We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a few days in Chania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Maybe the best choice for a few days in Chania: close to the center, on the quiet site of the front harbor, next to a variety of some of the best restaurants and coffe shops in town, remodeled in a very modern way recently, excellent staff, reasonable rates.
Breakfast buffet inludes freshly squeezed orange juice, a varaiety of eggs, cheese etc as well as local specialties.

The only downside: small rooms. I had a room on the side street, not with harbor view, and it was "tiny".

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PavlosGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel is located at the eastern end of the harbour overlooking the marina and the sea. Our room had a balcony and a great view over the harbour and the pier right over to the lighthouse and naval museum. The hotel is bright and modern which suits us but if you want to stay in a (sometimes dark & dingy, otherwise very expensive), old venetian building then you will no doubt look elsewhere. Rooms were refurbished in 2013 and are clean and bright with modern bathrooms. The standard doubles are an adequate size rather than particularly large but that is par for the course in Greece. However, there is plenty of shelf space in the bedroom and bathroom and the mini bar is free. The king sized beds (Coco-Mat) were particularly comfortable. Location is the advantage here being central but at the quiet end of the harbour. We drove there so the car park at the back was very useful to us. The buffet breakfast offered a very wide choice of food, one the best we have ever experienced and hot drinks were served to you so no working out how to use a machine. Very pleasant staff in reception and elsewhere in the hotel. The rooms are not cheap but you get what you pay for usually and here they have the balance of location, comfort and price about right. We will definitely stay here on our next overnighter in Chania.

Room Tip: The rooms facing out over the harbour and the sea are clearly the best, though of course, you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulK743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our five-day stay. Perfectly located to explore the Old Town, easy access by car and convenient parking. Spectacular views over the Old Harbour and the mountains. V wery comfortable accommodation and furnishing. Front desk and breakfast room staff exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a high floor, seaview standard room with balcony, at off-season rate of 97.50 euros. Not cheap, but reasonable. The room was adequate.

The location of the hotel is away from the downtown area, hence quiet, but it is still an easy walk from the main bus station (15-20 minutes)

Front office and maid service was very good. Breakfast was excellent. Make sure you use the orange squeezing machine for fresh OJ. There are quite a few restaurants nearby.

Overall,nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed there for Christmas, very good location friendly and always smiling staff. we will definitely go there again. Excellent quality breakfast, high quality service, very comfortable rooms we had a lovely view of the harbour. Prime position and convenient to all local bars, tavernas and restaurants and the old town.

The staff are the asset of the hotel We highly recommend this hotel to all types of travelers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michalis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here over Christmas, there is parking nearby. Our room was on first floor and on first impressions the actual room is a bit small, but for 2 nights who cares, our balcony overlooked the harbour, huge shower. Fruit, biscuits and a free mini bar.
Hotel is located perfectly enough restaurants etc within walking distance and only short walk to oldtown.

One thing we had no hot water on arrival, but mentioned it to reception and was sorted out quickly

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Well renovated, excellent position, quiet, well furnished, relatively small rooms, nice staff, very good breakfast, near the best part of the city, the old harbor, a place suitable for many kinds of visits. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Tzekakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £80 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing