We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Cretan houses tucked away in the perfect location close to the Venetian harbour”
Review of Pension Nora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Nora
Ranked #57 of 114 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at Pension Nora in May 2013. Normally we have stayed at the sister accommodation Natalies Rooms but that unit was booked for 5 weeks so this was our first visit to Nora. We were blown away by our room. It is actually a small Cretan house with a kitchen dining room combination on the first floor with the bedroom and bath on the second floor. The unit was beautiful, and the kitchen came equipped with a full oven and stove top plus spices and full pots, pans, cutlery and dishes. Bonus there was a clothes washing machine in the unit and it had a lovely little balcony that is out over the quiet alley below. Location is perfect just a two minute walk to the harbor area but just far enough back to be quiet at night. It is in a back alley off of the pedestrian only Theotokopoulou street.
This is a well priced unit for budget conscious travelers and we will be staying at Nora next time we are in Chania.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Pension Nora
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I recently traveled around Greece with a friend from college. For our stay in Chania, we had originally booked a room at the Athinie Hotel, which turned out to be a complete nightmare. Long story short, the person we booked through was a crook and the people there had no record of our booking and were really rude to us. We were in a cafe trying to sort it all out, when a woman overheard us and recommended Pension Nora to us. Not only did they provide us with a much better quality room, Natalie and Eftihis were so incredibly helpful to us. Natalie offered us advice on what to do about our situation and Eftihis even offered to drive us to the police station and translate for us. We are so grateful to them for their kindness and generosity! They were wonderful and made our stay on Crete extremely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdubs46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We have been there in June 2012.The pension located in Old Town is a beautifully decorated historical house a few minutes from the Old harbor .The moment you enter and climb the wooden blue steps you feel you are entering another century! We had a spacious room on the last floor decorated with an exquisite Cretan charm of its past splendour.The kitchen had all the necessary to make your own beakfast and food although we liked going out for breakfast just in front of the pension to the little cafe on the corner serving the best yogurt fruit salad and honey ever tasted!The room was very clean and we had a shared balcony which in June was for us only!
The pension is really well located when you need to go to the bus station it takes around 10 minutes on foot,and in a few minutes you are at the harbor with its restaurants and cafes and you are basically in one of Old Town's most charming street (Theotokopoulos).If you need a taxi for the airport etc the stand is in the little square in front of the pension, by the sea.
And last BUT not least....the owners Eftihis and Natalie are so friendly and welcoming.Natalie with her smile and enthusiasm has been so helpful and one of our favourite people met during our holiday! We will come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pantarei4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This was a very nice cheaper pension in the old town, we paid 35 euros / night in August. Cute little rooms, nicely decorated. AC and a fridge in the rooms. Bit of a problem with the plumbing though - toilet didn't flush very well. Cute old building. There are two shared terraces - there was a bit of competition to use them! Great sunset from the top balcony. Small shared kitchen for make coffee and tea. Good location. Nice owners.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were so delighted by our first stay in Pension Nora where we stayed two weeks in 2009 that we came back for the third time in August 2011. Well situated, in old Chania, in the wonderful street of Theotokopoulos (El Greco), close to the old harbour and to Neochora beach, the pension is located in a beautiful old house, decorated and furnished with respect for the Cretan traditions. The friendly couple, Eftihis and Natalie, who handle the pension, take great care of making your stay pleasant and you can count on them for any problem. They both speak perfect English. We are looking forward go back again next summer !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorSylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Pension Nora in Theotokopolou Street is the perfect place for a get away from it all break in the heart of the Venetian old town. I was looking for a place to relax and unwind, with plenty of local flavour and authentic sights to explore, and I found it here. From the local market on Thursdays to the tavernas, harbour and winding streets with little alleyways I had so much fun exploring. The owners were very helpful and made many suggestions for where to go and what to see. The Pension is really lovely and the room very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo_trips_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Me and my husband love crete and are so happy we found Chania and the Nora.It is everything you could want for a traditional place to stay.It is in about the best streat in Chania with everything you could want nearby,fantastic traditional tavernas and a great beach about 10mins walk away.We stop in one of the studios which have a very comftable double bed and good size kitchen area,we have also stopped in the rooms of the hotel so I must comment in the reveiw that said they had bed bugs,this I think would be highly unlickley as they are very very clean and the owner Eftikis takes pride in his pension I think it is more likely to have been mosquitos,I think this person did not get there own way so had sour grapes! as we say.We have booked again to go in sept for two weeks and cant wait to see Eftikis,Natalie and the two dogs Spurto and the great traveller Cooky!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spangleCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.0 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#84 of 111 in Chania Town
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elia Palazzo Hotel
Elia Palazzo Hotel
#59 of 111 in Chania Town
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalliopi
Kalliopi
#59 of 142 in Chania Town
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mme Bassia
Mme Bassia
#73 of 114 in Chania Town
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Nora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Nora

Address: 60 Theotokopoulou Street, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Nora is a grand old building that dates back to the Venetian era. It has large sunny windows, wooden floors and high ceilings and has been decorated with woven Cretan rugs and traditional furniture. The two large balconies offer views both towards the sea and the White Mountains. An ideal location as it is just around the corner from the harbour and just a five minute walk from a safe and sandy beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Nora Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing