We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round Studios”
Review of Vranas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vranas Studios
Ranked #13 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Location is perfect in a small square behind the cathedral. It is a very short walk from the bus station and close to the harbour and rest of the old town. It is very convenient for shops and restaurants. It is only a very short distance to the market and several large supermarkets.

The room is furnished with wood and leather furniture. It certainly has a bit more style than your average Greek studio. The bed was large and very comfortable to sleep on. We had 2 balconies. The bathroom was great.There is a kettle,hotplate and coffee maker as well as a fridge. Although they can make you jump at first the church bells sound the services and are really charming

The hot plate for cooking was very basic which you expect but what I thought was dangerous is there is only one plug beside the sink for all appliances. This has the fridge plugged in. there is a plug adaptor but if you plug anything else in there can be several electric leads snaking through the sink

Room Tip: If you like to sit on a balcony ask for a corner room next to the cathedral. They have 2 balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieNot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect location, service, room and price.The only thing I didn't like was the noice from the wooden stairs coming out from our door. However it's still a very good place to stay in Chania:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xomatenios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Leaving out the fact that Greek people are ALWAYS nice and helpful; the rooms you get from them are so nice, the first thing you may start doing is taking photos with your mobile to send all your friends. Yes, you are here, middle in a fairy chamber lighted up with the afternoon sun and having all the rest of the day to visit the marvellous Venetian port. Don´t ask your partner to pinch you, you simply are in Chania!

Room Tip: The ones on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Vranas is centrally located near the church square and is no more than a three minute walk to the Venetian harbor. It is in an old Venetian house with several studios with large rooms and high ceilings. The bathroom was quirky as are many Greek bathrooms. This one had a bathtub which is unusual but the sides of the bathtub sloped to the bottom and one had to be very careful to hold on.
We thought the images of the room on the hotel web site indicated there was a balcony however it turned out to be just a Juliette balcony so we were not able to sit on it. We did see some other rooms with larger balconies so if that is important to you make sure you ask for a room with a larger balcony.
Lastly, Vranas is located near several tavernas and in the afternoon there was music which was lovely when it was good music. One day it was loud and not so nice but I think someone must have gone over to the taverna because suddenly the music stopped and was replaced by something more appropriate. The noise was not an issue for sleeping as the room was quite soundproofed. Beware on Sundays the church bells are a surprise.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony large enough to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stanbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it greatly :)

This hotel is in striking distance of bus stations, shops and restaurants.

The room itself was lovely and large, big king size bed and fridge facilities. Staff were very helpful with whatever we needed.

Due to location it can get a little bit noisy early evening (looks out onto restaurants) but settles down pretty quickly.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chunkpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Positive: Close to the busstation, just a 2 minute walk to the old harbour with its Venetian houses (spoiled with tourist traps btw). The room was big and spacious, with a small kitchen. Friendly staffmember Alexandra who gave us a better room, then we booked.

But we think the accommodation is far overrated at Booking.com. It's not as 'fabulous' as Booking is wanting us to belief. The bed was hard (for Greek standards it wasn't to bad). Balcony was really tiny, couldn't close the shutterblinds without putting the chairs and table inside the room. The hotel is located next to a church, woke up at 7 with a the loud noise of the clocks banging. Whilst being in the city center and above a square with bars and restaurants there is a lot of street noise till late in the night. With all the windows closed it is a little bit more silent, but then you would need to turn on the airco which was old and loud as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Although we didn't actually stay at Vranas studios at the end I only had a positive opinion! We booked to stay there for one night and a few days before we were due to stay there we got an email kindly asking us if we were willing to stay at a different place as they were overbooked for that night. They told us the alternative accommodation would be nice and I happily accepted the change. I phoned them to tell them that I was happy to do that and the lady I spoke to by phone could not thank me enough. The accommodation they arranged for was fabulous and the girl at reception when we arrived there was extremely polite and happily took us to the alternative hotel. It was really good to see people live up to their word..

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kos002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
#3 of 115 in Chania Town
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helena Hotel
Helena Hotel
#17 of 115 in Chania Town
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
624 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vranas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vranas Studios

Address: Mitropoleos Square & Agion Deka, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £34 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vranas Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old Town of Chania only 50 m from the Venetian port Vranas Studios offers spacious guestrooms with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vranas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vranas Studios Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing