We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous setting, great food”
Review of Tholos Restaurant

Tholos Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 419 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tholos Restaurant in a continual trying of a better quality meals and with the experience that we have of all these years from our service we offer to you a special menu based to Creta Diet. Our meals are prepared with a traditional way which make them to be special and tasty.Our Cava includes wines from the hole Creta and Greece.Our musical selections - from traditional Cretan music to jazz and classic - will be with you until morning hours.In to a place with two levels on the ruins of an Venetian building and with a careful decoration. Tholos Restaurant every day proves why is at the top of the preference.One visit will make you fanatic frequenters to it.!!!!
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, great food”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Best meal we had in Crete, and one of the most special dining experiences I have ever had. A truly unique setting - a work of artistic genius and definitely one of a kind. The food was delicious (we chose only traditional Cretan dishes). The waiters were very helpful and sincere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank AlexanderT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    149
    59
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food,good wine and excellent service. Romantic enviroment in a 600 years old building.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very nice place. We enjoyed the food, the service and the enviroment very much.
Quiet, romantic, away from stress. Our best experience in chania.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Einar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is hard to describe the beauty and uniqueness of the place.Everything is wonderful.I have gone there plenty of times and it still impresses me everytime.Very nice food plus the waiters were very helpful and kind making our meal even more pleasant.The city of Chania has a reputation for its very good food and this restaurant confirms it

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank elenikok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
214 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very pretty setting and lovely food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a very pretty restaurant a little up the road from another excellent restaurant Steki. It has lots of tables and very good service. We sat upstairs and had a lovely meal. the speciality of meat and 4 cheese pies were very large, my daughter had a lovely moussaka and husband had a stifado. We had a lovely starter of spicy mushrooms was enormous and delicious. All the food was very good and the atmosphere was great. Probably the best service so far

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Ali07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great setting, good food”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was lovely to see a few different things on the menu and it paid off to order them. The fish in tomato and onions was delicious and the potatoes were so creamy - probably best I had in Crete. The location set in amongst a building reduced to rubble is super photogenic and just lovely to be in with the starlings circling constantly above and a section of the dining area covered by grapevines.

The service was great, very attentive. The drinks were good. All in all a lovely experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tholos Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tholos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing