We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Chania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Chania”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We loved the location (it couldn't be better, overlooking the old port); the breakfast was excellent (home-made freshly baked Cretan pies were delicious); the staff was very accommodating. All in all, this was a brilliant choice of accommodation in Chania. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a view of the old room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    222
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
148
593
73
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Service, cleanliness, staff, breakfast, room amenities are all top notch. Plenty of outlets in newly remodeled rooms. Not to mention location location location! Thank you Homeric Tours for booking us here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nanci03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
686 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and we loved it. Hotel staff was friendly, rooms were clean, breakfast had a nice choice and all meals tasted delicious. You can even get fresh orange juice. The location is wonderful, so close to old city, but off the beaten track. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

this was a fantastic hotel in an area that provides both old and new and everything in between. we all lived it. get a suite harbor side! breakfast and service were great. a lot of variety and the frappes were delish - staff was friendly and very accommodating

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This is a GREAT hotel - welcoming from the moment we arrived. Wheelchair ramp left out front for us right through our visit. Bathroom perfect with wheel in shower, adjustable bath seat, adjustable height shower head, easy access basin and toilet, plenty of space. No view from the room, but with views from the friendly accessible bar and breakfast room this was not an issue. We travel four weeks every year and this has been the best hotel on our Greek trip this year. Staff all friendly and helpful. No hidden or extra charges. Wheelchair access great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A really lovely modern hotel, with small but very clean and comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated.

There is a nice bar and we enjoyed sitting outside in the sun with drinks before going out to dinner in the early evening.

Every member of staff we came across was smiley and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was very good, and we ate it outside on the harbour. Fabulous.

And the location! Right on the small harbour, but being at the end was quiet and calm while being in walking distance of everywhere!

The only niggle we had was parking. The hotel was very 'no problem' about it and will not reserve you a space, but if you arrive on a Saturday morning like we did the road is very difficult to find due to the street market. We didn't find it! And when we tried later in the day the car park was full. We were extremely lucky in finding a space outside the hotel as someone left on my third (and final) circle around the narrow street area before heading for the expensive car park nearby.

However, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: We were only there for one night and had a side room. If you want a harbour view you should book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A wonderful, modern, well taken care hotel in a wonderful location at the old harbour of Chania. Roomy, we'll furbished rooms! Wonderful Cretan breakfast! Best of all, friendly and efficient staff! Definitely will go back, definitely the place to stay in Chania, Crete.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakisD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.9 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Property: Porto Veneziano Hotel
Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing