We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem by the Sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Ranked #9 of 92 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Gem by the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were absolutely enchanted by this hotel. Really a B&B, but highly recommended.
Marina and Diana were wonderful. There are only 3 rooms, but all are very comfortable
and overlook the waterfront. This is an old building right in the heart of Chiana with lots of history. Marina is the daughter of Mama Nena, who still lives on a farm nearby and supplies all the fresh ingredients for our breakfasts. Homemade olive oil, yogurt, jam, pastries, cheese, and farm fresh eggs, and fruit from their trees. Amazing!
We truly felt like family during our stay, and will definitely come back to this little gem by the sea.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms and early reservation would be important. Any room has a wonderful waterfront view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TariMorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

New to Crete, we were unaware of the unusual hospitality that awaits visitors to this amazing island. At Mama Nena we were greeted with courtesy and professionalism, but also with genuine warmth and kindness. Matina's connection with her grandmother's home, now a very comfortable and stylish hideaway in the middle of bustling Chania is endearing, and Diana's homemade breakfasts showcasing Matina's family's farm produce are fit for kings and queens! Our suite was on the top floor with sweeping views over the old port of Chania. These views made our walk dragging our suitcases through narrow streets and up a steep staircase very worthwhile. A note to future visitors on the 3rd floor: keep your windows to the bedroom closed at night, but let the breeze in through the back patio doors! Chania doesn't sleep until the wee hours.

Room Tip: The apartment on the top floor has a lovely terrace with mountain views. The bedroom faces the port...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We (family of 4) stayed in the Stella room (top floor) and it worked well for us as we are light sleepers and there is some noise from the cafes in the harbor area (completely expected given the great location). The room was very comfortable for our family and we all felt that there was enough space. Matina welcomed us warmly and gave great suggestions on restaurants and things to do in the area. The highlight as many have pointed out were Diana's breakfasts. We had two early starts during our stay and Matina and Diana accommodated us for early breakfast. My eight year old son liked the breakfast so much that he made me promise that we will have the same breakfast during the rest of our vacation. Unfortunately the stay ended and I had to break my promise but we all left with great memories of Mama Nena.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nkashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmarket suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I could not describe Mama Nena as a Guest house or a Bed & Breakfast neither would do it justice, but neither is it a hotel as it is far too friendly and luxurious.
When we arrived for our second visit it was like returning to stay with friends, but I cant believe that other people have stayed in our room! (the little one with the balcony)
Diana's breakfasts were amazing! Matina's restaurant recommendations were spot on again.
We really hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatsanace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family had the pleasure of spending 4 days filling all three suites in this beautiful little hotel in the center of Oldtown, in Chania.
Mattina, the gracious and knowledgeable granddaughter of the former owners, has restored this harborside 3 story old grand dame with careful attention to detail. It was spacious and comfortable, and our breakfasts were composed of home grown products from Anna's farm which were lovingly prepared by Dianna. Mattina guided us through our stay, advising us on restaurants and helped us get to and descend the Samarian Gorge( our highlight!). It was like being hosted by a dear relative... Go there. Do this, Elizabeth Faiella

Room Tip: I like the ground floor room by the kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed at Mama Nena's for three nights in May this year. I wished I could have stayed for much longer. Fantastic location overlooking the harbour and situated in the old part of Chania. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived. The family home had been beautifully renovated, retaining all the charm of the home's past but with some lovely modern touches. Our room was spacious with excellent attention to detail and great views. The breakfast was amazing. This was probably one of the most charming places I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Germcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although all we can really do is echo the praises that the other reviewers have heaped on Mama Nena, Matina, and Diana, we are so happy to do that. We spent two wonderful nights in this sweet hotel and left today with stomachs so full of our wonderful breakfasts, memories of our sweet room, and the warm laugh and conversation with Matina as she saw us off. We had the room on the first floor with the little balcony overlooking the harbor, and it was beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bed and everything we might need already anticipated. The shower was wonderful, and the blow dryer was a good one -- when you're traveling a lot, these little touches can mean so much. The house as a whole is very elegantly decorated, but not at all stuffy and formal. When Diana greeted us upon arrival, she told us that this is a home, and that we should feel at home. And we did, throughout our stay.

The breakfasts, stunning and huge. Any couple of bits would've made a large breakfast, but it was a whole spread. This morning there were boiled eggs (fresh from the farm), freshly made cheeses, wonderful little cherry tomatoes and wrinkly salty olives, a glass dish of extraordinary fresh fruit salad and great yogurt to top it, a basket of breads, homemade jams, a pitcher of honey, and a pancake with fresh cheese sandwiched between and honey drizzled on top. Every morning, a jug of fresh-squeezed orange juice and very good coffee or tea, as you wish.

Matina is such a great host; the breakfast table was filled this morning with 8 people, and her great smile and laugh embraced us all.

Room Tip: We really loved our room on the lower floor with the balcony overlooking the harbor. It was nice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 92 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Antico
Hotel Porto Antico
#8 of 92 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Property: Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Address: 30 Zabeliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing