We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Ranked #10 of 113 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful again”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Our third visit in as many years. We keep coming back because it's so good. Beautiful stylish hotel with everything we could want. The hotel is a really stylish renovated (to the highest standard) Venetian building. It has stunning views over the historic harbour. Our top floor suite also had views of the snow capped mountains. It's the best in Crete. Once again Matina did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. She's a fantastic host. Diana really looked after us too. The breakfasts are brilliant. Wish we could have brought her home with us!
We love this hotel.

Room Tip: There's just three suites and they're all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We visited Chania during the Greek Easter Holly Week at the end of April/beginning of May. The weather was gorgeous, bright and sunny but not overly hot. My husband looked around prior to settling with Mama Nena and we certainly did not regret our choice. Budget permitting, I struggle to see why anyone would choose to stay anywhere else in Chania Old Town. The property is extremely well appointed, taking advantage of the beautiful vista and close proximity to some of the best restaurants in town, while continuing to have a special feel perfect for relaxation and a good night's sleep! The house has been restored to exceptional standards and the guests truly feel like staying with good friends. We stayed in the Argyri, which benefits from a very quiet and comfortable bedroom and a lovely sitting room overlooking the harbour. Breakfasts are great with Cretan produce (cheeses, jams, bread, yogurt etc), fresh orange juice and special local treats. And of course there is the marble cake, something which all reviewers seem to speak about! Best of all is the ambiance of this place, very relaxing, cozy, friendly, welcoming and above all authentic! Matina is a wonderful hostess with a great passion for her island and is always willing to give you great tips for a day out or a wonderful meal. In terms of restaurants, there really is a vast array of places for every budget. I would personally avoid some of the tourist traps right by the harbour though... We enjoyed a great meal at Chrisostomos (10min walk from Mama Nena) and Tamam (just opposite Mama Nena). For fish, we'd recommend Akrogiali by Nea Chora, which is a lovely 20min walk from Chania Old Town. You should definitely plan a trip to Balos for the most amazing beach on the island and the Monastery of Arkadi, a beautiful place of great importance to modern Greek history. There are plenty of traditional villages and long sandy beaches for you to wonder around...

We would definitely recommend this place. Crete is a beautiful island with so much to see. Mama Nena will make your holiday even more special. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted with everything. We were made to feel very welcome; the rooms were large and comfortable with beautiful views ( we had the suite on the 2nd floor), the breakfasts were amazing, with wonderful fresh home made produce, and the staff were very helpful at advising on places to go. We stupidly left our passports in the safe, but Matina got them back to Heraklion by bus the next day, so we did not have to drive all the way back. What great service!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaNena, Owner at Mama Nena Charming Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for your nice review and your kind words...
I feel so happy to know that you felt very welcome and that you enjoyed your stay.
Serving our guests is always top priority to us!
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again...

Regards,
Matina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Mama Nena and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. we stayed on the first floor with the little balcony facing the venetian harbour overlooking the lighthouse. i love the decor of the place, it was very romantic and beautifully decorated, i love the wardrobe, the victorian chair, the clean and spacious bathroom. the kitchen was just outside our room and on the last night, all the guests have vacated and we were all alone just like our own house. breakfast was amazing with freshly baked bread and cherry tomatoes, cheese, orange juice and lots of other food. we enjoyed the housekeeper Diane's orange olive cake and the sage tea! we had to hunt every shop looking for the sage tea. The lobby looked just like alice in wonderland except more beautiful.

i envisioned my house to be just like Mama Nena, we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sephyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MamaNena, Owner at Mama Nena Charming Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope you are coming soon again in MAMA NENA, for another nice cup of sage tea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We are frequent travelers to Europe (three, sometimes four times a year). I take great care in selecting the places we stay in: I appreciate quality hotels and b&bs and I search out ones that I know will be enjoyable (at the same time, price is a consideration and so we look for good values). And so we have stayed in a great many good and even excellent places and I have reviewed a number of our favorites here, on Tripadvisor.

But I have to say, for many many reasons, I think the Mama Nena will always remain our favorite. It just doesn't get any better than this!

We stayed in the Stella room for six nights this January. Not many people visit Crete in January, but for us, this is a wonderful time to be in southern Europe -- no crowds, cool but often times sunny skies and in Crete, you have the feeling of being among Cretans rather than tourists. And the prices are discounted so that you can find tremendous values then.

There are only three rooms in this little gem of a hotel and we peeked and saw one other suite besides the Stella. Both are beautiful, but I just have to say that the Stella goes beyond beautiful: the warm colors, the pieces of well chosen furniture, the artistic touches, the spotless maintenance -- that alone would warrant a stay there, but there's more: the views out the Stella are to die for: a splendid opening onto the harbor from the bedroom (sunrise was breathtakingly beautiful!) and a gorgeous view onto the White Mountains from the sitting area. (In the summer, there is a private patio as well).

And there's still more! The breakfasts, prepared by the loyal assistant, Diana, are just heavenly. My partner does not drink coffee or tea, so Diana had a whole pitcher of freshly squeezed juice for us each morning. And she prepared various treats, right there, in that beautiful sunny kitchen where guests eat (we were the only ones at the hotel the, so she did this just for us): one day a fennel pancake, another day a crepe with honey, eggs -- scrambled, boiled -- and all the foods were from the Mama Nena's family farm: eggs, oranges, olives, cheeses -- you can't ask for fresher foods.

Still more: Diana baked a large olive oil marble cake for us to nibble on during the day and it was so good that we finished it in four days. Piggish, I know, but it was heavenly! So then she brought another cake -- for our last two days there (and, you guessed it, we finished that one as well)!

Matina (one of the three siblings that are the real mama Nena's children) was our contact person and she helped us pick out things to see on this side of the island as well as places we could eat our dinners. She was an invaluable resource for us and she spend quite a long time answering all our questions about their family farm and about life on the island.

Again, this is a beautiful place, run with plenty of heart and with absolutely top notch professionalism. We will always think of it as nothing short of magic!

Room Tip: People have noted that the harbor can be less than quiet at night time. In winter, this did not both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We spent a few days in the charming city of Chania. Mama Nena was a lovely place to stay - beautiful view, perfect location, very helpful hosts. Everything is meticulously maintained, down to the very last details. We really felt at home.

The room was quite noisy at night though (the balcony looks over a busy seaside restaurant district) - and we had a bit of a struggle closing the windows and shutters. Small price to pay for the convenience of sitting on the balcony, relaxing and people-watching!!

Room Tip: Maybe avoid the room on level 1 with the balcony.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babycondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed here in October 2012 for three nights and an additional night at the end of our holiday. An excellent welcome from Matina and our suite on the top floor was super. The views at the front overlooking the water are stunning but we also loved the views from the terrace of the Mountains. Breakfast was a real treat each morning and thank you for those delicious Dakos and spinach 'pies' freshly made. Matina's Restaurant recommendations worth noting? It's not cheap but you definitely get what you pay for! We'll be back next year it's a real treat.
Do take note of noisy harbour if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Top suite with terrace lovely and spacious two aspects bedroom overlooking harbour so there is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesSj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 110 in Chania Town
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
#1 of 113 in Chania Town
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Property: Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Address: 30 Zabeliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing