We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Ideal for both leisure and business travel. Very nice location and rooms, very helpful staff and amazing breakfast with local flavours. Ask for a room to the front side of the building. They have amazing view to the old harbour of Chania.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front side of the building. They have amazing view to the old harbour of Chani...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    221
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
148
592
71
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I've stayed at this Hotel a number of times over the last 10 or so years mainly because of the location and the excellent staff. What a surprise this year when we checked in. All the bedrooms have been refurbished and it felt like a different hotel. New colour schemes, great fabrics and comfortable furniture. Best of all, decent sized TVs! And still the best views in Chania and the best margaritas made by George in the bar. The location is perfect being on the harbour but away from the really busy sections. Already looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can. 2 balconies both with sunset views that are indescribable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SONOFSTRATHAVEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agios Nikolaos, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our whole trip at PortoVenziano was fantastic, the staff were amazingly helpful, the rooms were amazing and the breakfast was just so so delicious. The hotel is very close to Chania old town and also close to great restaurants. The views of the old fort wall were fabulous and the wall is really fun to walk along.

Room Tip: We chose the suite rooms as we had kids with us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here with friends. I had a room in the back, they had a room with a view. Their view room was tiny with 2 small beds and a balcony that looked over the beautiful harbour with sunsets only a poet could describe. My room was 2x the size with a double bed and a very nice bathroom, but i had a view of the parking lot and could smell roasted fish around dinner time from the restaurant next door, not that thats a bad thing or anything :) You might not like the lift, its a one-person style and some found it claustrophobic. The hotel was quiet at night as its at the other end of the horse-shoe shaped old harbour. Everything is within walking distance with many, many awesome restaurants near by. I would stay here again without hesitation. Eat at Well of the Turk and do not miss Tamam. Steki has delish mousakka.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is located on the eastern harbourfront, across from the busier, western side (with the fort), and thus lies in a quieter environment. However, all parts of the harbour are easily reached by a short walk. Building and rooms are immaculate and modern and the hotel has a parking lot behind (very useful if you have a rented car). Fine sea/harbour views available. Staff could not be friendlier or more helpful. Breakfast is excellent but could be improved by having self-service coffee (instead of waitress service).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Just spent two nights in this lovely hotel in a town that has become one of our favorites! Chania! And to think, we had never heard of it before coming to Crete and we are well traveled. Truly an enchanting old Venetian port town, this hotel enjoys the pefect vantage point from which to enjoy the stunining view. And, it's at the quieter side of the port, a bit away from the "action" yet still close to everything you want. The hotel itself has just been recently renovated and is in prime condition. Everything is perfectly delightful, even though the rooms are a bit on the small side. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the beds as comfy as they come and the breakfast is bountiful and tasty! It's a great value and we'd return anytime. The staff was kind enough to present me with a free bottle of Cretan wine for my birthday, which we greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra for the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

being by the harbour, close to the 'old town' of Hania.....friendly helpful staff and excellent value for money. I was impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, the generous breakfast. This was not our first stay at this hotel and we were as impressed this time as were last time when we stayed with friends. All going well, we hope to stay here again on our next visit to Hania.

Room Tip: rooms with a harbour view and balcony...so you can relax and soak up the atmosphere on a starry nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank joseph i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing