We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything very nice”
Review of Amphora Taverna

Amphora Taverna
Ranked #34 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything very nice”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

One of the few restaurants on the Venetian harbor where no one tries to get you into the restaurant.

Prices are reasonable, the food is very nice (especially the gyros) and you receive liquor, bread, and dessert free of charge. Staff is very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julian1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    392
    142
    40
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice option on the harbour”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed an early meal in this pretty restaurant. We were well looked after by attentive staff. Good food and good value which was unexpected for the lovely harbour location

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiLoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Stunning View but Vey Ordinary Food”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

So the view from this place (albeit the same as from any of the waterside eateries) is simply stunning, day or night. And to be fair, it's very quaintly decorated, the staff are exceptionally friendly and, as an added bonus, they put out gas heaters when the onshore breeze gets a little chilly. But none of that can hide the fact that the food is very ordinary indeed; its just the same Greek staples done with minimum care and effort as you'll find in any other touristic taverna. (For example, the souvlaki, either of pork or chicken, comes just as chunks of the meat stuck on a skewer; the better places at least add a few pieces of onion or pepper as well!). I really can't understand why it scores so high on TA. There's nothing wrong with it as such, but it's simply not in the same league of many of the much better quality eateries in the backstreets (like Tamam or Portes or Mesostrato etc etc).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEP7, Guest Relations Manager at Amphora Taverna, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
thank you that you give us the change to notice that our souvlaki (as you can see at the costumers photos) comes with more than 400gr fillet of fresh meat ,more than half portion of fresh potatoes,a lot of rice with peppers and tomato, cucumber and a slice of lemon.i don't know why you prefer better slice of peppers and onions between the meat,for sure that way make the portions smaller and that places are the touristic eateries and not our place who have been recommended in more than 50 guide books....thanks for your time amphora restaurant facing the water...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a little overrated”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The bread and olive paste appetiser was really nice as were the aubergine fritters however we were quite dissapointed by the mains which were more kebab shop than restaurant standard e.g all the main courses were served with chips. The staff were very nice and it may be the best restaurant on the harbour (it is one of the only ones without someone hassling you to go into it) and the view is very nice but the food is not as good as some of the restaurants on the streets behind the harbour

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timaaeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great staff.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This is a typical Greek restaurant with a full menu and everything was delicious. I couldn't manage all my meal and the waiters were concerned and wanted to know if anything was wrong - they made a great deal of effort altogether. Three Albanian children came and sang and played traditional bazouki, drum and accordion and they were very talented, the staff were kind and respectful to them because they were genuine musicians and not begging. Clean loos too, very important.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEP7, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Amphora Taverna, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for your nice review we are very glad that we can make our costumers satisfied with so many reasons,big pleasure to see you again....and don't forget with smiling customers we just enjoy to give our best so we are mirror of you....so the customers just need to be smiling and all the rest its up to us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amphora Taverna also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing