We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ionas Boutique Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halepa Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
US$167
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel(Chania Town)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$61
US$57
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Civitel Akali Hotel(Chania Town)
US$150
US$124
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Sun Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
384
39
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
39
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold portold buildingfennel pierose petalsperfect locationyogurtbreakfast was includedmodern facilitiesfavorite hotelwatching the worldthe entire stafffirst floorbeautiful harbourwonderful hotelrestaurants and shopsfour nightsspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2012

So many great things to say about this hotel! The people were so nice and friendly, the hotel room was beautiful and clean, and the location was amazing! We were on our honeymoon so they scattered rose petals on the bed and offered us a free bottle of sparkling wine and a fruit tray and both tasted great! The breakfast is included in the morning and is WONDERFUL as well. They offer cretan pancakes (kinda like a thin peta with a light cheese in the middle and honey on top), eggs any way you like, cereal, bowls of fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, and so much more and you can have as much as you like!! There are not that many rooms so they really take very good care of the guests they have. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Take the room with a balcony overlooking the old harbor! That is what we did and it was wonderful!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SabrinaJayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We loved this hotel. Perfectly is located at the end of the harbor bay - in the middle of everything without the noise and the crowd. The rooms (we stayed in rooms 6 and room 8) have the century old building's charm, all the modern amenities, and are tastefully decorated. But what really made it special in our view, is Aliki - the sweet young lady who manages the front desk. She is always there to help in her sincere and warm way, be it meeting us up from two blocks away to help out with the luggage, making restaurant suggestions, or finding out bus and ferry schedules for hiking to the famous Samaria Gorge and back. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank No_Boundray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Great location. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Great sea view. Breakfast was enjoyable.

Staff were warm and friendly. When we arrived by car we had trouble finding a park, the young lady at the reception, after a call from me advising we had arrived but didn't know the hotel location, advised we were just around the corner. Told us to stay there and she would come to us. Not only did she find us, she parked the car and walked us directly to the hotel room.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed 5 nights in June and WOW what a wonderful experience. We had booked a deluxe room with balcony but I think we ended up in the Suite. The room was at the top and back of the building so that our view (which we thought would be overlooking the harbour) actually overlooked the lighthouse.This ended up being a lot quieter at night and we could leave the windows and doors open when we were sleeping. Each night we drifted off to the distant mellow sounds of an old Cretan playing a piano accordian down near the harbour, how pleasant! The staff were really helpful and ever ready to assist us with anything, the were also very trendy which matched the blend of funky and classic design of this wonderful 400+ year old building. The location was superb. We could walk out the door and straight around the harbour to the myriad of restaurants and shops or take a right hand turn out of the building and take the very picturesque back alleyways to avoid the hawkers outside the waterfront cafes. The breakfast choices were varied and there was plenty to have if you want. It's also an easy 20 minute walk to the city beach which we did twice. Free bottled water each day is nice. We thought the pricing was very fair especially when you consider it is one of the nicest places to stay in Chania. By the way, they only have 6 rooms which makes it feel more like a B&B.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony, you won;t regret it.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelbabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here for two nights in early May before moving out to a countryside villa. Both the hotel and the staff are charming. The location is great and we loved taking breakfast on the cobbles in front of the hotel and watching the world go by in the harbour each morning.There is a great choice on the breakfast menu and everything is freshly prepared. Even better, they serve breakfast until 12 each day, so you can either have a lie in, or go for a wander around the harbour and then come back for a later breakfast/brunch. Our room was small, but beautifully appointed and perfectly fine for a short stay. We thought Chania itself was lovely. Not as smart as Rethymnon perhaps, but much more atmospheric and eating out was much better value. We arrived quite late on a Sunday night but were greeted very warmly and recommended to try Tamam, a restaurant nearby. The food and location (in a narrow back street) were excellent - we even thought about taking another trip into Chania later in the week to eat there again. If you visit Chania, stay at the Alcanea and eat at Tamam if you can! Thankyou Alcanea team for a lovely relaxing start to our holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayQueen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews