We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended !!!”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #81 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Recommended !!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The location is perfect because you have eay access by car, easy parking but also you can walk everywhere in the center of Chania in a few minutes. Nice and helpful stuff.

Room Tip: Nice breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikosTsih1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    17
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
45
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The location is excellent, few minutes walk to old town and harbour. Clean rooms but with a small bathroom. Free wifi, good quality everywhere. Decent breakfast, a little bit expensive. Family owned/operated business. Friendly polite staff. Recommended if you are not gonna spend too much time in the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yiannos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed second year in raw in the same room,everything was fine like last year,we totally recomended, especially if you have a car because it is just 5 min walk from the old port but it has public parking nearby.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better sea view than the 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and it was ok for what we needed it for. It is located fairly close to the main tourist attractions (port, museums, shopping) and you can see the water from the balcony as it is only a block away. It was relaxing to hear the sound of the waves from the hotel room.

However, we did book the budget room originally, but when we got there we were told it wasn't ready and that we could have a room upstairs that was ready, for an extra 7 euros/night, or wait. As we were there very early for check in, and the "budget room" did not look very appealing, we didn't mind paying extra to get a better room right away. So be aware that the budget room is misleading.

Another downside to the hotel was that it smelled like smoke, and we found ashes in the drawer beside the bed... the room seemed fairly clean otherwise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very clean, but small bathrooms. Very budget friendly. Air conditioning. The neighborhood is difficult to park in, but other than that, fine. It's a close walk to the inner harbor, and the owners have great recommendations for restaurants and beaches.
The beds aren't that comfortable, but you will be hard-pressed to find a comfortable bed in the entire country.

Room Tip: Ask for a tip on the top floor, they are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fantastic hotel experience as the owner and his son, Chris, provided me with very accurate and helpful information on how to enjoy Chania and Crete. The overall service was warm and friendly as the hotel staff would often take the extra effort to ensure my vacation was going very well.
The rooms were excellent as they were spacious, clean and modern with excellent flat screen TV and the best free Wi fi service experienced in Crete. Located 100 metres from beach, entrance into Old Town and many cafes and bars with a beautiful view of the sea! Plenty of parking available if you are driving and slept very well with the comfortable beds and quiet room.
Would highly recommend to all travellers and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonidas439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#52 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Irida
Hotel Irida
#60 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Danaos Hotel
Danaos Hotel
#40 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#48 of 110 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#25 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#47 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Property: Hotel Filoxenia
Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing