We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Amalthia Beach Resort(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Porto Veneziano Hotel(Chania Town)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel(Chania Town)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
389
40
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
40
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold portold buildingfennel pierose petalsperfect locationyogurtbreakfast was includedmodern facilitiesfavorite hotelwatching the worldthe entire stafffirst floorbeautiful harbourwonderful hotelrestaurants and shopsfour nightsspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We kicked off our Greek holdiay in Crete with a stay at the lovely Alcanea Boutique Hotel. We loved it. Our only regret is that we didn't get to stay longer. This hotel is located right on the waterfront with a beautiful view of the harbor and the lighthouse. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable with lovely modern bathrooms. Breakfast in the outside garden was delicious - probably the best breakfast we had during our entire 2 week stay in Greece. What really made it special for us though was the manager Anastasia. Just a lovely person. We loved this hotel and highly recommend it for your stay in Chania.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surfdiva8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at Alcanea and feel that the rating of No 1 in Chania is fully justified. The position at the west side of the harbour, next to the maritime museum is close to the old town but not so close as to be disturbed by any noise from the bars or restaurants. Our room, No 2, looked across the Firka castle and out to sea. The hotel building is from Venetian times, so very solidly built, with large, thick doors and very high ceilings giving a light and airy feel.

The bed, being 6ft wide takes up a lot of space but leaves enough room to be comfortable. The bathroom is very modern with the shower in an enclosure more in the style of a wet room. The water was always very hot.

Breakfast is served in front of the hotel at tables overlooking the harbour from 8am till lunchtime. It is ordered on a tick box form and arrives in a few minutes, and what a breakfast it is! Cereals, bread, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, cake in all forms and combinations plus all the various teas, coffees, and juices imaginable. We found that breakfast lasted us until the evening with just drinks during the day. Drinks and snacks are served by the ever attentive and cheerful staff so there is always a nice atmosphere.

The small reception office is a mine of information on bus times, taxis, restaurants, shops, beaches and everything you might need. Anastasia and the hotel team are the best we have ever come across - all very special people whose sole aim is to look after their guests - which they all do very well. We have been to Chania several times and for any future trips we will be staying at the Alcanea. You would be able to find cheaper but unlikely to find better!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SussexFlyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My wife, baby and I stayed here May 2013 and really liked it. The room was plusher and better finished than other places we stayed (see my pics). We were in room 7, on the 2nd floor, overlooking the harbour; the view was excellent. The room had lots of windows making it bright and airy. The hotel is a nice old building, with a pleasant café on the ground floor. Other points:

Good wifi in the room
Quiet courtyard for guests to use, with drinks making facility
Good breakfast
Friendly staff
Big TV, lots of channels
Room safe
Decent hair dryer
Big bed
Fridge

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thenighthawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Bit of a delayed review of this hotel, but better late then not at all.
We stayed here last year and found the Hotel, location and especially the staff to be spot on, its as simple as that.
The only bad comments I could make and we was warned about this, but didnt think it would be as small as it was, and I feel you should definatley know, is that a couple of the rooms especially room 1 are very very VERY small.The only other negative comment and its nothing to do with the Hotel is that you do get pested by the waiters outside every restaraunt, but lets face it you get that nearly evrywhere.
Overall I would give the Hotel Alcanea 8 out of 10. It looses two points just because of the size of our room, but we did pick one of the cheepest rooms, hence you get what you pay for. We were given a different room for the first 3 nights after the manager saw the look on our face`s when she showed us room 1 which was great. As for the location I would also give it 8 out of 10. Its with in easy walking distance to lots of restaraunts, shops and the beach but again looses a couple of points just because of the annoying waiters. But its easy to say no to them.

Room Tip: Book this Hotel if you like the Boutique style Hotel, where you get that personal touch. But pay a bit more for one of the much bigger and better roomS. Appart from that you will have a great stay at the Alcanea. ENJOY.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsmThe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just returned from three night stay at the Alcanea,boutique hotel. From the first email to checkout this place leaves beautiful memories that will last forever! The friends, who have carefully restored this hotel are the best hosts on the planet ! the place has style in every aspect, from the cleanliness, beds to die for, bathroom design, this place could not be improved on in any way ! The hosts cannot do enough to make your stay perfect from information about best restaurants ,things to do etc. Forget the guide books ,just take their advice.Dont know were to start about the breakfasts, Delicious and served on the most beautiful terrace.We were in the area for four nights ,hotel was fully booked for our last night
so why we were out and about the staff contacted all other hotels to find us a place to stay, We did nothing ,they did all the hardwork.and found us another beautiful residence , I cannot thank Anastasia,Aliki,Maria,Georgos enough and cant wait to return in September.We are three adults and had room 1 -exceptional in every way. One of our party just mentioned they had fell asleep and had sunburn !!! When we returned to the room there was fresh yoghurt ,clingfilm wrapped and placed in the fridge!!! you feel like you are staying with family members ,they are so caring and attentive. Since returning home i keep dreaming of being back home at Alcanea

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerseysideDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews