We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxation Personified” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Veneziano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxation Personified”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi and into reception, we were treated like old friends returning. The hotel is very clean and air conditioned. The rooms are a good size with very comfortable mattress toppers on the beds. We had a sea view and this was beautiful. Sitting on the balcony watching a sun rise or sun set was superb. A mini bar is provided in the room and this is priced reasonably. A bar is situated on the ground floor and the staff are always on hand to bring out drinks to you. The ham and cheese toasty is worth a try also. Breakfast was a nice surprise... I was expecting a continental choice, which there was and it had a large variety of choice. There was however a hot choice of egg, bacon and sausage! The large freshly squeezed orange machine was also a bonus as this was the best fresh orange juice I have ever tasted. WIFI is provided throughout the hotel, but this does struggle to get up to the higher rooms. A few special mentions to staff that went that extra mile: Maria on reception ( very helpful ) George on the bar ( very knowledgeable ) and the lovely Eva ( hardworking girl always with a smile on her face ). Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: Get in quick and bag a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ell1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    215
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
142
575
68
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manzanita, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was a perfect choice for us. The hotel was very comfortable. We loved being at the end of the old town on the harbor. We could see all the boats, the lighthouse & all the action below but it was not noisy at night.The breakfast buffet was diverse & yummy. But best of all they had a fresh squeezed orange juice machine. You could watch the whole oranges drop down & get squeezed. Divine freshness!

The staff was very friendly & helpful of giving directions & suggestions of where to visit & eat.

Don't miss a drive to Balos Beach. It is a bit of a challenge driving on the dirt road studded with lots of rocks & then the long hike down to the beach but it is worth it! For 6 euro you get 2 lounge chairs & an umbrella once you make the walk.

Room Tip: Loved being along the harbor but without all the noise. Might want a third floor sea view room. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I find to be a great location to visit Chania because in the front you have the harbour, on the left the shopping boutiques, on the right you walk to the boatlight and in the back you have the Belvedère and the public beach with little café.I have to say that the lady welcome us very nicely, obviously , and with reason our room was not ready, and we undertand it was to early. So she offered us the breakfast wich was really nice of her, and we said ok because tomorrow we are leaving early, then they offered us a continental breakfast to go the next day, wich we decline but it was really appreciate.As for the room, it was small but its the European way and it those not bother us.We did foud `spots¨ of dirt on the floor and the bathroom shower, well be carefull because the water comes out.The man at the bar help me with our plane reservation and everyone there were really nice to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie-chouchoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We came to porto veneziano for our honeymoon. However the hotel manager "managed" to ruin our stay by simply shouting at my husband and scolding us for parking our car in the wrong spot. If you want to be scolded and shouted at please be my guest and stay here. He refused to apologize for his rude and unacceptable behaviour. The reception staff continued to defend this horrible "man". Their rudeness and lack of hospitality will ruin your stay in the old town. Do not stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sursev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Booked by chance for a business trip to MAICh just outside Chania, this hotel was quite a find!
On the harbour front about 3m from the waters edge, watching the fishing boats from the breakfast table was delightful.
We had a 'Economy' room but it was very comfortable with a balcony - views not brilliant but very much ok.
The bed was 'Japanese' which was a bit odd - it meant it had the mattress on a raised platform which made getting in and out a bit difficult especially for those of us who are on the tall side?
Breakfast was good and very varied and very Greek. Check out the orange juice machine - crushing the oranges in front of you.
On the 'down' side - the parking was a nightmare and if you don't need a car during your stay, get a taxi. However the surrounding countryside is wonderful and should be explored.
All in all, I'll be back again - Chania is delightful and so was this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel is located in the eastern corner of Chania's Venetian Harbour. This first class hotel is located in the old town but within walking distance of the new town. Close by are numerous excellent restaurants. The hotel is well appointed with clean, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast spread. As a matter of fact, the hotel is one of the first to use local suppliers and to prepare local dishes. This means that the breakfast is excellent.
Nothing seemed to hard for the hotel staff, including both reception and bar staff. The two bar staff were a credit to the hotel.
So, as a place with excellent staff, excellent location, brilliant breakfast, close to the old city and harbour, and with a great deal of character, this is a top hotel.
TIP: It is easy to get lost amongst the old town's streets but do not be put off. Get lost and discover the old town. All downhill streets eventually end at the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had one week painting workshop in the old town of Chania. The Porto veneziano hotel is the greatest place for our group. Excellent location in the corner of the harbore yet very close to the other parts of the city . Maria and Katie at there reception desk, George and Nectarius at the Bar and the other stuff members where always smiling and helpfully for any need. Yanis, the owner and Maneger of this unique hotel is creative, open minded and always attentive to our requests . We painted in front of the hotel and around it and had great fun.! We are planing already the next workshop in Chania...!

Room Tip: Sea view if have the money for it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rinmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos & Glafkou | Old Town, Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing