We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'll try to keep this short. The hotel was very very clean, warm and cozy. Great location, I would say the best location in all of Chania, since we can see the famous lighthouse and the harbor right outside. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, it consisted of delicacies of Greece. If you're going to Chania try to stay at this hotel it truly is in the BEST location and economical!!!! Lovely experience for honeymooners on budget :))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nelson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,292)
There are newer reviews for Porto Veneziano Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for a week and we would happily return :
+
*Great location eventhough in the heart of the old harbour very quiet.
*very clean rooms, cleaned twice a day upon request with no extra charge.
*very comfy beds
*great reception personnel
*amazing greek breakfast buffet
*parking
-
* breakfast serving personel not always very polite
*slow in setting the tables during rush hour( 9-930)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location is as good as it gets - on at the quiet end of the harbour with absolutely stunning views. We stopped at Ag Nik and Rethymnon in the same trip, but Chania was the nicest place by far and this was the best hotel - and fantastic value for money. Very nice room (303) on the third floor, with a seafront balcony. Room was not huge and there wasn't much space for our two suitcases, but it was well appointed, with a very comfortable bed and efficient but quiet air conditioning. Lovely bathroom with a walk-in (but not very powerful) shower. Very unusual sliding glass door to get into the bathroom, which is thankfully opaque but does not seal - there is a one inch gap at each end, so no soundproofing and not much privacy for your morning ablutions !

Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Great breakfast, which you can take inside or outside.

Parking is quite limited, although I had no trouble getting a space. Tricky to navigate to, and especially so on a Saturday, when there is a street market on one of the approach roads.

Overall a lovely place to stop and the highlight of our 10 days in Crete.

Room Tip: Go for the third floor, front facing with a balcony - it is well worth the price.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B6WAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Amazing location, polite and friendly staff, good breakfast, very clean, modern rooms. Probably the best hotel in Chania! Beach towels are also provided! You can have your cup of coffee or drink enjoying the perfect view of the Old Port. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarigwN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What can we say … Everything was excellent. Check in was quick. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, modern, comfortable room. Not the biggest, but very clean and very well kept. Our room had a small balcony with chairs and a table where you could have a drink. Our view was great. Mini bar with free bottled water and VERY reasonable prices for the other drinks. Breakfast buffet was great with wide choices of everything. Location couldn’t have been better for us : quiet, right at the waterfront, and just a few minutes walk from the center. There is free parking if you are by car.
If possible, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank elchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We loved this hotel - we were there for 2 nights. The staff were exceptional, the room and bed very comfortable, and the breakfast had all that you could want. You could even have your breakfast al fresco, watching the boats in the old Venetian harbour across the road.
The only problem we had was finding the place, as we hired a car at the airport and drove here. So many narrow one way street, and kamikaze bike riders - a bit scary! Eventually we called taxi and followed it to the hotel.
It is a great location for walking around the old city, visiting the museum, walking the old wall to the Venetian lighthouse and of course, the many restaurants and taverns. There are so many around the harbour, and the place is crowded after 9pm. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Chania's old port is picturesque, like something out of an old Hollywood movie. Full of narrow winding streets with plenty of shopping. You can sit on the harbour wall and simply enjoy.
The hotel seems new and is right on the wharf - 3 steps and you're in the water. We had trouble finding it the first night and drove around for two hours in the town before we phoned. The lady in reception was wonderful: clear instructions in perfect English. Everyone was so helpful. When one of my family expressed a wish to have a room facing the harbour (he's a great lover of the sea) we were immediately moved to a better room, which they didn't charge us extra for. They helped us with ideas for restaurants and places to visit.
The service was excellent, the staff friendly and the breakfast was better than we have at home.
The whole experience was relaxing: perfect for recharging batteries.
No question about it. i'll definitely return.

Room Tip: some rooms have a shower while others have a bath too. rooms facing the harbour have more light an...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuLap70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
869 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 111 in Chania Town
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Veneziano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Veneziano Hotel

Address: Akti Enoseos | Old Venetian Harbor, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Chania Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: £81 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Veneziano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Veneziano Hotel is located in Chania, in the prime location of the Old Venetian Harbor, on the seafront and only a 10-minute walk from the city center. It is an ideal place to stay, with the most popular attractions within walking distance. Completing the room renovation in April 2013, the hotel now offers a minimal navy design, excellent quality beds with double mattresses and geothermal air conditioning system, friendly to the environment. The hotel has been certified to serve a full Greek Breakfast buffet with a Cretan note and attempts to provide a journey to the island's flavors and tastes. Enjoy daily our freshly squeezed orange juice, local produce, homemade dishes, traditional cookery, seasonal fruit, freshly made desserts etc. At the Bar, after strolling through the beautiful harbor, guests will enjoy all kinds of coffee and Cretan flavorsome concoctions, snacks, sweets, ice cream, drinks and an assortment of Greek and European ice cold beer. The hotel even offers free Wi-Fi and all rooms and interior public areas are strictly nonsmoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Porto Veneziano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Veneziano Hotel Chania Town
Porto Veneziano Hotel And Suites
Best Western Chania
Porto Veneziano Chania
Porto Veneziano Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing