We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It combines it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I only stayed for a night as a business traveler. I only had a few hours to relax and this hotel offered me everything I needed. Excellent location, helpful staff, new modern rooms with great beds and a great breakfast. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Manos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
There are newer reviews for Porto Veneziano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

The facility is brilliant, the breakfast very nice with lots of choices. The staff was helpful and pleasant but not always informed. The WIFI has a one device per sign-in that was a little annoying, but you won't spend much time online. The view the people and the food was fantastic. While in Chania take the Segway tour.

Room Tip: Ask for bay side the people watching from the balcony was great
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnscottross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. This Hotel is like 5 star hotel. The room is very clean and modern style. The mini bar was filled with water/beer/drinks every day. The staff was very kind whenever I see them. The breakfast was excellent. This hotel is located in old harbor and in excellent location. The hotel has their bicyles, and they are free of charge to rent them. We had great time in this old harbor area. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleLoveMinoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in mid-October. It's located directly on the harbour, with many restaurants outside the doors. Very helpful and pleasant staff. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of fresh foods, including fruit, yogurt, cereals, eggs, breads, cakes, meats, etc. It was especially pleasant to be able to go to the patio on the water's edge to enjoy breakfast - the views are lovely.
Hotel is located within easy walking (5 minutes or less) to the old town. As a result, the area around this hotel doesn't suffer from the noise of the old town. Unlike many of the old town hotels, this one is modern, very clean, and just a great place to stay while in Chania.

Room Tip: I had a side room overlooking a street with a partial ocean view, and pleasant balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlbertaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Following its total refurbishment, this hotel is superbly comfortable but its additional plus point is its breakfast.
I have had the pleasure of travelling to Greece since 1959. Then a breakfast was the Greek version of continental breakfast at its most basic but also delicious. It was "vouteromeli" i.e a saucer smeared with fresh butter and in the middle a large lake of local honey (not the horrid processed stuff you get in factory tins!) together with fresh crusty bread. On the islands, this bread usually came from true wood ovens and the meal was a joy accompanied as it was by a Greek coffee. Later in the 60s and 70s as more hotels came along , they provided their version of a continental breakfast. Packet rusks or "tost" and prepacked single packs of butter, a pre-pack of "marmelade" (horrid factory jam), some slices of dry bought cake, a glass of some orange-coloured substance which bore little or no relation to a true fresh orange drink and the dreaded nescafe.
The better hotels began to offer buffet breakfasts: I recall being on Naxos around Easter rather a long time ago and there were cold red-painted hard-boiled eggs on offer as well as local cheese and honey. This was a major improvement.
The Porto Veneziano has advanced way beyond this. It has, I think, around 57 rooms which are usually full. That means breakfast for around 100 people every morning. The hotel provides a brilliant range of both "European" as well as Cretan food.

I purloined a copy of the menu, gourmand that I am, and it makes excellent reading (and even better eating).
I like orange juice. You take your glass to be filled and refilled at the machine, which crushes the juice from the oranges before your eyes, as many times as you wish. There are other fruit juices also. Several types of coffee and black and herbal teas. When you come to bread there is a terrific range of white, dark and other breads which you can, if you prefer, toast yourself to your own preferred degree of combustion, as well as the international croissants and pastry goods. (There are also local cheese and spinach pies). I never had room to sample the home-made vanilla and chocolate cakes or the vast display of fresh fruit on offer but I always found a corner for some of the delicious local biscuits - cinnamon, nutty, almond and honey etc.
You could eat Cretan as well as more common main dishes - from omelettes with a range of contents and fried eggs and bacon and sausages to dakos, a range of cold meats, feta, graviera, goat's cheese, sliced cheese, accompanied if you wish by sliced tomato, pepper, olives of every size and hue, cucumber, as well as cereals, yoghurt both cow's and sheep's and a bowl of thyme honey for you to help yourself from with the aid of a honey twizzler. I used to dress my yoghurt also with dried fruits and seeds and nuts and it is scarcely surprising that I am now rather too many pounds heavier than when I started my holiday. I shall forbear from mentioning the spoon-sweets, the pralines, preserves and compotes and home made puddings and other desserts.....(why I am writing this on a dark gale-swept evening in UK? I should be back in Crete).
I think this hotel is excellent in all regards: the staff are outstanding in their approach and welcoming manner of dealing even with a cranky old fogy like me

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snurdbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The location was good, a quiet area a few minutes walk from the old city along the seafront. Extremely friendly and helpfull staff. Good and varied breakfast at the seaside. The room was nice. Actually, Everything was positive with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for two nights on the last leg of our Greek Island honeymoon. Location is perfect, right in the old Venetian harbour. Service is courteous and professional. The breakfast selection and quality of food was excellent. The hotel's appearance is thematically consistent with the surroundings, a modern take on a nautical theme with classic artwork. Clearly some thought went into this property. Free bike rentals that we never got a chance to try! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank we11and
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £81 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing