We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever holidays!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Ranked #10 of 113 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best ever holidays!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

After lots of search on the internet, my fiancee ended up with her final verdict i.e mama nena in crete and we booked for 10 days in august starting from the 20th. A quick glance at my trip advisor app on my i phone reassured me that it should be ok and here we go! The owners Matina,Eleni and Giorgos sounded very polite on the phone and the initial impression was confirmed upon arrival when we had 3 big smiles waiting for us.

The renovated building was impressive in every detail and our 3rd floor suite was just amazing . Massive windows allowed the sun and the deep blue of the sea front to become part of your room, top quality curtains and double glass windows isolated you instantly. The balcony on the back would let you become part of the inner old city of Chania if you wished.

The 3 siblings gave us the keys of the building and for 10 days I felt the proud owner of the best looking building in the old city of Chania :).The other suites were on the 2nd and 1st floor with everybody meeting at breakfast time. And by breakfast I mean all the local products and dishes that they were coming homemade by mama nena every morning in our plates. That was the time when the owners would chat with us , give us useful piece of info re siteseeing,restaurants, time management and inner informations. Their recommendations reflected their own high level of professionalism and excellent taste ,so we were never dissapointed. On the 7thday of our stay my fiancee' felt a bit sick and she couldn't come to breakfast. Eleni prepared a special local herb and breakfast for her to have it in bed. I was so moved by her interest and her kindness. Diana, the person in charge for cleaning would pop in the room on a daily basis in order to make the room when we were not there without putting any pressure on us whatsoever.
When we left , I felt that a part of mine has stayed in this charming hotel, it has charmed me as well. We felt that these people, Matina -Eleni-Diana-Giorgos have become our friends and we need to see them again as soon as possible. We left with a promise to come back . On the way home I was feeling so happy with my fiancee's choice that the proposal popped up easily ...and she said YES!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gkarousos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herning, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Fantastic romantic rooms, with a beautiful view to the lighthouse and the old harbor.
The place is recently firmly restored, and the architecture and style is worth a visit itself!
Very central in the old town at the waterfront, but still even just so quiet.
The hotel have only 3 rooms, and a common area for breakfast and just hanging out.
Lovely and tastefull breakfast served every morning.
The 3 siblings running this place are so dedicated to this charming hotel, and doing and giving their outmost, so you can just enjoy and have an a amazing stay....
Access to wifi, but unfortunately not in all rooms (yet!)
We will be going back for sure...

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Henrik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

A picturesque traditional house renovated with high quality of materials and taste! Once the door opens you are immediately enchanted by the beauty. We stayed in two of the three rooms and we were completely captivated by the interior design and the quality service. The owners are like the house: charming & adorable. A warm welcoming was foreseen accompanied with fresh fruits and cold raki! Giorgos & Matina made our stay in Crete magic: they gave us detailed recommendations for the most beautiful corners of the island. Sweet Daliana was preparing for us a fresh, bio home made breakfast (all products coming from the family farm). The hotel is an outstanding house in the old venetian port of Chania; the view is incredible, the rooms are better than a 5 star hotel and the service.. just perfect! Briefly, if you are at Chania do not miss the opportunity to experience this real Cretan hospitality and to enjoy this high standard stay at the most reasonable prices.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madeleine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed at Mama Nena Hotel two years ago, when it has juststarted to operate. We came back this summer for a few days -we couldn't think for a better place to stay! The feeling was the same as the first time (even better): superb, amazing, perefect!!!
Excellent hospitality and service, delicious homemade breakfasts, great location.
Once again authenticity, style and charm, attention to detail, homy atmosphere... a truly great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paparounasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We visit Chania fairly regularly to see friends and usually stay at the Ammos just outside the town, but they were fully booked for some of our dates and suggested we stay here for our first few days. We were a bit nervous as I know the Old Harbour area can be rather noisy, but we went with it anyway. What a treat it turned out to be! The rooms are all really lovely, they're quiet as the windows are double glazed and we had a nose round all three of them! We stayed in the top (Red) one that had its own terrace and the bed was one of the comfiest I've ever slept in and the brekky was stunningly good. We were really looked after incredibly well. Incredibly pleased to have found this place and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheReedies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We loved this place. We booked all 3 rooms as there were 7 of us. It is in a great position on the waterfront on the old harbour. Martina is just THE BEST she will look after you in every way. The house is so close to all the action but is very quiet and extremely well appointed.

The breakfast was basic but all fresh and beautiful. The rooms are beautiful with great air con (a must in the summer on Crete). Easy access to the restaurants, shops markets etc. Would highly recommend. Wished we had stayed in Chania the whole time and wished we could of spent more time there.

LOVED IT Thank you so much Martina you are just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mad980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I cannot say enough about Mama Nena! We had a marvelous time at this boutique hotel. I tend to prefer accommodations that are charming and feel personal, while my husband prefers places that are comfortable and feel luxurious. This hotel is the perfect marriage of both.

The Location: Perfectly located in the center of the old harbor. The backstreet (which is where the front door is) is filled with shops, cafes, restaurants, and the other side faces the harbor. It is very easy to cover the entire old city by foot, as well as parts of the "new city" (ex. we went to the municipal market and public gardens on a 10-15 minutes walk).

The Room: No detail is overlooked. Our suite (the Argyri suite) had incredibly high ceilings, was tastefully decorated, and had beautiful views of the harbor (see pictures I took from our window below). The bathroom was renovated with very high-end fixtures and finishing, and the bed was plush and very comfortable. The entire house is spotlessly clean.

Breakfast: Fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade cakes and cookies, delicious preserves, and a selection of Cretan cheeses welcomed us every morning. The housekeeper (I think her name was Dayna?) who also serves breakfast is very sweet.

The Hosts: Despite arriving at the hotel very late (our ferry that arrived in Heraklion was delayed, and we didn't get to Chania until midnight), we were very warmly welcomed by Eleni, who showed us around the house. Matina was equally gracious, and gave us wonderful recommendations on where to eat and suggestions on what to do and see each day.

Western Crete is brimming with beautiful beaches, stunning mountain drives, and charming cities. I wish we could have stayed longer. I'm sure we will go back, and we will no doubt try to stay at Mama Nena again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gtho82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 110 in Chania Town
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Chania Town
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Property: Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Address: 30 Zabeliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing