We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class - as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Class - as always”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was my sixth stay at this superb hotel in the last 2.5 years. Beautifully set in the old harbour it is perfectly located for wandering anywhere in the town and particularly along the waterfront. I echo the earlier posters comments about the rooms with a sea view which offer outstanding views at any time of the day or night. The hotel staff are a cut above and are extremely welcoming and helpful whenever I visit. The recent renovations have improved the hotel markedly not that there was anything amiss previously. I can't recommend the hotel enough and will be visiting later again this year both on business and then leisure with my wife.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the extra but reasonable cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mickgritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    227
    31
    7
    2
See reviews for
155
619
76
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worrstadt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you can afford to pay for one of the rooms with sea view, do it because is absolutely priceless! Sitting on our little balcony watching the sunset and drinking a beer was a total delight and so worth the money. The room itself was a little small but it didn't matter to us since we spent most of the time outside. Everything in the hotel was recently renovated so everything is very modern and clean looking. You have air condition and wifi available in the room. The staff were always very friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was really nice, with a lot of different things to choose from. Also when we arrived we were told that all the contents from the minibar were for free during our stay as a gift for they were still renovating.... which we thought was a very nice surprise. We only had a small issue with a shower door that was still missing precisely due to renovations which we found a little odd at the begining... but at the end it didn't really matter that much. All in all, we enjoyed really much our stay in this hotel and we can't wait to come back! Would recomend to everyone looking to spend some days in Chania.

Room Tip: Take one of the rooms with sea view! you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Eleni at Fantasy travel worked up a private holiday for a group of us. We traveled to Athens and several islands. All of the hotels were good and the service at each was excellent. For location, service, condition of the facility, and wifi quality, Porto Veneziano was the best. Our room was tiny--think old sections of Paris, but immaculate and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very good, and came with free cappuccinos. The people at the desk and in the breakfast room were very good and so patient. The best part for me was that although the hotel is right on the lovely harbor and has great views, it's quiet and out of the insanity that reigns down near the old mosque.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Excellent view of the old harbor. Great renovation made this a great experience. Very good breakfast buffet. Very polite and eager staff. Limited parking. Air conditioning could be improved. Free WiFi.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Porto Veneziano is an excellent choice for a hotel in Chania. After touring the town and viewing all of the other hotels, i was very satisified that my choice could not have been better. The location was right on the water with a lovely view across from the lighthouse and the marina.You are only a very short walking distance from the restaurants and all of the gift shops but not so close where any night life would disturb your sleep.
The hotel staff was very friendly and would help you with anything you needed. With the hotel being recently renovated, it looked brand new throughout.
The breakfast buffet had everything you would want and a very clean setting! After eight days there my time was up and had to return home. Sure hated to leave such a nice area and hotel. I would highly recommend the Porto Veneziano for your stay in Chania!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have the water view but cost a little more. But who wants to vacation in a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jpecsek43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The rooms are a little on the small size, we could not open our suitcases anywhere except on the bed, but the rest of the hotel is spot on. The bathroom is large and clean. The reception staff is fantastic and so helpful. We wanted to hike, but were not able to spend all day on the Samaria Gorge. After much deliberation and consultation, the perfect hike was found for us and it was.
The location of this hotel is so nice, easy to walk to great restaurants, but away from the noise and crowds. The breakfast room and staff were very professional. They have free parking, too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The location was excellent. Impossible to get lost or to not be able to find it, because it is located at the base of the walkway out to the lighthouse and that is clearly marked on every map. Walking distance to everything in the city, including the main bus station. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The quality of the accommodation was decent, but not necessarily luxurious. No issues with cleanliness. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michaejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 108 in Chania Town
848 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 108 in Chania Town
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 108 in Chania Town
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#7 of 108 in Chania Town
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#11 of 108 in Chania Town
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing