We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room, Location, Hospitality, and Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 113 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Room, Location, Hospitality, and Breakfast!”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here at the end of November. I have already recommended this place to friends. It made our entire experience in Crete so positive. All the positive reviews mentioned previously are valid. I am so happy that we used those reviews to help us decide to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    36
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
61
271
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Thank you so much to the stuff at Alcanea Boutique! I was staying alone there but felt so comfortable at the best location in Chania! The breakfast was great with many teas and coffee options - they are actually nice cafe so they know how to serve the right stuff including Greece or Crete traditional foods :)
They were also VERY hopeful how to travel around the island.
I had one of the best relaxing peaceful and exciting a the same time trips in Chania!
I can come back here again in future and explore more since 3 days was not enough for me :))
Yiamas!

MK

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrilissia, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Me and my child stayed there for one night
I am a speech and language therapist and i went there to give a seminar.
The place of the hotel at the end of the old port gave as the opportunity to admire the view .it was also very near the main city so we could easyly walk even I had my 8 years old daughter
Aliki at the recepcion was so kind with a big smile all time.
Breakfast outside was very home made.
The room was big.and in the bathroom they had Apivita cosmetics ,very impresive.
It was really buissnes and pleasure

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axyga x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

3 friends purchased this property, renoved it lovingly and now manage it day to day.It was their personal touches that made our stay memorably special.
An example. My partner was looking to shop for a special souvenir purchase and Anastasia even took the trouble to talk to one of the older locals before suggesting, and marking on a map, 4 possible sources. He found just what he wanted at the first.
We loved Chania and particulary the Old Town and harbour area. It is particularly beautiful at night when the lights sparkle on the water. Yes, the restaurant touts can be a bit irritating but generally they are quite good natured and we understand their purpose in the quieter off-season period during which we visited. We thought it quite a good time to visit as Chania is not closed down (like quite a few other resort areas on the island) but is certainly not crowded as it would be in the hot summer peak.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The stairs are tricky if you have heavy bags. We enjoyed our sea view from room 2 and left the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Where to begin with this glowing review!?
To start off I will declare my undying love for the city of Hania (Chania). I have done quite a lot of travelling in my 26 years and I have no reservations in saying that this is my favourite city (along with the western part of Crete). If you are struggling to decide on where to visit- chose Hania- you will not be disappointed!
This incredibly lovely boutique hotel is situated at the end of a gorgeous old lane right on the edge of the Venetian Harbour. The position is perfect as you are close enough to the action to feel involved- yet far enough away from the tacky package tourist to enjoy the essence of Hania.
Your hosts and everyone that works at the hotel are wonderful. Aliki and Anastasia are both beautiful and energetic women who will help to make your stay just that little bit better. Nothing was too much trouble for them (they even organised an early breakfast and a packed lunch when we caught the early bus up to Samaria Gorge).
The hotel itself is beautiful and has been decorated perfectly. They have really allowed the character of the old building to shine through and have tastefully chosen every fixture and ornament to compliment the space. We even ended up buying a traditional Kilim carpet because we fell in love with the one in our room!
Breakfast is wonderful! We loved the order sheet where you chose what you will eat rather than have a buffet style- the food is fresher and it means you don't over eat (which i am known for!) The only downside to breakfast was the eggs where not sensational- but this is not a problem as the the FRESHLY squeezed orange juice and the traditional cheese and honey crepes make up for it ten folds!!! and the home made jams where always so delicious!!!
Breakfast is served out the front of the hotel on there street terrace which also doubles as a cafe during the day and wine bar at night. They always had good music playing (which was such a nice change from the awful "musac" playing at our previous hotel) and it made for a fantastic option if you just wanted to stay around the hotel or have a night cap before bed. All the staff are so nice and after a few days you feel like family!
Our room was beautiful! I think they have 8 to chose from and I really liked their booking process- you can see which of their rooms are available on which nights. We ended up staying in room 7 (i think) It was on the second floor and had a little balcony that overlooked the old harbour and all of the restaurants- we would sit out there for hours with a gin and tonic and just watch! The room was lovely and decorated really nicely- the bathroom is new and clean!!! The room was not massive but it was big enough for the two of us! But i know there are other rooms that are massive so just email the hotel and they will help you chose the right room for you- they were very helpful when i was trying to chose- and i ended up deciding we wanted the room with the terrace overlooking the harbour as we love to people watch!
We really loved this hotel. We had a look at others whilst we were in the city and we decided that we had chosen well as we think ours was the best!
If you are after a 5 star luxury experience this hotel might not quite live up to all of your expectations as it does not have a 24hr reception or room service etc. but if you are after a wonderful personalised stay where you feel like a spoilt friend rather than a paying guest then chose this hotel.
It was magical!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were greeted by a charming young woman with excellent recommendations and taken to our spacious , comfortable yet characterful room with a lovely view of the lighthouse. When we came down to breakfast we found a few tables, just yards from the water front. There was no buffet or any signs of food, however within minutes our table was groaning with a superb selection, both in quantity and quality. This was brought home to us as we continued our trip to the Capsaliana, where the difference in quality was all too evident.
We would not hesitate to recommend the Alcanea...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scherbsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Amazing boutique hotel in Chania's Venetian Port. Just stayed for a night as our base for this trip was in Malia, but this place made me want to cancel my other reservation and stay there for the rest of my holidays.
Amazing historic building very well renovated. Huge suite with large and modern bathroom. Breakfast simple but good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Property: Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcanea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing