We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable bed, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samaria Hotel
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“comfortable bed, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here 1 night while visiting on business. The location of this hotel is great, an easy walk to the old part of Chania and the waterfront area. The hotel is very modern and clean. My room was very small, but quite functional. The best part was the modern bathroom and shower. My bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet, even though the hotel is in the middle of town.
The breakfast which was included in my room rate was also good, with lots of choices.
The day/evening reception staff all spoke English and were very helpful, but I don't think the night shift spoke much English.
I don't think the room was worth the amount my company paid for it - if I was paying myself, it would need to be vastly cheaper before I would consider staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aldous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    68
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
76
181
12
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent city hotel; nicely decorated rooms; stylish bath. Great staff, polite, caring and efficient. Despite the central location, noise-proof. Will certainly come again and recommend it for business and leisure alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kostas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The staff here is excellent and very accommodating. The rooms are modern and extremely comfortable. My favorite part of the room is the modern bathrooms with a rain shower head that comes out of the ceiling. It is Less than a 5 minute walk to the harbor. The breakfast is great and will accommodate a time that is earlier than the advertised hours if you arrange the day prior. The bus station is less than a 2 minute walk if you are looking to travel around the island. I've stayed here on 2 different trips and will stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for one night at Hotel Samaria last week. The hotel is recently renovated and centrally located just a short walk from the old Venetian port.
Standard rooms are rather small but tastefully decorated. There is a big flat screen TV on the wall facing the bed. The beds were excellent with feather duvets and a variety of pillows. Bathroom was also small but decent with all needed amenities. There was also a small balcony but no table or chairs…
Breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner was nothing special (not recommended)
The only complain I have from this hotel is the rude and snob girl receptionist of the afternoon shift! Maybe she need someone to teach her the meaning of the word “hospitality”….

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I travel to Chania often on business and have stayed in the Samaria many times. However, for anyone who stayed there before, it is time to comeback and try it again. This hotel has undergone an amazing renovation. The rooms are beautiful and well lit. Double pane glass has been used so they are quiet in the front rooms and in the back rooms. The beds are wonderful. The best mattresses I have slept on in Greece.
The personnel that work there are attentive and want all their guests to have an excellent experience. The breakfast is great. It provides the typical English breakfast (eggs, mushrooms, sausages, mushrooms) for the traditional eater; many local foods, yogurts and cheeses for those who want a taste of Crete; and nuts, grains and fruits for the truly health conscious.
We held a conference at the hotel and it supported a large group of 40, great acoustics and screens to support the presentations. The staff helped the conference with any last minutes issues that came up so it was smooth and seamless to the attendees. I would return to the Samaria any time I am going to host a conference, or just enjoy Chania for recreation.
Kudos to the owners for making making their hotel such an oasis.

Room Tip: I had room 301 and found it wonderful. Full of light, nice balcony and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Have been staying in various hotels in Chania for the past seven years on business and this one is by far the best. Has gotten a huge renovation and is ideally situated in the center of town. Nice comfy mattresses,flat screen tv,marble bathrooms an excellent breakfast and parking. Can't go wrong.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

It is surprising to find such a city hotel in a small city like Chania. The hotel is just renovated, the deisgn is excellent, modern and warm. Service was very fast, personnel very helpful. I recommend the room service. Only note is the sound isolation- not a problem but it could definitely be better

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRISTINA_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.3 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
4.7 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
27.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
Kydon, The Heart City Hotel
#10 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaria Hotel

Property: Samaria Hotel
Address: 69 Kidonias Str. | 1866 Square, Chania Town, Crete 731 35, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Samaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2013, the Samaria is a superior 4-star hotel, conveniently located at the center of Chania, within minutes walk from the Old Town and the Venetian Port. It is an ideal choice for both, business and leisure offering quality accommodation, excellent facilities and friendly efficient service. Museums, Restaurants, bars, shops and entertainment are well within walking distance. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated to a contemporary style featuring hardwood floors, marble bathrooms with powerful rainshowers, fully flexible individually controlled air-conditioning, COCO-MAT 4-layer Eco bed systems with feather toppers, fine cotton linen, large smart HD TV with internet connection and a wide range of satellite channels, direct-dial telephone, wired as well as wireless high-speed internet access (Wi-Fi), mini-bar, hair-dryer, laptop-size safebox, working desk and excellent sound insulation. Superior rooms additionally provide sitting area with a comfortable sofa, larger bathrooms, electric curtains, Nespresso coffee maker, luxury bath amenities, iron & ironing board, bathrobes and turn-down service. Executive suites provide separate sitting area with working desk and a second TV set, luxury marble bathroom with chromotherapy shower and marble bathtub, Nespresso coffee maker and all superior rooms facilities and services. The hotel's other facilities include a bar-cafeteria, an a-la-carte restaurant serving Mediterranean and local cuisine, an outdoor swimming pool, a well-equipped fitness center, daylight conference and meeting facilities, a business center, secretarial services and a private car park. High-speed wireless internet connection is available throughout the hotel at no extra charge while meeting rooms as well as guest rooms provide also wired internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaria Hotel Chania
Samaria Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing