We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 96 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The Alcanea sits in a prime position overlooking the picturesque port of Chania and it's superb location is matched only by the friendliness and hospitality of it's staff. This lovely boutique hotel forms a natural link between the Venetian harbour and the labyrinth of bustling back streets that make Chania such a special place. With breakfasts to die for, luxury rooms and a staff team that puts customer care at the forefront of it's operation, there can be few better ways of soaking up the charm, ambience and very special character of one of Europe's better kept secrets. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen19Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    34
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
59
253
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Great place right on the port with friendly staff and excellent service. Breakfast was great and very fresh. Everything was freshly made and had the taste of Crete.The location is very attractive and there plenty of taverns to enjoy the Cretan cuisine.The rooms, the air conditioner and the bathroom are excellent.Do not hesitate to ask the staff for anything. They are extremely friendly and helpful.Ask the where to eat and you get the best recommendation. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of theport are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Alcanea for 4 nights this past June during our trip to Crete. I don't even know where to begin. The hotel is stunning, the location is FANTASTIC (right on the Old Port, but on the opposite end of the loud touristy district. BUT if you DO want to go to that district, it's not even a 5 minute walk away!)
Breakfast was amazing! Service was perfect (the staff even helped us with our bags all the way from our car, which was parked about 10 minutes away, in 105 degree weather, by the way).

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, and I have NEVER stayed in such a perfect hotel like the Alcanea. The prices are very reasonable, and even very cheap for what you are getting. An amazing value! We were very sad to leave this place. Great restaurants in the area (like the Kalderimi at the corner... speak to Niko or Petro at the restaurant for some great suggestions!) and the hotel staff gives great directions for the best beaches in Crete.

I can go on and on and on

And ON AND ON AND ON AND ON on how great this place is. I would HIGHLY recommend the Alcanea to any traveller. Chania is a beautiful area of Greece, and the beauty, service, and convenience of this hotel helped make our trip very memorable in many positive ways!

Room Tip: There are different types of rooms, but we just took a standard double room and we still loved it. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eagermike93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We recently spent two nights at Alcanaea, and were very pleased we had made the choice to stay there. The location is perfect - in the Old Town on the harbor, but at the quiet end, which was perfect for our needs.
Stayed in Room 5 (I think), which was a tiny room up two flights of stairs. It had soaring ceilings, a modern bathroom, and lovely windows. We knew it was small when we booked it, and it was fine for our needs, but would recommend a room on a lower floor if you have any mobility issues, and possibly a larger room if you are staying for a longer period.
The service was wonderful, and we were treated very kindly and warmly by the staff.
Breakfast outdoors was a highlight, with lots of choices, beautiful views, and a helpful server.
We received advice on what to see, where to dine, etc., and were also given a complimentary bottle of wine, which was very much appreciated. Thank you, Alcanea!!! We recommend Alcanea for your stay in Chania - it's perfect!

Room Tip: Splurge for a harbor-view room. We didn't, but if we returned (which we hope to do some day), w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenoritaSuzieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Alcanea Boutique Hotel has all charms of my understanding of luxury: located in the amazing old building with more than 400years, in the Venetian Port if Chania, offers 8 different rooms - all with amazing views and design. You can feel the personal touch of the 3 great friends from Athens who create the atmosphere of this magic place: worth to come for a day or a week - doesn;t matter how long you stay you can be sure that the place stays in your heart forever. Additionally amazing breakfasts!
you can find my photos: http://intopassion.pl/alcanea-boutique-hotel-uroczy-jak-samo-miasteczko-chania-na-krecie/

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night in room 8 before heading back home after a previous 9 nights in a boutique apartment within the old town but it was well worth it, a great way to finish a great holiday. The room was simply the best mix of old Venetian charm, with its high ceilings and understated period features, and the modern, with a superb bathroom set down a few steps in a separate adjoining room. Room 8 would be the perfect romantic honeymoon retreat; with windows open on a hot summers night laying on the huge king size bed listening to swallows and the gentle crashing of the sea I'm not sure how it could be anymore perfect than it is. Hats off to this hotel for creating an amazing atmosphere almost effortlessly. We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great location right on the harbor without being in the middle of all the fuss. And lovely service-- we booked last minute and checked in early and they were very accommodating. They even researched car rental quotes for us when we were out and about because we told them we were interested.

We usually travel more budget than this, but we were on our honeymoon and I'm a design sucker so we opted to stay here for one of our nights in Hania and it was definitely worth it.

Speaking of honeymoons: we had a bottle of sparkling wine and some local honey raki waiting for us with rose petals! Too sweet.

Complimentary breakfast was delicious and you could choose from a ton of options which they brought right to your table, restaurant style.

The room itself was itty-bitty, but I believe we were in the absolutely smallest one available and it was spotless. While the design of the room was nothing to write home about, I absolutely loved the details of the rest of property: the lovingly restored old building, the tiles, the old photos, the boldly colored walls.

A charming place!

P.S. Don't let the 4 instead of 5 stars deter you from booking here; I'm just very stingy about my 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#21 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Property: Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcanea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing