We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget-friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #68 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

.Very clean,modern,central and really friendly stuff....Just a few minutes away of everything... The little beach a 100 m away was a really nice surprise as I did not know that you can have a swim so close...

Room Tip: All the rooms have very fast wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Run by its owners. They serve you a homemade delighful breakfast, squeezed orange juice and more! Strategically located, 1 block from coast and bars, 300 metres from port. Comfortable rooms. New bathrooms. very good price.



Note to Tripadvisor: please do not translate my reviews into Spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June, and had a really pleasant experience. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. The price is also very good! The hotel is very well located, near the old town, and all the touristic areas. The owners are amazing people, they are extremely helpful and welcoming, especially Christos, who made our stay so enjoyable! He's the friendliest person ever. We recommend this place a 100%

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is next to the sea and too close to the old town!!The rooms are very clean and the staff friendly,they are want to help you any time you will ask!!The quality with the prices is satisfied!!I recomend it to young people because it is near the heart of old town and to families because of the quiet of the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We booked a budget double room for 3 nights - approx 40 Euros a night.

When we arrived around lunchtime, the budget double room turned out to be an occupied room with its door wide open on the ground floor right next to the tiny check-in desk and noisey smokey lounge bar tv room. Whilst we were checking in the manager pointed to this room - he said the room was currently occupied and will be cleaned. It turned out that the occupiers were in fact the hotels friends or relatives who we saw at the tv lounge area every day.

We asked for a budget room upstairs - as we did not want this room. The manager told us to come back in an hour whilst he would try and reconfigure his bookings. When we returned the manager allocated us to a double room upstairs and gave us the impression he was doing us a real favour for moving us to another room. However, he then insisted we paid 35 euros extra + pay for the whole stay upfront despite the booking stating we pay on checkout. We reluctantly paid upfront with the extra 35 Euros as we had limited time in Crete.

Room upstairs was fine but we felt conned by a series of lies and deception to get a decent room.

Over the 3 days of our stay the hotel was more or less empty - only a few other guests were staying there + hotels friends / relatives.

The only real positive about the stay is the location. The hotel is beside the beach / citadel wall where you can swim and have breakfast with locals. But - pricey food drink for Greece.

Beware of the budget room con if you stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Strutt_aroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We are aiming at the samaria gorge so we have come to chania. The staff in the reception is very helpful for checking the price of the tour group and bus schedule, so that we can compare the cost for going there. The place is very near the town center, we can find bars and restaurants easily by going to the seaside. Though the budget room is not modern and well-renovated, but the rate is reasonable. Because we are not going to enjoy the facilities provided by the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors are recommended as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenryL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#62 of 111 in Chania Town
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#16 of 111 in Chania Town
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#48 of 111 in Chania Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Theofilos City Hotel
Theofilos City Hotel
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arkadi Hotel
Arkadi Hotel
#37 of 111 in Chania Town
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#54 of 111 in Chania Town
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £34 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing