We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always delivers”
Review of Ela Taverna

Ela Taverna
Ranked #47 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens Greece
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Always delivers”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

No, this is not a tourist trap although popular with toursits. Huge portions usually mean you over order. Wine by the carafe, white or red, is excellent value. The setting is just great - romantic and fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnEnglishmanInGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    267
    131
    59
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“TOURIST TRAP!!! STAY AWAY!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just got back from this fly-infested place. The waiter is a very charming character who will fool you into eating at this restaurant. What you don't realize (albeit smarter travelers than me) is that the prices are 2X what they should be even though they are on the menu. When I received my bill, I paid 40 EUR for a small portion baby lamb, a tiny salad, a draft beer and a tsatziki. Normaly, this would be in the 16-20 EUR price range. Dumb part of me is that I didn't look at the price before ordering.

Helpful?
Thank machinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peyia, cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Abusive waiter”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We had an ok meal but when we paid the change did not appear. We asked for it and was told he thought it was a tip. We said no the tip was separate. He fetched the change and then started swearing at us. The other staff then came out and we felt threatened and left quickly. We arrived in our 50s and it was one man and two women so we were hardly causing trouble. Spoilt our stay

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kastalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“The best in chania?”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

At least the best I tried. Some says the best in Greece:)
Excellent food, exellent service/staff, fantastic open roof restaurant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank arvidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Chiana”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Varied menu of Greek dishes served in a 16th century restored setting. Went back twice and loved it. Service was good and staff was very helpful

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank richgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ela Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Ela Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing