We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a week here in April. The hotel is centrally situated with lovely views over the harbour. The staff were knowledgeable, efficient and pleasant. The room was clean, rather small, but with wonderful views over the harbour. The mini bar provided free bottled water every day. Breakfast was a real pleasure: lots of choice and good quality food. Rationing one's intake of goo things became a priority. The stay was worth it just to see the orange juicing machine in action.
We had hired a car, but parking was problematic at times. The hotel does have a tiny private car park for 8 or 9 cars but there are larger public car parks nearby. The staff on reception gave us directions for going to various places and they pointed us in the direction of the nearest baker's and so on.
We thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel. Our only criticisms would be that it was a little noisy at night (even on the third floor) and that the hot water for tea at breakfast was rarely hot enough for a good pot of tea. But these are minor quibbles.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    223
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
148
603
74
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lorne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Enjoyable stay here at the veneziano .... its a 2 minute walk into the busy area of the harbor ...lots of nice restaurants line the way on the walk ... if you want to swim you will have to walk West out of the oldtown .... you will find a few beaches spanning the next 2 or so kilometers. The hotel will supply free bicylcles to do this ... breakfast was good .. staff very nice and very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure to get to gramvousa nest kissomos .. lovely Beach for a day trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarrakechGypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pissouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for a week on a walking holiday . Great views of the harbour from our room ,which was smallish but the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in.and it had a fridge and a kettle. Very good breakfast wide choices and as much coffee as you could drink.
The staff were delightful very helpful . Good location away from the main harbour but within walking distance of masses of restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view slightly more expensive but well worth it the hotel is on the quiet end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great!
Great view of harbor
Great value per night
Excellent location, easy walk to shopping and restaurants.
Staff was very friendly and helpful!
Breakfast was also very good, many options to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlustb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in early May for one night. The hotel upgraded us to a superior harbor-view suite. The suite was very spacious, had a large seating area, had a small refrigerator, was light-filled, and had a large balcony overlooking the beautiful Chania harbor. The hotel is on the peaceful end of the harbor -- a five-minute walk to the concentration of cafes and tourist shops that ring the rest of the harbor. The hotel has its own small parking lot behind the hotel -- a huge advantage in Chania if you will be driving. The breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely dining room facing the harbor. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. We used a GPS that eventually got us near the hotel, but the GPS treats some pedestrian paths as "streets" so it would be better to get detailed directions from the hotel staff rather than relying on GPS. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a harbor-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveledall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent two nights here in May and we picked the hotel primarily for its location. It really is a lovely place and the staff are so friendly. The location is fantastic as only a few minutes' walk to the harbour and all the sights to see in Chania. The hotel has four bicycles which can be hired for free and we used them in the morning before the streets got too busy. Our room had a balcony overlooking the harbour and boats and a nice place to sit and watch the world go by. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and there was a good choice of food etc. The staff are really super-friendly especially the guys who work in the bar and we learned a lot about Chania and Crete in general from them. The receptionists really ensure that guests are well looked after. Chania is a good place to visit too.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to get a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarjoEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Chania where we stayed at the Porto Veneziana for 4 nights . The hotel has recently been completely renovated so it has a bright and airy feel to it .
Unfortunately ,when I booked ,there were no sea view rooms available but when we arrived they had upgraded us to a triple room which had a sofa down one side. This gave us a bit more space, otherwise rooms are very small. However , the bathrooms are very spacious and modern,excellent shower and a REAL hair dryer ! Not one of those on the wall ! Beds too are very comfortable.
We were pleasantly surprised at the large variety of things for breakfast, including an orange juice extractor,piled high with lovely Cretan oranges .
Staff couldn't have been friendlier and were very efficient. Many thanks to Maria at reception and the other receptionist who kindly printed my boarding passes for me , also to Nektarius in the bar . and Eva.
The location of the hotel is perfect, being on the waterfront with wonderful views of the Venetian harbour and excellent restaurants nearby.
If,or hopefully when, we return to Chania we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms on the front have sea views . As for noise there is no problem as it's a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jengr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#5 of 109 in Chania Town
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 109 in Chania Town
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 109 in Chania Town
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#6 of 109 in Chania Town
360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#13 of 109 in Chania Town
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#7 of 109 in Chania Town
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing