate our big group. The only available table was for 6 and we were 8 in our group. We were so amazed that 2 waiters just had to lift the table up and a few seconds later, brought a new table in that could accommodate all of us. The headwaiter is so nice, not your loud and over-friendly type waiter, but accommodating, and knowledgeable of their food and wines. We were 8 people in our group, of which 4 are kids. The food was superb. It was my best moussaka, so far. Their souvlakis and steaks are grilled perfectly. Their greek salad is how it should be-- no fuss. They have live Greek music playing all the time, but it is not overpowering our conversations. The ambience is great-eating outdoors with well-positioned mood/spot lights and flowers and plants everywhere. The fountain and well were a delight for my toddler. The price is not on the cheap-side but it is value-for-money. For the great food, ambience, nice serve staff and over-all dining experience you would get, you would not regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoselledFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for the wonderful long and descriptive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing