We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Close to Harbor”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #68 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very clean, but small bathrooms. Very budget friendly. Air conditioning. The neighborhood is difficult to park in, but other than that, fine. It's a close walk to the inner harbor, and the owners have great recommendations for restaurants and beaches.
The beds aren't that comfortable, but you will be hard-pressed to find a comfortable bed in the entire country.

Room Tip: Ask for a tip on the top floor, they are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fantastic hotel experience as the owner and his son, Chris, provided me with very accurate and helpful information on how to enjoy Chania and Crete. The overall service was warm and friendly as the hotel staff would often take the extra effort to ensure my vacation was going very well.
The rooms were excellent as they were spacious, clean and modern with excellent flat screen TV and the best free Wi fi service experienced in Crete. Located 100 metres from beach, entrance into Old Town and many cafes and bars with a beautiful view of the sea! Plenty of parking available if you are driving and slept very well with the comfortable beds and quiet room.
Would highly recommend to all travellers and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonidas439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

.Very clean,modern,central and really friendly stuff....Just a few minutes away of everything... The little beach a 100 m away was a really nice surprise as I did not know that you can have a swim so close...

Room Tip: All the rooms have very fast wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Run by its owners. They serve you a homemade delighful breakfast, squeezed orange juice and more! Strategically located, 1 block from coast and bars, 300 metres from port. Comfortable rooms. New bathrooms. very good price.



Note to Tripadvisor: please do not translate my reviews into Spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June, and had a really pleasant experience. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. The price is also very good! The hotel is very well located, near the old town, and all the touristic areas. The owners are amazing people, they are extremely helpful and welcoming, especially Christos, who made our stay so enjoyable! He's the friendliest person ever. We recommend this place a 100%

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel is next to the sea and too close to the old town!!The rooms are very clean and the staff friendly,they are want to help you any time you will ask!!The quality with the prices is satisfied!!I recomend it to young people because it is near the heart of old town and to families because of the quiet of the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#61 of 111 in Chania Town
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#17 of 111 in Chania Town
280 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#49 of 111 in Chania Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Theofilos City Hotel
Theofilos City Hotel
#66 of 111 in Chania Town
26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arkadi Hotel
Arkadi Hotel
#37 of 111 in Chania Town
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#56 of 111 in Chania Town
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £34 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing