We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
1,202
265
33
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,202
265
33
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet end old town sea view venetian harbour wonderful hotel perfect location fresh orange juice water front hotel is located superior suite harbour side watch the world breakfast was excellent breakfast room reception staff third floor small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Porto Veneziano is really a 5 star hotel on the port. It has everything you would want except a pool: a great location fronting on the port, 5-15 minutes walk to most places you might want to visit in the old town, a fabulous breakfast, a great place outside to enjoy your breakfast (or a drink later in the day), and very friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Since it is a relatively new building, unlike the rest of Chania, everything in your very attractive room is modern and up-to-date. I realize that many of the older buildings are more atmospheric but this hotel was perfect for me. It does not serve lunch or dinner but there are many good restaurant minutes away. My room was not large but perfectly adequate for one or two people and I had a side view of the port on my balcony. Perhaps the front rooms with a full view of the port were larger. There is free parking in the hotel's adjoining small lot but not to worry, the staff move the cars around for you to accommodate everyone. Finally, it was nice and quiet at night. I would definitely stay here again on another trip to Chania.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a full view of the port but you have the same view while eating breakfast or having a drink at their tables outside.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpcolney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently renovated hotel overlooking the Venetian harbour. The rooms are modern and spacious including all amenities and coffee/tea. Perfect sleep due to superb mattresses, window shades and Sound proofing. Most rooms have unique sea view and balconies overseeing the harbour (see attached photos from my balcony on the first floor). Good WiFi coverage. Breakfast is superb, including traditional Cretan plates. You may enjoy an excellent espresso or a drink in the coffee bar by the sea. The town center of Chania is at a short walking distance. The hotel even offers complimentary bikes/helmets for nearby rides. Last but not least the service exceeds expectations. Friendly and professional personnel, constantly supervised by the hotel manager/owner. Definetly the best place to stay in Chania.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank tryfonopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous stay at this much sought after hotel, in such a beautiful setting right on the harbor front.
Room with a sea view. Welcoming friendly staff always helpful.
Excellent breakfast selection. The most pleasant place to sit right by the harbor side.
Fantastic stay thank you.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank C2240WDjanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

Chania was our last stop in Greece and this hotel was perfect . It is the largest hotel on the waterfront . The best part of this hotel is that we could watch the sunset every night from our own balcony . Most people try to be at one of the nearby restaurants to watch the sunset ( which is kinda of a big deal in Greece!) , we didn't have to hustle to do that. It is centrally located to restaurants and shops- and right on the water ! The breakfast area was very good. You can sit outside under cute umbrella tables, or inside where it's bright . The room size was adequate and had a mini fridge which came in handy for cooling the wine! They also have a bar area with piano playing at night. We were told by taxi drivers that this was the nicest hotel in Chania !

Room Tip: Get a balcony overlooking the water
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jacqueline1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

What a nice place! Rooms aren't big, but functional and very clean. Common areas pleasant. Outdoor tables perfect for 'people watching'. Breakfast buffet was very nice. Location can't be beat, right on the water, but just a little outside the crush of tourists so that all shops and restaurants are near by, but a little privacy is possible.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank weezy800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews