We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, location -- what more can you want”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights in early July. The staff was uniformly incredible. Accommodating, resourceful -- full of excellent advice for planning our days in Chania. Didn't need a tourist information office as they had all the info and advice we needed. This place is a gem. The room was spacious, comfortable with an interior deck. The breakfasts were more than adequate. But the one thing that placed them way ahead of the crowd was the attentive service. As just one example, on the day we were leaving we asked for recommendations for wine tasting venues on the other side of Crete - near Aghios Nikolaos. They actually called several of the wineries in the area and provided us with detailed info as to location and when they were open for tasting. Our time in Chania was truly relaxing and wonderful -- and this hotel had a big role in making our experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jan01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Jan,

The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and for your very kind words.

Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.
Our home is a temporary home..

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

I originally booked the Yildiz room because it had its own balcony. Having finally found Fatma Hanoum after walking from the bus station (you simply have to ask or you will be searching for hours!) we were very graciously welcomed and offered a freshly squeezed orange juice.. However we were then shown to a different room to the one booked. When we pointed this out, the receptionist became distraught and blurted out that there had been a terrible mix up and that two people had made on line bookings for the same dates simultaneously and the rooms had "crossed over". This is obviously ridiculous and technologically impossible, but as the alternative room was very pleasant and we had access to the roof garden, we were not too bothered.

Fatma Hanoum is a delight, boutique, quiet, luxurious, very clean and with extremely friendly and helpful service. There is no street noise thanks to the excellent double glazing and the quiet location, yet it is less than 2 minutes walk to the harbour. Breakfasts are good. Having investigated some of the rival establishments, I really do not think you can do any better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear client,


The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and especially for the noticing of the complains you have.

Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers which is our first goal since we have opened the doors of our hotel.

We need to apologize for your inconvenience and we assure you that we will take very seriously all the facts that you mentioned, and we will make sure that none of these will happen again.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed for 7 nights in this small luxury hotel from 8th-15th July. So let's get down to the review.

Location: The hotel is situated in a quite street just behind the beautiful port front of Chania with its great view & cafe culture. Literally turn right when you exit the hotel, then turn right again, walk a minute, turn left & your at the port. Being set back from the port the hotel has the added bonus of being very quite at night even though on your doorstep there are a few very nice Greek restaurants. All rooms are soundproof so noise is not a problem.

Staff: Marianna is the owner. A truly wonderful lady. Very kind & nothing is to much trouble for her. She made us feel very welcome & you did not feel like just another number as so often is the case with larger hotels. There should be many more like Marianna in the hotel industry in Ireland.

Check In: We arrived around 10pm & were greeted by the 2nd fantastic member of staff Ilani (Helen)... I've probably spelt her name wrong. She was just as Marianna, full of welcomes & showed us to our wonderful room & gave us a detailed run down of how everything worked. Check in was simple & all the boring paperwork was done in a minute. She had a small bottle of the local fire water in the room for us & brought us up a refreshing fresh orange juice then recommended a nice place for a bite before bed. She is an ESSENTIAL asset to the hotel I have to say. We were slightly unwell on a day & she brought us up food to our room & made sure we were OK. Wow!

Breakfast: Small, comfortable breakfast room. Beautiful glass ceiling. Again fresh orange juice, GREAT coffee & an array of choice. Croissant, bacon, eggs, sausages, pies, yougart & fruit, cereals. You won't be stuck for choice. The staff there were great too.

Rooms: We stayed in the Deniz room which was on the 1st floor & has its own balcony looking onto the lovely wee street below. Nice to sit on in the evening or first thing in the morning. The room is very very well finished off. Great attention to detail. You can tell there has been ALOT of thought put into the design. The bed has cocomat mattress which was lovely & made for a great sleep. There is lovely Olive shower products & a nice rain shower to use them in. Air con was silent & kept the room at a nice temp. You also have a safe & decent wardrobe space. Again all furniture is of top quality. There is a hairdryer & an Illy coffee machine....yeah really. Great touch. The rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day & again the cleaning staff were so polite & just great. Thanks.

So are you reading this review & thinking of booking Hotel Farma? Well STOP thinking then & click book! I saw sooooo many people stop as they walked past the hotel to look in. I felt all posh sitting in it lol. Seriously spend that little bit more. I always remembered a saying my old granny told me. She would say "son if you spend peanuts you will only ever get monkeys...." Well I didn't see any peanut shells laying around Hotel Farma......& there werent any monkeys....I rest my case.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

DearJustin,

We can not thank you enough for your review and for your very kind words.

Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.
Our home is a temporary home..
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

We send you our best regards!
The Management and the staff of Fatma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I honestly can't get over the hospitality that the lovely hotel staff have here! We stayed here for a week in june/July and had a wonderful stay! I was greeted with a tour and fresh orange juice. We then went into our room Sibel and the room was pristine with all the facilities we could possibly need!

We had fresh towels and bedding everyday! We were given some great ideas on what to do during our stay. Me and my partner were treated to a great fresh breakfast every morning. I also was very ill during my stay and they seemed genuinely caring and helpful. (Thanks Fay!)

We wanted to thank all the girls at the hotel, including the cleaning staff for making us feel welcome and we hope to stay again someday. Thankyou Marianne...your Hotel is quirky and awesome!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Happyfree,


The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and for your very kind words.
Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.
Our home is a temporary home..
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are recently back from a weeks stay in this small boutique hotel which is just a few hundreds meters from the old Venetian harbour in Chania .What an experience.Whilst we had the smallest room in the hotel(6 in total) as it was the only one available for our 7 night stay....it was superbly appointed.The building has been completely renovated to extremely high standards with lots of lovely touches in the rooms which included an IPod docking station,local Olive oil toiletry products,along with the usual hair drier,safe and even a small bottle of raki!! The owner and all her staff were so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable.The rooms also benefited from air con and a ceiling fan which is our preference and a small balcony which overlooked one of the delightful side streets.The mosquito screens and double glazed windows also ensured any mosquitos and noise remained outside!!!Breakfast was served in a light and airy room with a good selection of cereals, cooked breakfast and Cretan products.Fruit was plentiful and they even made up a breakfast for us take away on two days when we were going to miss breakfast.Thank you Marianna and all the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zumba Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Zumba Z,

The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and for your very kind words.
Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.

Our home is a temporary home..

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was the splurge of our trip and well worth it! The room was absolutely beautiful, with a lovely big comfy bed, and our own little sun terrace.

The downstairs rooms are very attractive as well, and the breakfast was very good.

The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The hotel itself is a 5 min. walk from a parking garage that only charges 6 Euros per day (contact hotel for directions). The hotel itself is in a small street in the prettiest part of the old town, packed with tavernas and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Amitante,

The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and for your very kind words.
Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.
Our home is a temporary home..
We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights for both work and leisure. This hotel is a calm and wonderful haven, and the calibre of the guest rooms reflect that the owners have put a lot of thought into the finer details, to provide a very comfortable and relaxing stay. From the well-equipped guest rooms, complete with coffee maker, comfortable bed and soft bedding, a walk-in robe (no more falling over open suitcases on the floor) to the colourful bathrooms with their complimentary Oliva toiletries, the staff go out of their way to ensure your comfort is their priority. The hotel breakfast is served in the tranquil dining room, with a full hot and/or cold breakfast, freshly pressed juices and delicious local pastries and breads. There is a roof garden complete with sun beds for guests to use. The location is very central, only a couple of minutes' walk to the harbour front, with a huge choice of bars, excellent restaurants and shops within a stone's throw of the hotel. We found the staff to be very attentive without being pushy, and the hotel is very well maintained. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return when we have an opportunity.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Aussiespanishdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatma H, Ιδιοκτήτης at Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear client,
The management and the staff of our hotel are thank you particularly for your review and for your very kind words.
Each review is valuable for us either if it positive or negative as it helps us to become better and to always offer high quality services to our customers.

Our home is a temporary home..

We would be pleased to welcome you again in our hotel and we assure you that we will do our best to make your stay memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 Skoufon | Old Harbour, Chania Town, Crete 73131, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: £53 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow alley in the heart of the Old Harbour of Chania, you will find the Fatma Hanoum Hotel, an old mansion that harmoniously combines the Venetian and Ottoman architecture. It has been renovated with care and attention to detail and has been lovingly restored to its former glory. The architectural mix of wood and stone of the old building, the twinkling lights, the warm colors and the modern furnishings create an effect of romantic elegance, warmth and an intimate atmosphere that both relaxes and refreshes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fatma Hanoum Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing