We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good value for the money”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I recommend Hotel Filoxenia very highly! Rooms are nice and you can find everything you need: fridge, hair dryer, fresh towels on every morning, little patio on every room, breakfast and the most importantly AC. Service is very friendly and warm and the owner's son is great guy! He can tell you the best beaches, places to shop with locals and rent car for you if needed. They also gave us a little discount when we wanted to book one extra day at the hotel (our home flight left at 11pm). The price was very reasonable and we really enjoyed our time in Hotel Filoxenia.

Ps. Hotel is located to that old harbour, where you see no other tourists, all great greek restaurants are and the price level is much more reasonable that there in venetzian harbour.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank emminuorgam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Filoxenia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Let me start with the mundane. The room was fine, clean, adequate. Access was from a narrow side street near the harbour. With the door of our room just off reception and adjacent to the bar, things got a little noisy, including someone clinking glasses at 3am! But this was more than offset by the personality of the proprietor's son, Xristos. He didn't bat an eyelid at our late check-in as our plane was delayed to 11pm, discussed our proposed itinerary of Crete with us, shared his own photos of the the south coast, recommended alternatives, sent us off into the night to view the harbour lighthouse while it was all dark, and set us up to use the hotel internet and printer. And when we left behind a feather pillow, he ensured it was waiting for us on our return. What a marvellous introduction to Crete!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greghory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is very simple and confortable. The kindness of the property is a guarantee of courtesy and avalaibility.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Giampaolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I would highly recommend Filoxenia hotel at chania town as i have been completely satisfied from their service and decoration of the room.Also i would like to mention that it was very clean!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend in Sept and we can just say that we were perfectly satisfied with the place. Clean, fairly sized rooms, great location next to the beach and the city, and the hotel manager was very helpful in giving us trip advice. Definitely recommendable!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I travel alone quite often and for a woman this can be quite intimidating sometimes depending where you are staying. This hotel is wonderful, the owners were very welcoming and made me feel at home, the hotel itself is amazing everything is immaculately clean and tidy from the reception to the rooms. The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the waterfront in the city center this is a must see harbour. All in all my trip to Crete was wonderful the people make the place so amazing and I will definitely be returning to Hotel Filoxenia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Small hotel, very central, one street off the waterfront, immaculately clean, totally rennovated, my room was first class and spotless, wifi worked perfectly, good breakfast and Chris the owner was so helpful upon arrival and very welcoming I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#61 of 111 in Chania Town
55 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#82 of 111 in Chania Town
29 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#64 of 111 in Chania Town
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Odos Oneiron
Odos Oneiron
#99 of 111 in Chania Town
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tina
Hotel Tina
#89 of 111 in Chania Town
67 reviews
1.0 mi away
Theofilos City Hotel
Theofilos City Hotel
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £41 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing