We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place”

Pavlakis Beach Apartments
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pavlakis Beach Apartments
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

You only need to go once and then you are hooked for life. Antonis Pavlakis, the owner, is a cross between the literal characters of Miller's "Katsimbalis" and Kazantzakis' "Zorba". You haven't met a Cretan Greek (in that order please) unless you have met Antonis Pavlakis. His kindness, his restless spirit, his sense of hospitality, have inspired many (one book is on the making...). His Crete will become your Crete. If you choose to attribute a more demanding meaning to what "time off" is then this is the place to be. Remember weary traveler to pay your respect to the grande "Mouria" tree as you arrive for it is under her shadow that your summer afternoons will pass; it is under her auspices that your Rakhi drinking sessions will take place in the evening and it is by her company that you will understand the Cretan psyche. Waste no time...

Room Tip: Leave it to Antonis!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Church Stretton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

A perfect place for anyone to stay who is looking for a beachside apartment with swimming pool and genuine Cretan hospitality. Andonis Pavlakis has looked after us for many years and we always look forward to the next visit. His apartments are homely, clean and spacious and his bar area is a great place to sit with a raki (or whatever your tipple may be)in your hand. Here you are bound to meet new friends and have lots of fun. Andonis will give excellent advice on where to go and when to go(the mountain weather can be changeable) according to the sort of activity you have in mind. He has certainly given us the confidence to explore his wonderful island - which we do - but we always return to the man who has taught us so much. We could never imagine a visit to Crete without seeing him.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have trouble with stairs it is a good idea to book the ground floor villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

just returned from 3 weeks with pavlakis beach apartments, we have stayed many times but this was the first time after our last which was 4 years.ago
nothing has changed the hospitality just as good and the position couldnt be better, , breakfeast on balcony every morning, pool or swim in the sea later, if you wanted a rest from that then just out side the apartments is a bus stop it will take you you to a very lively chania, famous for its markets,and that is a lovely 20 minute ride. the other way on the bus is a 15min ride to another lively place called platanias its the ideal place to stay if you want a complete rest and get away from it all, the only complaint if complaint was too many people who are not staying just drop in and have the same benifits of paying guests which felt abit unfair, on saying that cant wait to go again and find andonis is a wondeful host and will take you anywhere if you ask

Room Tip: all rooms are good especially for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 236june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you are wanting to experience a bit of the real Crete this is the place to stay. The owner Andonis Pavlakis is an excellent host and nothing is too much trouble for this man. He treats you as if you were a member of his family with his boundless generosity, devoting his time to ensuring his guests have a wonderful holiday. Free coffee, and a variety of drinks are always available along with the local fresh fruit and vegetables.
The studios and apartments all have sea views and look out straight onto the beach. All are equipped with all facilities, lovely and cool in the summer and warm and cosy during the winter months....One of the few places that are open all year round.
I have stayed at these apartments many times and strongly recommend anyone who is visiting Crete for the first time to stay here as this place is a wonderful introduction to Crete.

Room Tip: The 2 apartment balconies look straight out over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anamcara19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was the first year that we stayed at Pavlakis Beach. Everything was nice and we enjoyed very much our stay. The beach right in front of the villa was clean and wonderful. The villa itself was big enough, equipped with all facilities and the view in front of it was relaxing. Mr. Andonis, the owner was very hospital and nice man. I noticed that he was very kind not only to us but to all his guest. He took us to a trip in the mountains and showed us new beaches and tavernas. Our experience was very nice and i highly recommend this hotel to families, couples and to whoever want to have a relaxing vacation and enjoy the best of Chania.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ol1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My Sister, Mother and myself visited Pavlakis Beach Apartments in September 2011. The apartments themselves are a little tired but this is more than made up for by having a wonderful beach front position and the genuine, generous host in Andonis. Nothing is too much trouble. He looked after us as if we were family.
On our Mother's Birthday he took us for a special meal in the mountains, wonderful local food, and on the return journey showed us more of this lovely Island. Andonis loves his Island, and rightly so.
We spent a much needed relaxing week and have already booked to return this year with more members of our family.
Local Tavernas serve reasonably priced food and one is made very welcome.
The bus to Chania Town runs twice an hour and the journey about 20 mins.

Room Tip: All the rooms are sea view. There is a larger apartment/villa on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrtyts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

A little gem. We have stayed at these apartments many times during the last 12 years The majority of Andonis Pavlakis' guests return regularly. (We've met some from USA, Canada, Australia & NZ.) His hospitality is sincere and genuine. Again this year he took us to new parts of western Crete and secret tavernas where very few tourist venure. He continues to run his complementary bar where guests help themselves to an assortment soft, alcoholic and hot drinks. A maid serviced the apartments daily. If you want to self cater (we preferred to explore the small tavernas off the main tourist routes) the kitchens are fully equipped with such items as full cooker, fridge-freezer, microwave, sandwiche maker, toaster, juicer, filter coffee maker etc. Our only criticism is that the apartments themselves, although have airconditioning, are 'tired' and need updating; but don't let this put you off!

Although there is a regular bus service into Chania (which must be visited) car hire is an advantage if you wish to explore the mountains. If you like walking, the Samaria Gorge is a must.

Lifeguards are on duty during the day.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbydip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.0 mi away
Esperides Apartments
Esperides Apartments
#10 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kristall Suites
Kristall Suites
#17 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropicana Beach Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camelia Studios & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Hotel Faros
Hotel Faros
#3 of 25 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marakis Hotel
Marakis Hotel
#11 of 14 in Platanias
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavlakis Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavlakis Beach Apartments

Property: Pavlakis Beach Apartments
Address: 7th Km Hanion-Kasteliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Chania Town
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pavlakis Beach Apartments Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing